We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding sushi and beer”
Review of Yujo Izakaya

Yujo Izakaya
Ranked #11 of 414 Restaurants in Kampala
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Yujo Izakaya is a Modern Japanese restaurant and tavern, located in the heart of Nakasero. We specialize in Japanese Sake (Brewed Rice Drank) and CRAFT BEERS, imported directly from Nara, Mito, and Kochi in Japan! So when you come to visit us, please come thirsty! Our restaurant features a hot kitchen and sushi bar, with fresh local ingredients, and many others sourced from all over the world! We also now have LITTLE KOBE JAPANESE MARKET for all your take home needs, including miso pastes, wasabi, japanese spices and curries, little gifts, and more!
Reviewed 12 November 2022

I think fourth time around in this ‘Izakaya’ (which I think means a ‘going-home bar/place in Japan), which serves excellent sushi, sashimi, soups etc. And excellent beer brewed in their own brewery on the site. I can recommend highly.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank ThePaleface
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2022

Paleface san,

Thank you so much for your quattro-fecta of visits and praises!

And yes, and Izakaya is like a “third place” which exists between work and home. It’s a place you can stop in between to blow off some steam, have some sake, snack on some food, and then get on with the rest of your plans.

I’ll share comments about Banange Brewing CO’s
Craft beer, the new head brewer Khaled san will be pumped up to hear it!

Take care, and until next time!

Hanif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2022

We came here without a booking as a random dinner selection for 5 people, as it was within walking distance from our hotel. The food was excellent and there was lots of choice. Despite us all choosing different things, it came quickly with no mistakes. They serve beer from the adjacent microbrewery which is equally good. So I really have only praise for the place :-)

Date of visit: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Africahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2022

Africahand san,

Thanks for the walk-in visit and positive review on the food and brew!

Hope to have you over again on a future visit, and enjoy the rest of your trip.

Hanif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2022

Great Japanese where you least expect it. Couldn't resist going multiple times in my week in Kampala. They brew their own beer, too!

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2022

Kevin san,

Thanks for the visit and lovely feedback, this is what drives us!

Hope to see you again soon.

Hanif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2021

thank you very much for a wonderful meal… one of the best Japanese people in my life… great food… amazing team

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Sobreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2022

Sobreton san,

Oh man, thanks fo this. We love you!

See you soon,

Hanif.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2020

Absolutely amazing! We reserved a table for two and Hanif (owner) had kindly arranged a one of a kind experience for the two of us! He and Mac (Head Chef from Japan with fantastic tableside service) presented us with incredible dishes which never seemed to end - from sushi platters, to teriyaki chicken dishes, deep fried tofu tamakis, MULBERRY CHEESECAKE , tiramisu, tofu salads, sake, wine and more! Every dish was presented beautifully and was out of this world delicious. Customer service was flawless, from the moment we arrived until the moment we said goodnight. Yujos is more than a restaurant, it is an experience 5/5 stars, and THANK YOU to Chef Mac, Hanif and the rest of the team at Yujos!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Kessia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2022

Kessia san,

Thanks so much for your spectacular review!

It was a pleasure hosting you and joining in on the table through your special evening.

See you again soon!

Hanif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yujo Izakaya also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Yujo Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing