We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
5
5
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
5
1
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2015

I will recommend Moringa for anyone in the need of a quality guest house in Maputo. The staff is friendly, the food is excellent, the pool is a nice thing to have but in the hot season only I suppose. My stay was very much worth the asking price.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pettersen2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moringa M, Owner at Moringa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Many Thanks Dear Petterson, we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

First of all, because of overgrown trees it is nearly impossible to see the sign for the guesthouse from the street. Look for an orange building next to a children's play centre. They need to put a sign flat on the fence facing the street as well as the stealth sign that they have.

The place itself appears nice enough, and the reception area is welcoming. Then you head out downstairs. The pool looks lovely and clean, but there is something off right away. It is the ever present noise from multiple sources. There is music that is from a gym or a night club thumping all the time; the pool pump is loud, even though the room is in the middle of the block you can hear traffic noises, and there are dogs barking and fighting intermittently. Even good quality earplugs are not enough to drown out the noise.

Then the room. It was meant to be deluxe, but it isn't. Standard bed with very thin duvet, at least there is a top sheet and a light throw. Plain walls with one nice bit of wall art of a large butterfly. No cupboard, just open shelves and a rod without any clothes hangers. Very small TV (smaller than my computer screen) that we needed to get the receptionist to come and get going as the remote wasn't working originally. The wireless access was intermittent at best. The single welcome chocolate was lovely but as it is a double room two would have been sensible.

The bathroom was very small, the toilet wasn't properly secured to the floor, there was a funky smell in there, and the shower was appalling - the rain head shower jetted water over the shower curtain on to the towel rail, and the alternate shower just dribbled. Water pressure to the sink was close to non-existent at times and over-powering at others. While there was flowing soap and shower gel provided, and the sink, bathroom shelf and accessories were lovely, it is just nowhere near deluxe. The bottles of water, the coffee, tea, creamer, sugar, large cups and kettle were appreciated.

Breakfast was good. Both a continental buffet available and cooked breakfast. Best of all I could get a plunger of decent coffee!!

There are wires on the outside of the wall, and the door frame has had alterations to it so it looks messy, and the catch on one of the external windows is missing. At least there is a good number of electrical sockets.

There is secure parking available, thank goodness, as the neighborhood appears to be a fairly typical inner city Maputo area where leaving a car unsupervised may not be wise.

We did not stay for the second night we were booked for as the potential delights of Maputo were not enough persuade me to put up with the noise for another night. Sure, we were there on Saturday and Sunday may be better but it's not worth the risk.

To top it off the system to pay for the night we did not use was down when we wanted to leave, and we were asked to go to the bank to get cash. This is ridiculous. Finally after insisting that the system got sorted the receptionist went away, tweaked something and got it going.

I have put some pics up - I usually don't like grime pics or pics of rickety furniture as I think "what do you expect" but this room purports to be deluxe. It isn't.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank LouisaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moringa M, Owner at Moringa Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Dear Loiza, so sorry for that, we did change our management, we are change to improve and do all the best for you.. Let me say that you will have 10% discount in your next stay, please send us an email when you decide to booking referring TripAdviser. Our email is moringamoz@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015

It's a relatively cheap and cheerful option for Maputo. I think I had a slightly unfortunate run of events: mosquitoes in my room, no water bottles and then no running water (both were quickly resolved) and the bathroom had a slightly unpleasant smell about it. However, the breakfast was good, the staff could not have been nicer and it's really close to town. There's also a lovely Portuguese restaurant in the park opposite which is super convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BoodleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015 via mobile

considering the very high prices of accommodation in Maputo, Moringa Guesthouse is a great affordable choice. The location is very convenient and central. The place is very relaxing, colorful, with a lovely courtyard with a very much appreciated swimming pool. The rooms are clean and airy. The breakfast offers a good range of choices and is filling. The staff is lovely, friendly and helpful. They really helped any time we needed a taxi and they had good recommendation for restaurants around.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank blandouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015

Closed to the center of Maputo. One particular detail about Moringa is the with nice and warm people that makes you feel at home, even if you are far from.
A Place with a nice pool, meeting room and room service that can fit the needs of your accomodation in Maputo

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SansaoMonjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews