We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glimpses of Bhutan - 4 Days Tour
10

Book in advance
from
₹1,78,557.20
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Thimphu’s Weekend Market
from ₹1,78,557.20
More Info
from ₹6,41,350.06
More Info
from ₹1,01,053.96
More Info
from ₹4,93,194.69
More Info
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
16
25
13
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
25
13
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed the farmers weekend market. So much fun to move around and learn their food n culture. Some of The grains n vegetables n rice are so unique. Some vegetables are giant sized. Rice comes in pink n red n brown etc. They import paan leaves n most of the vegetables from India.
They don't kill animals. It's a violation. So they import all the meat from India. Bhutanese never kill animals.
Their chilliest the little round ones are the spiciest.
Their staple food is rice with egg diced in butter, potato slices diced in cheese n butter, turnips cooked in butter, long red chillies sautéed in butter with mushrooms n beef.
Yum fresh fruits available in abundance.
Enjoyed n great talking the the locals.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank shalzart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2016

“Get your fruits and vegies.” Spread over what seems like several city blocks, this open air market sells everything from dried fish, cheeses, spices and grasses. When the smell overtakes you, wonder to the streets for some shopping. Hint for men---if you decided to wear the traditional gho, you will need to purchase a pair of knee high black socks. Gold Toe brand is recommended.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2016

This is the market where locals buy their groceries, rice, chillis, veggies, fruits...great place to be immersed in the daily lives of locals.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank jmtyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Very clean market...no comparison with Indian markets. Cleanliness is excellent. Also theres two sections one section for Bhutanese products which are organic the other section for Indian product which of course isnt organic. There are also different stalls for different dzongkhaks(like states) selling their local products.
You should definetly pick some packets of jow(fried rice) and some dried ema(chillies) and strings of white dried yaks cheese to gift your friends back home. ☺☺☺

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank maniraic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2016

As markets go this one was lots of fun as it catered for both the local people and guest workers mainly from India and Bangladesh.People buy food by the bag so in case of dried chillies by 5 kilogram lots.Very clean,save and informative

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank SVMackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews