We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Staff and management are very pleasant and have a commitment to make this suite hotel stand out from the average Abuja business hotel.

Facilities are a bit variable. Some things are hopelessly over-specified (non-functioning jacuzzis in all the rooms), and more lighting would be useful.

There's a pleasant pool and a moderately working gym. "Spices" and other restos nearby are a relief from the tedium of hotel buffets. No alcohol, but Bolton Whites and Bull and Bush are nearby.

I haven't persuaded them to turn off the incessant piped music.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor. Lots of noisy machinery. It's a good idea to check your room for lighti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardfnjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darkpebbles, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We are working on the light, the hotel is undergoing general refurbishing and improvements.
Thank you for your imput. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel is run down. The rooms and hotel is poorly maintained. The rooms needs drastic renovation. Hotels in Africa must provide the feeling of home and it is not the feeling one gets when entering the hotel and room. The employees wish to help and they are very kind but the execution is not moving to anyplace.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShoriSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It's really easy to love or hate this hotel and if you read many of the reviews on TripAdvisor you would definitely think you should turn the other way and run far, far away.
But...I have to say that this place gets a bad rap. Yes, the hotel is in desperate need of a facelift (a paint job, some better lights and new carpeting would make a huge difference). Yes, the hotel isn't in the most exciting location. Yes, the hallways are a bit depressing.
However - you have a nice gym and pool, you have BIG rooms with flatscreen TVs, a kitchenette, a dining table, sitting room with couches and a spacious bedroom. And the bathrooms have a jazuzzi-esque bathtub. Don't eat at the hotel if you can avoid it, though. There is a great Indian restaurant just a stone's throw away (Spices) and the Bolton Arms hotel nearby has a great poolside cafe and bar. Also, just next door there is a supermarket where you can buy all your essentials for breakfast, etc..
We stayed here for security reasons and it definitely met those criteria - well protected, gated, off the main road, etc. You are going to have to take a taxi almost anywhere you want to go, but if you like Indian food and/or don't mind a few taxi rides, this is definitely a safe and comfortable place to stay. Be prepared to pay for your room in cash (and in dollars). In theory they take credit cards, but, as I'm sure you'll read elsewhere, using credit cards in Nigeria can be risky business.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garspolyglotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Like most people I generally read trip advisor reviews before staying in a place and this stay was no different. I think when judging Nigerian hotels some perspective is needed. For instance I know when I am in more developed places I don't have to worry about power outages unfortunately in a place like Nigeria that's an everyday thing. Thus, I can't take off stars from a hotel for something that happens in every hotel in Nigeria that I've stayed in.

With that rant out of the way. I stayed here about 6 weeks ago and really enjoyed it. The beds are super comfortable, although some of the comments regarding construction weren't very noticeable , I wasn't a fan of the carpets, other than that the rooms were great.

The good : spacious, affordable, good food and internet

The bad : carpets, no bacon, too quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darkpebbles, marketing at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are gland you enjoyed your stay with us. Majority of our guests prefer the quiet/serene environment. Next time since we are located in the central area the hotel is surrounded by several restaurants, pubs and clubs, and our staff would be happy to show you around. We do hope to see you again soon.

cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I spent a weekend at Hawthorne and couldn't get over the fact that I was able to sleep through the night with no interruptions. I had an excellent view of the pool and could enjoy the sunrise from the balcony, excellent bathroom and spacious room. The staff was respectful and time concious. Well equipped Hotel, definitely worth staying at when visiting Abuja!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nafisat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
8.3 km away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
225 reviews
8.0 km away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#12 of 83 in Abuja
29 reviews
9.9 km away
Grand Towers Hotel
Grand Towers Hotel
#24 of 83 in Abuja
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
8.1 km away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#16 of 83 in Abuja
31 reviews
6.3 km away
Hotel De Bently
Hotel De Bently
#46 of 83 in Abuja
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja

Address: 1 Uke Street | Garki II, Abuja, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range: ₹ 5,514 - ₹ 7,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent full service extended stay hotel in the heart of Abuja. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing