We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
5
18
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
18
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other hotels fred bath corridor tv facilities internet usd
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Visited the hotel with my business partners and we had a great time. The place is nice and well organized and we would hold another business meeting there in November. The service was good and we stayed longer

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank Mzeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shangri2013, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Uganda Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

thanks so much for the tip, our aim is our guest's satisfaction,

thanks again
fred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

located is a serene secure location, Shangri-La Hotel Kampala offers great relaxation ideal for business travelers, couples or holiday makers. The rooms are clean and has a nice view of Kampala. The staff are very welcoming.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

This was our second visit to the Shangri La Hotel. It is small, clean and comfortable, with good bed nets, and a bath with shower in the bathroom. Breakfast is in the garden (put on insect repellant). The hotel is in a gated compound so is safe and good for leaving a car over night. We swam in the large pool of the Kampala Club, watched World Cup rugby on the TV at the open air bar there, and then ate in the Shanghai Restaurant within the compound (the Nile Perch done to the chef's special recipe is particularly good). There is an excellent free laundry service, dirty clothes put in a basket before 9.00 a.m. are returned clean in the evening. We were delighted to meet Mr Fred, the Manager, again after our last stay 5 years ago. I recommend this as good value, and a central place to stay in Kampala.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Its a value for money, nice place to stay in mid of town. The staff are incredibly friendly and attentive especially Mr. Fred at reception. Also can use all sporting activities of Kampala Club few are paid, but too nominal charges.

Room Tip: Can use all facilities of Kampala Club like gym, swimming, lawn tennis and other sport activities.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Shangrila Hotel Kampala is not a much ado hotel, but does serve its purpose __ very affordable quick turnaround visit to Kampala. Located close to the CBD and other 5 star hotels it is very suitable for visitors that go to Kampala for a day or two business trip. You get the basics a fairly clean room, air-con, not-so-good internet connection (unless you are located right next to the router), hot water, clean bed & bath rooms.... Appearance could put you off but don't let it-the price is great. You can order your means from an associate Chinese restaurant @ the Kampala Club. Talking of which, the Kampala Club is just next door or to put it correctly the Hotel has leased the club's accommodation rooms and turned them into a hotel - so you can imagine what to expect. Nevertheless, at a price of $90 per night compared to upwards of $200 in all upmarket hotels - don't hesitate if all you want is a decent place to stay for a short while.

Room Tip: If you need Internet connection ask for rooms that are close to the router
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews