We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly modern and chill”
Review of Ambient Cafe

Ambient Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Thimphu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I visited ambient cafe twice during my stay in thimpu. First of all, it's located at the heart of the city, a few steps away from the main town circle.
Second, it has an excellent ambience as soon as you step in. Third, the food and service is great. And fourth, they give you access to free wifi upon ordering.
So this was an ideal place to go eat a meal, catch up on work. I also did some reading and writing while chilling here. It was some great quality alone time spent in thimpu. Will highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good meal in a nice setting.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank ssen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 250 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Right in the middle of the city, very cozy yet lively ambience, and amazing collection of teas. Try their jasmine pearl tea! And yes, hi-speed free WiFi!

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank AnujJhunjhunwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Tried our hands at various dishes they had to offer and they were all very good. O believe it is one of the few places in Thimpu which offers eggless bakery items

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank shalini k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Good ambience
Nice view of the traffic circle and the norzin lam
Decent place with good coffee and sandwich to hangout with friends

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank Balaji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2016

What to say about the Ambient Cafe. For the expatriate community, Ambient is the centre of Thimphu, if not all Bhutan. Junu, Letho and Jigme will make you feel like an old regular the first time you set foot in the place. The food and the coffee is excellent by any standard, and exceptional for Bhutan. My advice -- a nice cafe latte and a peanut butter chocolate cake will make your day. Excellent, fast wifi, great atmosphere, food and coffee without peer in Bhutan. Don't miss it!

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jonathan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ambient Cafe also viewed

Thimphu, Thimphu District
Paro, Paro District
 
Thimphu, Thimphu District
Thimphu, Thimphu District
 

Been to Ambient Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing