We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
69
35
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
35
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar modern hotel infinity pool the city view rooms roof restaurant goat stew breakfast spread an excellent hotel tea and coffee the general manager great shower first floor great facilities rooms are nice kigali city bed was very comfortable conference facilities
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Modern but somewhat sterile decor. Rooms are spacious with rainfall showers. Staff mostly friendly but service not always the fastest. Rooftop has great views of the city and very good food, reasonably priced. Gym is very small. Small issue but constant problems with the tv, kept freezing so needed to constantly change channel to resume show. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarlaB3180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennmunyeki, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Carla,
Greetings from Ubumwe Grande Hotel!

Thank you for giving us your review and feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences caused by the insufficient service and the TV freezing which have both been dealt with by the concerned departments.
Allow us to make it up to you the next time your in Kigali.

Thank you and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful Hotel, wonderful place. We liked the tikka masala at Rooftop restaurant. Service was not upto mark but food was good.
Great view from rooftop specially in the evening time from my room on 11th floor

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Sarfaraz Nawaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennmunyeki, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sarfaraz,
Greetings from Ubumwe Grande Hotel !

Thank you for reviewing us and for your wonderful feedback. We are sorry that the service at the rooftop didn't match your expectations. And we assure you that given the training that have been given to the F&B department, there is a good improvement in the service at the rooftop. Allow us to make it up to you the next time your here.
We are happy that you still enjoyed the rooftop view, food and the location of the Hotel.
We look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Room as big and comfortable,
The food is fast served, staff is friendly, we had Great happy hour at the Rooftop....
The hotel is well located with many taxi around.
Air conditioning is working well.
I ternet connection is Ok.
Just need to add more channels on TV

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Yasmine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennmunyeki, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Yasmine,
Greetings from Ubumwe Grande Hotel!

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we assure you that the IT department has dealt with the TV channels and they have been increased.

We hope to host you again the next time your in Kigali.

Thank you and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

I stayed for 5 nights for a meeting that was held in the hotel. I found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. The food was excellent, with lots of options at breakfast. The rooftop bar was a nice place for dinner and to unwind after a long day. The main negative was the bathroom. A horrible sewage smell kept coming up from the shower drain, which permeated throughout the room and soured my experience there. Maintenance came and their solution was to stick the shower head into the shower drain and run the water for 2 hours straight. That worked for a day, then the next day the smell was back.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ELLEN Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennmunyeki, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ellen,
Greetings from Ubumwe Grande Hotel!
Thank you very much for reviewing us and for your feedback.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us except the Sewage smell that bothered you which we are so sorry about; but we are happy to inform you that the next time we host you will not notice anything of that sort because the maintenance team dealt with it permanently.

Allow us to make it up to you the next time your in Kigali.

Thank you and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

I agree with the praise in the other reviews. All of it. What I find to be very stunning is that the General Manager Kenn Munyeki and his staff managed to open a four star hotel with a staff that had no what so ever experience what it means to run a hotel at this level. No skills, no experiences, no training. There was no experience at all in Rwanda to deliver this high quality service, this performance. In 1.5 years they managed to become this amazing hotel with incredible services. My respects to the GM and the staff. A truly stunning accomplishment.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Theclaudicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennmunyeki, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Theclaudicola,
Greetings from ubumwe Grande Hotel !

Thank you very much for reviewing us and for this wonderful feedback.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are humbled that me and my staff satisfied you with the service offered and the staff is happy to hear this.
We hope to see you again the next time your in Kigali.

Thank you for choosing us and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews