We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, friendly people. Great for chilling out.”
Review of Bongwe's Big Bush

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bongwe's Big Bush
Ranked #6 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Lusaka
Reviewed 29 October 2016

The room was fine - very clean. The pool was great and well tended. The bar was a great place to meet people. Stacey was very helpful at every stage and she and her boyfriend and brother kindly invited us all to a BBQ one evening. Good experience all round and far better than staying in a faceless large hotel but also more comfortable than a backpackers type place. Thanks again. Riyad.

Room Tip: Ensuite room is really nice if you don't like sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank riyadtibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2016

I was seconded to Zambia for a 2 year period, at first I was renting a house and after regular visits to Bongwe, I decided to become a resident, for all the right reasons.
Daily laundry, friendly people, flexible housekeeping, etc.
My 16 month stay at Bongwe, will be one I cherish for the rest of my life.
I have met great people, made good trustworthy business contacts and had fun doing it.
Although they offer overnight facilities, I would recommend an extended stay, this place is the heartbeat of Lusaka's friendship circle, whether business or leisure, single or family, you and yours will always feel welcome.
I arrived alone in a foreign country, and left as a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rudolfvisagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I stayed at Bongwe for a month while I was between apartments in Lusaka. My stay was very comfortable and everything I needed was there. I had an en-suite room with air conditioning. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the linen was changed, my laundry was done and ironed. My room was also cleaned. They even supplied me with a writing desk when I asked for one!
The bar and pool area is a wonderful place to relax after a long day with chilled tunes, friendly customers and helpful staff. The food is also excellent, and the beers are cold!

Room Tip: Friday nights can be busy and loud at the bar as there is often live music, the rest of the time it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EtienneXplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and three fellow travellers stayed at bongwe for a few days, passing through from Tanzania to Vic falls. All the staff were super friendly and helpful with onward connections. The place itself was meticulously maintained at all times with an interesting mix of local members sharing the thatched bar area with residents like us. A relaxing pool area amongst mature palms provides somewhere quiet to read and plan your next move. With a supermarket next door, this is the perfect place for self- drivers to stock up before heading back out into the bush. All this in a secure compound close to the city centre, I strongly advise you to try this oasis of welcoming calm and friendliness.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank kevleeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed here for one night before going on safari with Bongwe. We arrived on a Sunday and no-one seemed to expect us. Our room was allocated but we were given no real briefing as to when we would meet our guide or anyone in charge. Room basic and clean agree with previous comments about mattress. No mozzy net but thousands of mozzies and windows unscreened and not closing fully. Aircon not working. Toilet seat. Loads of hot water. Pool. Self-catering kitchen with food provided for breakfast. On our way back from safari we were allowed to use a huge room to shower and change. This was fantastic but again aircon didn't work and no mozzy nets. Very friendly team made us most welcome but don't expect all mod cons.
Our safari was fantastic once we arrived but the journey was trying. Five hours in a vehicle with no aircon and with jerrycans emitting petrol fumes inside is not really on in this day and age. Our vehicle's alternator had probably gone so the driver could never turn the engine off because of fear of not getting is started again. So it was running emitting diesel fumes for 30 mins while we loaded up and constantly at every stop. Surely this should be fixed. The game drive vehicle was also poor misfiring and leading to roadside repairs on two of our four days to get it running again: risky in a game park although our guide was very competent and fixed it both times.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Davidlcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
3.5 km away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#8 of 33 in Lusaka
107 reviews
0.0 km away
Chamba Valley Exotic Hotel
4.7 km away
Wanderers Lodge Lusaka
Wanderers Lodge Lusaka
#8 of 119 in Lusaka
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Palmwood Lodge
Palmwood Lodge
#7 of 119 in Lusaka
25 reviews
19.1 km away
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge
#1 of 119 in Lusaka
167 reviews
2.0 km away
Natwange Backpackers
Natwange Backpackers
#2 of 119 in Lusaka
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bongwe's Big Bush? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bongwe's Big Bush

Address: 609 Zambezi Road | Roma, Lusaka 10100, Zambia (Formerly Bongwe Barn)
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Lusaka
Price Range: ₹ 3,778 - ₹ 5,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bongwe's Big Bush Bar and Guest House is fantastic affordable home-away-from-home. Whether you are in town for business, pleasure or just passing through, our centrally located guest house is a great place to catch up with old friends or create new ones. We have two room types which are either en-suite or standard rooms with a shared bathroom. The rates include a basic self service continental breakfast, housekeeping, laundry, free wifi and secure parking. There is a lovely little restaurant in house serving hearty pub grub will serve you well if you don't feel like going out to eat. But we can also recommend a number of good places around town to eat if you do. Guests have use of a nice clean swimming pool, a free pool table and wifi. As well as being a guest house we have a lively members bar on site and this can be a little loud over a weekend. As it is members only everyone is very friendly and it is a safe environment for both solo and group travelers. It is also a great place to meet locals and like minded people experience a little piece of Lusaka night life. We are close to the two main shopping malls, Arcades and Manda HIll (2 & 4kms respectively) and our new location is now right next to a small little mall called Foxdale Court. In this little spot you will find a couple of restaurants and a delicious ice cream shop. We're a 2 minute walk to a bus stop, but we'd prefer you use taxis as the minibuses can be a little crazy. We're 20 mins from the airport and can arrange an airport transfer for you at k200 (approx $20) each way. Our sister company Bongwe Safaris operates from our guest house offering 4 days safaris departing to the Kafue National Park each week. With brother and sister owners Alec and Stacey Cole along with the rest of the senior team Jairos, Claudia and Novias you won't be short of friendly faces as soon as you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bongwe's Big Bush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing