We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bees Knees !!!!!!!”
Review of Bongwe's Big Bush

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bongwe's Big Bush
Ranked #6 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Lusaka
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Traveled to Lusaka and needed a place to stay that was fairly priced and I struck gold in discovering Bongwe. The staff is extremely friendly, Stacey and Alex are wonderful hosts, the property is beautiful and fun to explore and perfect for relaxing in the shade. The locals that attend the bar located at the lodge are cheerful and welcoming and easy to beat in pool . I would like to add further that the staff was very humbling, as they had considerate hearts and went out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible in all the small things. It is a great location, easy to get around Lusaka and serves as an excellent base of operations. The room was very large and well attended to, very clean, and extremely affordable. I would highly recommend it and will be returning in the future. Cheers!!!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2017

I used to stay at the Bongwe "Barn," when the lodge was located there; this was my first time staying at the "Big Bush." Bongwe still has the same friendly atmosphere and staff that I knew in 2013/14, but this is a better location. Minibuses are now 1-minute away instead of 10; the bar space is nicer; electricity and internet are now reliable.

The only downside I see with the new location is the number of rooms; whereas there always seemed to be one available on Ngwezi Road, I have found it's necessary to book ahead here. Actually, I would have stayed here earlier with more availability.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

The room was fine - very clean. The pool was great and well tended. The bar was a great place to meet people. Stacey was very helpful at every stage and she and her boyfriend and brother kindly invited us all to a BBQ one evening. Good experience all round and far better than staying in a faceless large hotel but also more comfortable than a backpackers type place. Thanks again. Riyad.

Room Tip: Ensuite room is really nice if you don't like sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank riyadtibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I was seconded to Zambia for a 2 year period, at first I was renting a house and after regular visits to Bongwe, I decided to become a resident, for all the right reasons.
Daily laundry, friendly people, flexible housekeeping, etc.
My 16 month stay at Bongwe, will be one I cherish for the rest of my life.
I have met great people, made good trustworthy business contacts and had fun doing it.
Although they offer overnight facilities, I would recommend an extended stay, this place is the heartbeat of Lusaka's friendship circle, whether business or leisure, single or family, you and yours will always feel welcome.
I arrived alone in a foreign country, and left as a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rudolfvisagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I stayed at Bongwe for a month while I was between apartments in Lusaka. My stay was very comfortable and everything I needed was there. I had an en-suite room with air conditioning. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the linen was changed, my laundry was done and ironed. My room was also cleaned. They even supplied me with a writing desk when I asked for one!
The bar and pool area is a wonderful place to relax after a long day with chilled tunes, friendly customers and helpful staff. The food is also excellent, and the beers are cold!

Room Tip: Friday nights can be busy and loud at the bar as there is often live music, the rest of the time it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EtienneXplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
3.5 km away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#8 of 33 in Lusaka
106 reviews
0.0 km away
Chamba Valley Exotic Hotel
4.7 km away
Wanderers Lodge Lusaka
Wanderers Lodge Lusaka
#8 of 119 in Lusaka
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Palmwood Lodge
Palmwood Lodge
#7 of 119 in Lusaka
25 reviews
19.1 km away
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge
#1 of 119 in Lusaka
167 reviews
5.3 km away
Broads Backpackers
Broads Backpackers
#13 of 119 in Lusaka
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bongwe's Big Bush? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bongwe's Big Bush

Address: 609 Zambezi Road | Roma, Lusaka 10100, Zambia (Formerly Bongwe Barn)
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Lusaka
Price Range: ₹ 3,767 - ₹ 5,261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bongwe's Big Bush Bar and Guest House is fantastic affordable home-away-from-home. Whether you are in town for business, pleasure or just passing through, our centrally located guest house is a great place to catch up with old friends or create new ones. We have two room types which are either en-suite or standard rooms with a shared bathroom. The rates include a basic self service continental breakfast, housekeeping, laundry, free wifi and secure parking. There is a lovely little restaurant in house serving hearty pub grub will serve you well if you don't feel like going out to eat. But we can also recommend a number of good places around town to eat if you do. Guests have use of a nice clean swimming pool, a free pool table and wifi. As well as being a guest house we have a lively members bar on site and this can be a little loud over a weekend. As it is members only everyone is very friendly and it is a safe environment for both solo and group travelers. It is also a great place to meet locals and like minded people experience a little piece of Lusaka night life. We are close to the two main shopping malls, Arcades and Manda HIll (2 & 4kms respectively) and our new location is now right next to a small little mall called Foxdale Court. In this little spot you will find a couple of restaurants and a delicious ice cream shop. We're a 2 minute walk to a bus stop, but we'd prefer you use taxis as the minibuses can be a little crazy. We're 20 mins from the airport and can arrange an airport transfer for you at k200 (approx $20) each way. Our sister company Bongwe Safaris operates from our guest house offering 4 days safaris departing to the Kafue National Park each week. With brother and sister owners Alec and Stacey Cole along with the rest of the senior team Jairos, Claudia and Novias you won't be short of friendly faces as soon as you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bongwe's Big Bush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing