We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
26
13
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
13
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly place to staysafaricerealexpatszambiabackpackers
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and three fellow travellers stayed at bongwe for a few days, passing through from Tanzania to Vic falls. All the staff were super friendly and helpful with onward connections. The place itself was meticulously maintained at all times with an interesting mix of local members sharing the thatched bar area with residents like us. A relaxing pool area amongst mature palms provides somewhere quiet to read and plan your next move. With a supermarket next door, this is the perfect place for self- drivers to stock up before heading back out into the bush. All this in a secure compound close to the city centre, I strongly advise you to try this oasis of welcoming calm and friendliness.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank kevleeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed here for one night before going on safari with Bongwe. We arrived on a Sunday and no-one seemed to expect us. Our room was allocated but we were given no real briefing as to when we would meet our guide or anyone in charge. Room basic and clean agree with previous comments about mattress. No mozzy net but thousands of mozzies and windows unscreened and not closing fully. Aircon not working. Toilet seat. Loads of hot water. Pool. Self-catering kitchen with food provided for breakfast. On our way back from safari we were allowed to use a huge room to shower and change. This was fantastic but again aircon didn't work and no mozzy nets. Very friendly team made us most welcome but don't expect all mod cons.
Our safari was fantastic once we arrived but the journey was trying. Five hours in a vehicle with no aircon and with jerrycans emitting petrol fumes inside is not really on in this day and age. Our vehicle's alternator had probably gone so the driver could never turn the engine off because of fear of not getting is started again. So it was running emitting diesel fumes for 30 mins while we loaded up and constantly at every stop. Surely this should be fixed. The game drive vehicle was also poor misfiring and leading to roadside repairs on two of our four days to get it running again: risky in a game park although our guide was very competent and fixed it both times.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Davidlcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Bongwe is well situated as it has numerous amenities close by. It is a great place to go out especially on a Friday night as there is quite often live music form a wide variety of bands showcasing Zambia's talent. The staff are very helpful, friendly and well informed about the various attractions in and around Lusaka. The atmosphere is very laid back and I was made to feel very welcome .

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

This property is used as a jumping off point for Bongwe safari packages - you are booked in, spend the night and leave your luggage there when you go out to the safari camp. One of the rooms had a mosquito net - ours did not. There were only drinks, no food, available as the chef was not working the night we were there (our booking had been made many months in advance) There was no hot water.

Breakfast was serve yourself from the cupboard and fridge - marginal but present. On the plus side, the rooms were clean, and there was adequate storage space.

We expected better considering the price point for the package overall.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annsQ4882KQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Just perfect. Being new to Zambia and travelling alone, I couldn't have hoped for a better base for my trip. Stacey and her amazing team provided all of the information and assistance that I needed to plan trips out of Lusaka. The guesthouse is clean, comfortable, and welcoming. The chef makes a fabulous chicken pie (amongst other things!), and it was extremely helpful to have a laundry service. The 4-day Safari to Kafue National Park through Bongwe's was exceptional - brilliant guide, great food, and a stunning camp on the bank of the river Kafue. Overall, Bongwe's provides reasonably priced, comfortable accommodation, with the added bonus of a friendly bar, reliable wifi, good food and, most of all, the most helpful and friendly team of staff I have encountered anywhere on my travels in Southern Africa. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews