We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel White Tara
Nearby Hotels
Kisa Hotel(Thimphu)
US$ 107
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 341
US$ 151
BhutanBookings.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 298
US$ 290
BhutanBookings.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Norbuling(Thimphu)(Great Value!)
US$ 71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 341
US$ 312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bhutan Suites(Thimphu)
US$ 117
US$ 86
BhutanBookings.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Taj Tashi(Thimphu)
US$ 692
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 116
US$ 105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ariya Hotel(Thimphu)
US$ 155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
6
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain cityvery nice hoteldogs barkingriverheaterroomsbhutan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Although could not explore the entire hotel, just got the opportunity to spent couples of hours with friends from Thimphu. Hotel looks exuberant and new finishing but the way dinner served was not to the standard as it appears the hotel. Dishes served were not to the standard of best, need to bring it up to certain steps. Manager did not appear in the vicinity.

Hope to enjoy further in next visit certainly.

Thanks & Tashi Delek!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tejman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhattarai B, Manager at Hotel White Tara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Dear sir,

Thank you very much for visiting our hotel ,and we are absolutely sorry to know that you had a bad experience. Thank you for your feed back for food service and I have shared it with my team and we will make sure when you visit next time we will be happy to give you better service and better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Standard modern hotel just outside the city center. This means that you have to take a cab if you want to explore Thimphu in the evening once you are done with your guide (taxi costs BTN30 one way and takes about 10min)
The rooms are nice and clean, they lack any type of Bhutanese charm and look like any standard modern hotel. The nearby dogs are incredibly loud at night so bring some earplugs (although that only helped marginally).
Internet is quite fast for Bhutan
Food is pretty descent and staff is friendly (although the women staff are incredibly shy with male customers which makes every interaction cute but slightly awkward)

Room Tip: Bring some earplugs
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhattarai B, Manager at Hotel White Tara, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Eric C
Greetings from Hotel White Tara
Thank you for reviewing our property and for appreciating property and our associates. I have shared your appreciation with the entire team and I am definite these will motivate the team to continue offering memorable experiences.

As you have rightly pointed out our location is away from city.

We look forward to your next visit to our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

We spent there 1 night and the hotel is super clean with a huge room with lots of windows, toilet and shower were nice with hot water. The only thing is as we went in winter only 1 heater in the room and that was not enough for such a big room and also keep in mind that at night you might hear the dogs barking from all the city as if they were with speakers in your room. As for the rest the staff is helpful and friendly.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Luciana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhattarai B, Manager at Hotel White Tara, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Luciana
Greetings from Hotel White Tara Thimphu!

Thank you for reviewing our property and for appreciating property and our associates. I have shared your appreciation with the entire team and I am definite these will motivate the team to continue offering memorable experiences.

As you have rightly pointed out that dog are barking at nigh ,very sorry for that it is out of out control we are very sorry for you unpleasant sleep nigh .

We look forward to your next visit to Hotel White Tara .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the White Tara the first night in Bhutan. The hotel isn't "downtown", but the location isn't bad at all.

The hotel is clean and well maintained, and also quite modern.

The room we had was quite big, and exceeded our expectations.

The dinner was pretty basic, but not bad at all.

My only points are: as we were there in winter, the room was absolutely freezing, with only one small electric heater. Another point is that the sound proofing was pretty much absent all together, since most of the night we could listen to an orchestra of dogs barking, as if they were in the room with us.

For those wanting to go on a quick stroll before dinner: take the street going up into the neighborhood behind the hotel and you'll find a market with a lot of fresh produce. Go a little further and you'll find a nice little bakery.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhattarai B, Manager at Hotel White Tara, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Alex B
Greetings from Hotel White Tara Thimphu!

Thank you for reviewing our property and for appreciating our property . I have shared your appreciation with the entire team and I am definite these will motivate the team to continue offering memorable experiences.

As you have rightly pointed out our location of hotel is far from city around 3 kilo meter and you also have given the direction of local market and bakery .For dog and one heater is not enough in your room for that we are very sorry . any way thank you very much for your mind blowing feedback.

We look forward to your next visit to our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Been there twice, once a a guest for dinner and later with a friend who was staying there.

Great ambience, located just about 4km from the main city, it is located by the express way.

The management is very good and staff friendly. Food served at the restaurant was excellent.

I recommend all to visit this hotel.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank DrNirola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews