We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, Clean and Very Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Namirembe Guest House
Ranked #15 of 175 Kampala B&B and Inns
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Cheap, Clean and Very Cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We had one night in Kampala at the end of our trip and the Namirembe Guest House was all we needed it to be.

The rooms are reasonably sized with comfortable beds and a wall mounted fan to cool you down. The room and bathroom was very clean however the water pressure in the bathroom was very low which made showering a bit of a chore. That said, it's better than many people are fortunate to have in Uganda.

The food in the restaurant is cheap and good quality, both for dinner and breakfast. After the long drive it would have been nice to have a cold beer however as this is a Christian guest house it is alcohol free.

The terrace of the restaurant commands some great views over the city and a short walk up to the cathedral behind the guest house gives even better ones!

Cheap, clean and very cheerful!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    27
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
9
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Caerffili
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed at this guest house again for 12 days in December. I have no complaints about the accommodation or the staff, who once again were helpful and friendly. From memory a single room is 72,000/- (ugandan shillings - currently around 3,750 to £1), and a double around 82,000/-. There are some rooms with 3 beds in; some are en suite, some aren't. I had some problems with sleeping, but not because of the accommodation, but again because of inconsiderate guests. I was told by the reception staff that I should have let them know. (They are now in a temporary office a short distance away). Incidentally, there is a security post at the gate with armed guard; also a small craft shop. You can buy cheaper at craft markets, but if you need to buy a gift in a hurry, this is handy.

The guest house is being renovated & extended. The accommodation on the site is in several large units. The most popular block is the one that is being extended. Please don't let this put you off going there. I stayed in a room next to the building site. Work did not start until 9am and was over by the time it was dark (I was never there earlier that this - 6.30pm). The area is kept immaculately clean - the staff work really hard to ensure that the place isn't even dusty outside.

There is a wide range of food items on the menu, which are freshly cooked for you and come steaming hot. There is also a buffet every lunch time and evening. Fridays are barbecue evening. Breakfast is between 7am and 9.30am. Again you can order omelettes freshly cooked and there is a range of other foods/fruit to choose from.

The only reason I have marked this as "very good" instead of "excellent" is that some of the staff have been laid off because of the building work. While the service is still very good, it can take a little longer than it used to for things you ordered to arrive. Compared to other places I've stayed, it is still much better. I am visiting Uganda again in April and will certainly book myself in here again even though I know the building work will still be continuing. Can I give a better recommendation than that?. .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reesiea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

2 of us stayed for 20days...great experience for on a budget and needing just bare necessities for our missions stay. bed very comfortable and mosquito nets helped so much. Breakfast is at 7am, lunch about 1pm, and dinner 7pm.... breakfast free pay small fee for lunch and dinner. Clean towels daily and tiny bars of soap....showers worked hot/cold toilet flushed -refilled slowly...that was okay.... enjoyed the view and the closeness to Sanyu Babies home... always easy to get transportation... even had my laundry done twice!.... it is done the old fashion way, if sun isnt shinning your laundry wont be returned next day.... Enjoyed stay and enjoyed the food... lots of pineapple Yummy and beans rice veggies and potatoes and cooked green bannanas mashed... matoike I think... I liked it.... good variety... Soda Pop with metal caps and bottled water.....I would stay here again...Staff is extremely courteous and helpful; wonderful smiles and greetings always.. Friday nights are Special Bar-b que chicken pork and beef... never got sick on any of the food here.....ate lots of chips (thick french fries) oh so GOOD... Thanks to all at the Namirembe Guest House for a GREAT STAY..... also it is Christian based and play same music and have a room if you have large groups and want time for meetings or devotions just let them know time and day... they even will bring your food to you.... what service and enjoyment. THANKS AGAIN

Room Tip: great for person or groups on a budget and want nice accomadations and excellent food and service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janice f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerffili
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

This is a Christian Guest House, owned by the Church of Uganda, so there is no alcohol for sale. I have stayed in Uganda 7 times now and during htis time I have stayed in 2 other guest houses in Kampala. This is by far the best. You have to remember that you are in a developing country though. In Uganda the pressure of water is weak so having water actually come through the showers is a bonus. This guest house had lots of hot water. It is immaculately kept and spotlessly clean.

The usual problems can arise, e.g. they have British electrical 3 pin sockets but the TV has 2 round pins. Because of this our plugs can slip in and out easily and so batteries don't always get charged, but I have found this to be the case everywhere. Like all the other hotels I have stayed in in Uganda, the walls are thin and in the Namirembe there are louvre windows above the room doors. Unfortunately, while we were there on this trip there were a group of very loud Americans who completely ignored the rule on the noticeboard to be considerate to other guests after 10pm and were obviously not capable of thinking of such a thing themselves.

The Namirembe shines because they really do have a magnifenct view over the city of Kampala as the hotel is situated on one of the hills surrounding the city. Be aware that not all of the rooms have this view though. However, the restaurant comprises tables out of doors from which you can leisurely enjoy the panoramic views, as well as indoor tables. Breakfast is beautifully presented and eggs / omelettes are cooked fresh and hot to order. It is possible to have lunch and evening meals there too. On Fridays they have a barbecue. The meals are kind of Ugandan, but with Chips on offer too. You serve yourself from a buffet unless you are having a meal off the menu. Again, I have not had any stomach upset whilst staying at the NGH. Service is excellent, especially from a young waiter called Mike, who really tries to give you his best for the hotel in a friendly but polite manner.

There are very few rooms with double beds, though there are plenty of twin rooms and single rooms and a few family rooms. Some have verandahs overlooking the city and all are en suite. The best place I find is in the hotel above reception, but this is upstairs. There are various buildings of different styles on the grounds. They have a Business Centre with Internet facilites, a hairdressing salon, a juice cafe and the restaurant. There is even a small craft shop onsite.

A twin room costs 82,000/- per night for bed and breakfast and a single costs 72,000/-. (Currently the exchange rate is good for us - almost 4,000/- to the £) This is excellent value for excellent service, excellent food and a fantastic view. I certaily will go there for the foreseeable future and I go a couple of times a year with the charity I represent.

Room Tip: Room in main building above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Reesiea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Geared for modest travelers, the Namirembe GH is connected with the Namirembe ( Anglican ) Cathedral next door. It is popular with missionaries, volunteers and backpackers. Basic accommodation in a great location only 10 minutes from the centre of the city or to Makarere University.. Has a wonderful view of the city from the restaurant patio. Clean and secure. Receptionist Josephine is particularly friendly and helpful. Ask for a room not looking down towards the National Mosque because of the early morning call to prayer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuktukcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.4 km away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#49 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
6.0 km away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
3.2 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Sojovalo
Hotel Sojovalo
#36 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.5 km away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namirembe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namirembe Guest House

Property: Namirembe Guest House
Address: P.O. Box 14127 | Plot No. 1085, Willis Road, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,463 - ₹ 3,630
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namirembe Guest Ltd is a Christian establishment owned by the Anglican Church of Uganda and managed by Church Commissioners holding company ltd. Her vision is “to become an ideal home away from home” to all visitors. Namirembe Guest House is an entity established to provide accommodation, food and beverage services to a cross section of guests ranging from missionaries, church workers, businessmen, tourists and other individuals. Corporate clients include Non Governmental Organisations (NGOs), Private Companies and Associations and Government organizations. It is located approximately one and half kilometers from the city centre and right next to the famous Namirembe Cathedral and Church of Uganda Provincial Secretariat Headquarters and commands a magnificent view of Kampala city which was dubbed by one of the guests as “A million dollar view.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Namirembe Guest House Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing