We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 100
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madidi Lodge(Lilongwe)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$ 185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Burley House(Lilongwe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Barefoot Lodge(Lilongwe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
88
14
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
14
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homemaking my stay so enjoyablerelaxing lodgecommon areasother guestspeaceful havenguest houserooms are beautifultraveling aloneread a booka wonderful place to stayevery eveningfree wifistay there againfood is excellentcapital cityyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018

As a frequent traveller to Malawi, im getting kinda used to the power shortages in Malawi. I have tried many accommodation in Lilongwe, however Africa House is IMO best prepared with their huge generator and clear communication about power shortages. Edvai and Elise are very welcoming as they used to assist me with travel advise within Malawi.

The restaurant serves good food and staff are excellent trained. Africa House is ideally for long stayers or travellers who are just arriving from a hectic flight!

Room Tip: try to deluxe rooms, they are so nice and spacious!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mo-traveller2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

After a lot of fieldwork the beginning of this month it was great to be back again in the civilisation of the Africa House. The place is great and luxurious with all comfort you could asked for. Malawi has extreme powercuts at the moment but the Africa House is wel organised with back up generators and solar batteries systems to ensure they dont run out of power. Again an ever so relaxing time with ever so friendly staff. Thank you so much Elise to take care of my lost luggage whilst I was away. Much appreciated!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Melvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Africa_House, Manager at Africa House Malawi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Melvin,

Thank your for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you again in Africa House soon.

Kind regards,
The staff of Africa House Malawi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

I lived in Lilongwe for 2.5 years and travel back regularly, so I've stayed at or visited most of the hotels and lodges in town...The Sunbird Capital, The President Walmont, Kumbali Country Lodge, Mabuya Camp, Africa House...

Africa House used to be one of my favourites. The food has never been great (in fact, it's been consistently bad), there's no free wi-fi, the mattresses are spongy, and the rooms are a bit dated, but the staff are friendly, and the common areas are well laid out and full of beautiful African art.

But no longer. For those who don't know, Malawi has been facing severe energy shortages for the last couple of years, leading to blackouts most days - even in the capital city. As a result, hotels and businesses are forced to run expensive diesel generators to provide power for lights, air conditioning units, and so on. You will find that most of the major hotels in Lilongwe are running their generators near constantly. Not so at Africa House, where the generator might be turned on for an hour or so every evening. The result? Impossible to charge phones and laptops. No air conditioning. So if you go to Malawi in the cool season (April-August), have no need for your electronic devices, and don't mind going to bed early, Africa House would probably be a great choice for you. For everyone else, I'd find somewhere that's running a generator.

I know diesel generators are expensive to run (not to mention bad for the environment), but if you're running a guest house that charges what Africa House charges, then you're going to have to put the generator on or lose business. Next time, I'll be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Africa_House, Manager at Africa House Malawi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear David,

We are very sorry to hear that you have had such a bad experience during your stay in Africa House. We are surprised to hear this and strongly believe something must have gone wrong the time you stayed with us, because we are running our heavy duty generator at least 8 hours a day on the occasions when there is no power. Apart from that does our commercial battery bank inverter system back up the power when the generator is not running so there are always lights and power points to charge your laptop and phone batteries available.

We have further imported all our mattresses from quality manufactures in South Africa and Europe and are very surprised to hear they are “spongy” we never had any complained about this but we will surely look into this .

A petty you could not find yourselves fit in within this environment but as mentioned we are always trying to supply our valued guests with all the comforts needed !

Warm regards,

The management of Africa House Malawi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We were in Malawi for a medical mission trip and stayed here for four nights. The stay was excellent and our favorite in Malawi. For wifi, we just got 3G sim cards for our phones which was cheaper and more versatile / reliable than using the paid WiFi hotspot at the hotel. The food was good but not great. The best part is that the chef was super personable and would cater the dinner each night to what you wanted. You just have to tell him beforehand. We actually got some ingredients we liked at the store and had the chef make us food. The service is superb and the atmosphere is amazing. It was the perfect place to relax after a day of clinic outside. The rooms were spacious and nice especially for Lilongwe. The electricity as everywhere else is inconsistent but they do have a generator so the fan and outlets work most of the day and night. The AC was working for about 50% of our stay due to electricity which seems to be normal. Thankfully, it wasn't too hot when we visited in January. Breakfast each morning was great with plenty of options. We loved the plain (unsweetened) yogurt. One day we needed to go to the pharmacy and the manager drove us there in her truck- super nice! One note is that the location is definitely away from the city center and there are few places to walk to but Lark cafe and Latitude 13 are 10 minute walks for other food options! Highly recommend this place and would stay there again mostly for great relaxing atmosphere after day out.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Summit - Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Africa_House, Manager at Africa House Malawi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Summit - Julie S,
Thank you very much for your remarks on TripAdvisor.
We were delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our lodge.
We are looking forward welcoming you again Africa House next time.

Regards,
Edvai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

I spent 2 nights at Africa House with my 2 adult daughters after 10 days in rural Malawi. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Alissa and shown to our delightful accommodation. My daughters stayed in the Namibia suite and I was next door in the Egypt room. We were all extremely delighted and excited to be able to revive and relax in such beautiful, well appointed rooms. A single bed was added (at my request and with no problem) to the Namibia room so that the girls would not have to share a bed. There were many public areas to choose from and were all very quiet and inviting. We enjoyed a swim in the pool and drinks delivered by Flair, the cook/barman. There was plenty to choose from the breakfast menu, which was included in the cost. All in all, Africa House was a highly delightful place to stay, no request was too hard and every bit of it was warm and inviting. I would most definitely recommend Africa House to anyone looking for a a relaxing retreat.

Room Tip: Namibia suite was very spacious
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quandongcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Africa_House, Manager at Africa House Malawi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Patricia,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! We were happy to accommodate you and your daughters like you wished. Also, thank you for the kind words regarding the breakfast. We are continually trying to improve the variety and quality of food items that we offer. Thank you for choosing Africa House and we hope to welcome you again one day.

Kind regards,
The staff of Africa House Malawi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews