We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amankora Thimphu
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Thimphu
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bhutan Suites(Thimphu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Osel(Thimphu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kenny(Thimphu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Tashi(Thimphu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gakyil(Thimphu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bhutan(Thimphu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
104
16
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
16
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaman propertiespine forestlodge managerbigger propertyserving thaionward journeyhot water bottleslittle things that makecomplimentary laundrycultural eventsprayer flagsother gueststall treesas an examplethe entire tripbhutan tripfolk dance
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Thimphu is the capital city of Bhutan. Very visual inflation going on in terms of construction work. New houses and condominiums taking birth and local population blooming in Thimphu. People are interested in visiting guests and very friendly full of good advices. few funky cafes down town as well as restaurants. Staying at Amankora lodge is by far a wonderful experience. Staying inside or chilling outside on the terrace you truly feel embraced by the high mountains and all the trees that are in the area of the lodge. It is a lot more peaceful staying in the lodge rather than in a hotel downtown as the street dogs are barking full on in the city. The lodge is located a bit out of town hence more stillness both day and night.
By all means take advantage of the spa and book yourself a nice retreat at the spa.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Halla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Insanely expensive of course, but it’s an Aman, so there you are.
In my view, any hotel is best judged by its staff, and here, no stars are sufficient. Although some are characteristically shy, all are charming, friendly, helpful, and proud of their country. I can’t praise them highly enough.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank godfatherMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Bhutan is a remote place (especially for us from West Coast, practically 2 nights to get to Paro) - we decided to go with Amankora. AK Thimpu has perfected the art of welcoming guests. It is located in Beverly Hills of Thimpu, not close at all from the hustle and bustle of the city. However we have a guide and driver at our disposal should we like to travel anywhere.

The chef is Thai, so their specialty is Thai and Western, with Bhutan upon request. It suits us fine since each AK has their own specialty.

The highlight is an evening talk with Mynak Tulku Rinpoche, a big name yet very kind and humble, about Budhism.

Second evening, there is a short (45 mts) dance performance (Layap, dance from Tsechu, dance of white crane, etc) by professional petformers.

Laundry is included (great benefit), Adeline the resident manager is very welcoming.
Short trek behind the hotel brings us to the path the young students take in going to school.

My favorite dining room staff is Nima, very attentive but not intrusive. Excellent staffs all in all, from the sweeper to the manager. For fellow traveler, go splurge and enjoy your hard work.

Room Tip: Room 5, upstairs overlooking the courtyard. Practical during dance performance
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank simpangratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

The Amankora Thimphu is surrounded by dense forest, a stream and hiking trails, also adjacent to royal residences. Its location is very idealistic, peace and harmony with nature, very consistent with the Aman resort theme. We stayed for four nights before heading out to the other Amankora resorts in Punaka and Paro. The total number of nights to stay in all the Amankora resorts are flexible based on the traveler's schedule, but a minimum stay of 3 or 4 nights is recommended. That said, our journey took almost seven nights which is barely enough to appreciate this beautiful county of Bhutan.

Each room has basically the same floorplan, the difference being upper or lower level. We stayed at the upper level, where we have a decent view of the tall trees. But no matter which room you stay, there'll be views of the surrounding fauna. Also, with the windows opened, the trickling sound of the adjacent stream will be very pleasant as a background "music".

The resort is compact but the design is so well that we seldom bump into other guests, unless during breakfast and dinner. Food and beverage choices are decent, presentation is very spot on and taste delicious. We were lucky during that particular week when a guest chef from a Michelin Star restaurant in USA was invited to prepare dinner but of course with a dear price tag.

We also love to receive the daily souvenirs during the evening turndown service. Not to mention surprise snacks are left in our room every morning! Love to visit again soon!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank teddy6180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stayed 5 nights at 3 Aman lodges here in Bhutan (1 in Thimphu, 2 Punakha, and 2 Paro in that order). Doing all Aman meant seamless integration between our stays. Yes its expensive but its AMAN! See my review on Punakha for more details.

Overall, I wished we stayed longer in Thimphu. It had the right balance of charm and intimacy.

We were sent off to our next location by a Buddhist monk and staff who gave us a lucky neck charm that we are still wearing today!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews