We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot ”
Review of Yujo Izakaya

Yujo Izakaya
Ranked #11 of 408 Restaurants in Kampala
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Yujo Izakaya is a Modern Japanese restaurant and tavern, located in the heart of Nakasero. We specialize in Japanese Sake (Brewed Rice Drank) and CRAFT BEERS, imported directly from Nara, Mito, and Kochi in Japan! So when you come to visit us, please come thirsty! Our restaurant features a hot kitchen and sushi bar, with fresh local ingredients, and many others sourced from all over the world! We also now have LITTLE KOBE JAPANESE MARKET for all your take home needs, including miso pastes, wasabi, japanese spices and curries, little gifts, and more!
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Great ambiance, food was good , service can be improved. It was a great experience for a restaurant in Kampala. The stuff was very welcoming. Don’t know about reservations because Sunday didn’t seem althat busy sober easily got a table but you can always call the restaurant ahead .

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ReviewsByT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

We're glad you enjoyed the food at Yujo Izakaya!

We hope to see you again soon, and we'll focus on improving our service delivery to meet your needs better.

Arigatougozaimasu!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2018

nice to have breezes blowing in as you eat your japanese food, seemed authentic. apparently very busy at weekend.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank dan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

Hi Dan,

Thanks for coming to our quiet little place in Nakasero. We are trying to provide a Japanese dining experience that is provided using as many original Japanese ingredients as possible, and this effort is not only limited to the recipes of what we cook in the kitchens or pour at the bar.

We are still on a long journey, and are so happy to have guests such as yourself that appreciate the efforts along the way.

We would be very happy to host you again one day.

Arigatougozaimasu.

Hanif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Great japanese food and wide variety of food to select from.However, the chop sticks are old and the furniture in the restaurant needs a major upgrade

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank bellecrystall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thanks for coming by, we're happy that you enjoyed the food!

We're gonna look into doing a little overhaul pretty soon, thanks for the reminder ;)

Hanif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

We had a cozy corner position on a balcony overlooking a luscious garden. Service was fairly quick, the sushi/sashimi very good. All in all a very pleasant evening with a relaxerd atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thanks for coming by Elana! We are glad you enjoyed your time with a view of our garden, and that you enjoyed our sushi/sashimi selection of the evening!

We hope to host you again in the near future, and earn the "fifth star" from you!

Arigatougozaimasu

Hanif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We had a bunch of different dishes, including the vegetarian sushi. It was all excellent and we were super happy. They also have imported Hitachino beer, huzzah!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peterpentti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

Peterevjan san!

That's very kind of you to share your positive experience with us. And that you enjoyed our vegetarian offerings. We do hope to add more soon, it will be once we train our chefs further on how to use the fresh local produce to make full and attractive main courses for vegetarians.

We are also very excited that you enjoyed Hitachino Nest Craft Beer from Ibaraki in Eastern Japan.

It was a real treat when they appointed us as their distribution agent to East Africa for their world class products. We also have sake and umeshu (Plum Wine) from their brewery called "Kiuchi Shuzo."

They have many products in the pipelines including aged whisky, shochu, and other products.

Please stop by our shop next door in the parking lot or visit our micro-restaurant in Kurb Kisementi to see some on the shelves. They make for quite a unique gift idea!

Arigatougozaimasu.

Hanif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yujo Izakaya also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Yujo Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing