We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Windhoek(Windhoek)
US$ 172
US$ 156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 144
US$ 140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 130
US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pension Uhland(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$ 66
US$ 55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 217
US$ 153
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 138
US$ 134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arebbusch Travel Lodge(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$ 70
US$ 65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 43
US$ 42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 353
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
202
160
34
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
160
34
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeet other travellersfriendly vibequiz nightbus stationgreat kitchenfree walking tourprivate roombudget optionback packersfree breakfastsecond homeself catering kitchenhoneymoon suitecentral windhoekplace to staysouthern africacommunal kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017

nice place to stay in Namibia !! a swimming pool for people who like the cood watin in winter !! some trip are offer inthe contry with a guide
staff are very kind and reactif
rooms are very nice and it's a ecoligique house

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie B, Owner at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Richard,
Great that you enjoyed your stay at Chameleon, we have become even more green with the addition of 50 solar panels on our roof to generate some energy during our long sunny days.
Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We stayed at this property twice on our trip through Namibia. We found the private rooms to be very nice and clean. The kitchen is a typical backpackers in terms of cleanliness and the breakfast provided is very basic, but free :) On our first stay we slept in the Love Birds room which is right above the pool and we didn't get any sleep due to loud partying backpackers(way past the set quiet hours) Our second stay we requested to be moved to the guesthouse and had a very quiet, restful stay. We would not recommend the lovebird room due to location, but other rooms further away were great.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie B, Owner at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Yaussie,
Thanks for the great review and my apologies for the noisy crew that stayed on your initial stay. We like to enforce the quiet after 10pm but sometimes it is difficult to contain happy people. I love the Lovebird Room for its balcony and view of the sunset, but Elephant is also great with private balcony, outside shower and distance from the bar!!
Hope we see you again soon
cheers
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Great place to stay. Lots of information about Namibia. Very helpful staff, friendly check-in and check-out. Useful and essential bag and valuables storage. Convenient location, quite, little road noise. Very friendly dog!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank petermY5820BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie B, Owner at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Peter and family,
Thanks very much for your review and very happy you enjoyed your stay. Both Blackie and Woody (the Chameleon furry staff) love our guests, especially our younger ones. Hope we see you again one day
cheers
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Well organised and friendly staff. A locker in the dorm for your stuff, clean (shared) bathrooms. Nice rooms with shared bathrooms. Breakfast with choice between bread, toast and cereal and coffee, tea or juice as much as you like.
I've meet nice people every night I stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie B, Owner at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Koen,
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. There are so many cool and interesting people that pass through our doors that sometimes, they become life long friends. Friday nights are the best with the quiz night, that's when you really meet lots of people and have some fun.
See you next time
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Room is very clean and quiet. Very close to the market where you can buy food and fruit. If you go further, there's a mall I think. About 10 minutes walk to intercape bus station. After all, very good place to stay considering the price.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 355annz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie B, Owner at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Ann,
Thank you for taking the time to review Chameleon, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are very central and we try to keep our prices very competitive. See you next time
cheers
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews