We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come as a guest and leave as a friend”
Review of Hotel Africana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Africana
Ranked #30 of 107 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I have been a very regular guest at this hotel and have lots of subtle changes happening over the last few years. There has been improvement in all areas especially the WIFI and the food. Breakfast is very good as there is a daily variety of fresh fruits and changing fare. All staff are very friendly and do not hesitate to go the extra mile to make my stay here pleasant

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors facing the car park are very quiet and you get a good view of the sunrise list...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durgesh D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison N, General Manager at Hotel Africana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you very much Mr Durgesh for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

All the staff, from the general manager to the relations officer and the very nice people at reception and security where so friendly and always trying to assist and help in anyway they could. Only negative thing to say was the wifi, but it is a general problem in Kampala. I can strongly recommend this hotel. It is the best place to be in Kampala.

Room Tip: The top floor is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison N, General Manager at Hotel Africana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you very much Frank for your review.
We value your review as it will enable us to meet guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

I visited the hotel as I attended the hotel Expo since they hosted the event. I was disappointed When I asked the receptionist for help (Wi-Fi password) inorder for MI to connect with my uber driver but to my surprise William refused till the other colleague helped.Its soo annoying because I got so stranged since I was new in town I had no internet since I was having a foreign number.
The place is amazing but granting clients small help should be mandatory,thank you.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Hussein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison N, General Manager at Hotel Africana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for your comment.
WIFI is not free in the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Well organised hotel geared towards hosting events. Many rooms / halls of different capacity are available for meetings from small to large. Food at the restaurants is good and staff very friendly. Internet is free, and connectivity varies depending on the location within the premises from slow to medium.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iapad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison N, General Manager at Hotel Africana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for your honest feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

An excellent hotel with excellent service, starting off these people take security very serious, thoroughly check the cars and individuals before entering the hotel. rooms are clean and the room service is one of the best I've experienced so far, and I have a lot of experience with hotels in different parts of the world, fresh towels, things organised and room properly cleaned, all staff is super friendly and professional, laundry is done even on short notice. And in the evenings you sometimes get a lovely live band playing by the restaurant.
All in all I loved Kampala and this hotel just added to the whole experience, I would love to come here again and recommend anybody who's looking to book here.
The only negative things I can say about this place is that it's a little dated hotel, but the kind of servicer you get makes up for it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison N, General Manager at Hotel Africana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

we really appreciate you honest feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.7 km away
Pearl of Africa Hotel
Pearl of Africa Hotel
#48 of 107 in Kampala
8 reviews
0 km away
Biraj International Hotel
Biraj International Hotel
#57 of 107 in Kampala
19 reviews
1.2 km away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#14 of 107 in Kampala
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Mackinnon Suites
The Mackinnon Suites
#24 of 107 in Kampala
44 reviews
1.3 km away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 107 in Kampala
786 reviews
1.4 km away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#9 of 107 in Kampala
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Africana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Africana

Address: Plot 2-4 Wampewo Avenue | P.O. Box 10218, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: ₹ 7,124 - ₹ 9,650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Africana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Africana is Uganda 's Premier luxury Hotel. The hotel has over 14 fully furnished well air-conditioned conference halls with seating capacities ranging from 20 - 3000 participants. Our Venue can provide seating for over 2500 people, making it ideal for conferencing, workshops, mega wedding receptions, exhibitions and concerts. Hotel Guests receives access to health facilities including Gym, Massage, Sauna, Swimming Pool, Steam Bath & access to famous kampala Golf club. Hotel Africana offers weekend entertainment featuring live popular bands and pulsating traditional dance music shows along with repeat live performance from our pianist. With option of Ngeye & Kibs restaurant, our gusts can enjoy variety of dishes, freshly made by our experienced chefs. Our coffee shop & live bakery provides enough ways to enjoy uganda coffee beans along with cakes & breads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Africana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africana Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing