We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
31
89
32
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
89
32
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre located close to the center friendly reception clean rooms nice place to start starting point namibian trip place to stay first night guesthouse receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Centrally located guesthouse, ample and secure parking with friendly, helpful staff. Rooms are a decent size but we didn't feel the cleanliness was that great (hairs on bedsheets etc) and can get very hot in summer (there was a fan that didn't really do anything and we had to sleep with mosquito nets otherwise we would have been bitten alive!). We knew that breakfast was not included in our rate but we decided to give it a go as we had an early start- nothing special and not a huge variety to pick from. Wi-Fi is very patchy and kept disconnecting. In short, an ok guesthouse in a decent location but quite pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aa_onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We stopped over here on our way to Etosha and found it to be good value. Rooms are modern with fridges and tv. There's no aircon, but we got a welcome drink and top-up for wifi which was great. It's a place in the commercial part of town (ie not a suburban setting) geared to high turnover (think industrial soap dispensers, prominent rules up in the bedroom etc) and professionally run (neat housekeeping with little leaf on each pillow) with friendly reception. However it's not really a place to linger as there's no garden / view asided from the (understandably covered) pool area which is small and surrounded by many rooms. Parking is tight and our upstairs balcony door couldn't be locked but all went well. Plenty of nearby spots in Windhoek to enjoy so this is a convenient base.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thunderboltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vondelhof, Owner at Vondelhof Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that the sliding door that gives access to the balcony can be locked with a lever at the door handle as well as with a key at the bottom of the door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Clean modern guesthouse with great acces to the airport and a short walking distance from te city centre and Nice (a great restaurant). Staff is friendly and helpfull. Although you have to pay for every little service they provide, regarding we stayed 3 nights. We had to pay for a few prints and for the hotel to call a taxi for us to go to Joes Beerhouse. The garden is nice, a bit small, with a small terrace around the pool, which was covered with a filthy cover, which did not look inviting to swim in.

Room Tip: We stayed here two times. Room #5 was great, groundfloor, quiet spacious and cool, no need for an airco. The room was clean and modern, with a nice bathroom. The second time was in room #7 which was on the first floor, with just stairs. It is a lot smaller, hot with only a fan (no airco). The muscuitonet did not function properly, and we got more bitten this one night then all 25 days we stayed in Namibia. But it had a nice terrace (also in the hor sun).
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RobertE1746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vondelhof, Owner at Vondelhof Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to comment as follows:
1. You stayed with us twice and I have checked both your invoices and none of them show any telephone charges. And that is correct, as we don't charge for phone calls to the taxi company. That is a service that we happily provide free of charge, just like we don't charge for making restaurant bookings, etc. However, you do need to pay the taxi driver for his services. You were indeed charged for photocopies, but they were not 'a few'; you asked us to re-print the detailed and lengthy itinerary for your entire holiday which you couldn't print at home.
2. As explained during check-in, it is not our decision to have the pool covered, we would also much rather see the sparkling blue water than the cover, but due to the drought we have to adhere to municipal regulations that prescribe that pools must be covered to avoid evaporation. The pool is fully operational and when guests would like to swim, our staff will remove the cover. Afterwards, we unfortunately have to put the cover back on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Windhoek certainly is underrated in terms of holidays. Like ourselves, most people pass through to Namibias nature. The Vondelhof is a good place to start this and a good place to experience Windhoek, if you have a few days more.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nilszurawski2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vondelhof, Owner at Vondelhof Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

I'm am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us, and I thank you for giving us the perfect 5-out-of-5 score.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We immediately felt at home when we checked in at Vondelhof Guesthouse by the warmth and friendliness at the reception, repeated when we returned at the end of our tour through Namibia. We just loved the guesthouse, conveniently situated on walking distance near to the town centre of Windhoek. Staff was very helpful We would love to see all of them again. Best wishes for you future.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maarten_gijsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vondelhof, Owner at Vondelhof Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your kind review and giving us the perfect 5-out-of-5 score. I'm pleased that you felt at home; that's exactly the experience we would like our guests to have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews