We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great beer!”
Review of Yujo Izakaya

Yujo Izakaya
Ranked #11 of 408 Restaurants in Kampala
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Yujo Izakaya is a Modern Japanese restaurant and tavern, located in the heart of Nakasero. We specialize in Japanese Sake (Brewed Rice Drank) and CRAFT BEERS, imported directly from Nara, Mito, and Kochi in Japan! So when you come to visit us, please come thirsty! Our restaurant features a hot kitchen and sushi bar, with fresh local ingredients, and many others sourced from all over the world! We also now have LITTLE KOBE JAPANESE MARKET for all your take home needs, including miso pastes, wasabi, japanese spices and curries, little gifts, and more!
Reviewed 8 June 2022

We came here without a booking as a random dinner selection for 5 people, as it was within walking distance from our hotel. The food was excellent and there was lots of choice. Despite us all choosing different things, it came quickly with no mistakes. They serve beer from the adjacent microbrewery which is equally good. So I really have only praise for the place :-)

Date of visit: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Africahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Africahand san,

Thanks for the walk-in visit and positive review on the food and brew!

Hope to have you over again on a future visit, and enjoy the rest of your trip.

Hanif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2022

Great Japanese where you least expect it. Couldn't resist going multiple times in my week in Kampala. They brew their own beer, too!

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kevin san,

Thanks for the visit and lovely feedback, this is what drives us!

Hope to see you again soon.

Hanif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2021

thank you very much for a wonderful meal… one of the best Japanese people in my life… great food… amazing team

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Sobreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sobreton san,

Oh man, thanks fo this. We love you!

See you soon,

Hanif.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2020

Absolutely amazing! We reserved a table for two and Hanif (owner) had kindly arranged a one of a kind experience for the two of us! He and Mac (Head Chef from Japan with fantastic tableside service) presented us with incredible dishes which never seemed to end - from sushi platters, to teriyaki chicken dishes, deep fried tofu tamakis, MULBERRY CHEESECAKE , tiramisu, tofu salads, sake, wine and more! Every dish was presented beautifully and was out of this world delicious. Customer service was flawless, from the moment we arrived until the moment we said goodnight. Yujos is more than a restaurant, it is an experience 5/5 stars, and THANK YOU to Chef Mac, Hanif and the rest of the team at Yujos!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Kessia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kessia san,

Thanks so much for your spectacular review!

It was a pleasure hosting you and joining in on the table through your special evening.

See you again soon!

Hanif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020 via mobile

This was our go-to Japanese spot, the presentation is beautiful and the food is great. However, the service is always poor and last time they made a huge mistake on a very very clearly explained dietary requirement. This resulted in a lot of upset and their only comeback was to offer a free scoop of ice cream. We will not visit again.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank SwaziSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Swazisue,

I’m happy to hear that you found our presentation beautiful and the food great!

I’m so sorry to hear about the problem you experienced with our service and the mistake on your dietary requirement.

We hope that you and your group will forgive us and give us another chance in the future?

I’ve explained to the service manager and team about better ways to make things right than a scoop of vanilla, eesh!

Take care,

Hanif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yujo Izakaya also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Yujo Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing