We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 166
US$ 149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blu Sky Hotel(Maputo)(Great Value!)
US$ 85
US$ 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Acacia Guest House(Maputo)(Great Value!)
US$ 76
US$ 53
Booking.com
View Deal
Southern Sun Maputo(Maputo)
US$ 234
US$ 211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 249
US$ 224
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 298
US$ 257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chinese Villa Resort(Maputo)(Great Value!)
US$ 60
Booking.com
View Deal
Angel Guest House(Maputo)(Great Value!)
US$ 43
Booking.com
View Deal
Catembe Beach Lodge(Maputo)(Great Value!)
US$ 25
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
41
99
50
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
99
50
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent locationgym and swimming poolordered room serviceexpected amenitiesegg stationnice servicean ironshower headhot watervery nice hotelrooms are spaciousbars and restaurantswalking distanceexcellent business hotelan upgradeafricacoastline
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015

This was my second stay at the Hotel Avenida - Centrally located in the business district, rooms are well appointed, large, and supplied with all amenities.

The hotel's breakfast buffet is very good - I had to keep away from the Portuguese egg tarts, still warm from the kitchen.

Staff are friendly and polite, but can sometimes not be so attentive. That said, I did not have a problem at all, and for the cost, highly recommend the hotel as a good base while in Maputo.

Room Tip: All the rooms are generally quiet, but to escape the afternoon sun, you might want to request a room facing the street.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheLongestHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We appreciate your feedback We are very happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you were satisfied with the standards of the hotel.
Avenida Hotel is the most central hotel of Maputo.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

I have been staying at the TD Hotels on business almost every week over the past 3 months. There is NO Loyalty card or support to track your stay and patronage. There is NO benefits that other hotels like Legacy Group, Hilton or Radisson offer for their regular business patrons. Furthermore I have been placed twice next to Noisy Neighbours with Televisions blaring till early hours of the morning!!!
The menu has been the same for the past 3 months which is dreadfully boring.
If no changes, this week, I will certainly be changing my patronage.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor street facing are better
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yagen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear Mr. Naidoo,
We regret your disappointment and the negative experiences in your last stay with us, and we would like to offer our apologies.

As our personal conversation, I explained that our Hotel Chain does not have loyalty card, but it doesn't mean that we do no not take care our clients. We make all the efforts to take care and exceed the expectations, as the upgrade that we made for you.

We hope to have the opportunity to continuing welcome you and exceed your expectations

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Wonderful service, amazing breakfast, great gym (for a hotel). Great view of Maputo from the rooftop pool. The hotel definitely needs some maintenance, and my sense is that there are better deals for your money in Maputo. I was there on buisiness so I was happy with Hotel Avenida as I was not paying for my stay there. Wifi signal was very bad in the rooms but fine in the lobby. Laundry service was extraordinarily expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sarita888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Dear Sarita

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We appreciate your feedback We are very happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you were satisfied with the standards of the hotel.

Thank you for the comment regarding wifi signal, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. I will definitely share this with our IT team to look into the matter.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

This is the fourth time I stay at the Avenida hotel for business. Perfect central location in Maputo, with plenty of taxis outside. Good buffet breakfast and free wifi, however the hotel is in need of some refurbishment and it is more a 4 star rather than the displayed 5 star. Comfortable and clean, but lacking the character of the Polana and Cardoso hotels.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Dear Diana,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We appreciate your feedback We are very happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you were satisfied with the standards of the hotel.
Avenida Hotel is the most central hotel of Maputo.
Fortunately we hope to refurbish our hotel rooms in a near future
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

the hotel is outdated as it needs improvements in teh rooms, it would be ok if was not over ppriced as it is, definitly not worth the money, I stayed 3 nights there on a business trip

Staff are regular and the location is good

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Dear Liture
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We appreciate clients feedbacks about our services and facilities, whether positive or negative, because we always want to improve
Avenida Hotel is the most central hotel of Maputo.
Fortunately we hope to refurbish our hotel rooms in a near future
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews