We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
19
18
10
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
18
10
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanctuary lodgetea and coffee facilitiesamazing indian foodcapital cityrestaurant servesplace to stayhot waterliontranquilityspecialsgardencutspowerforestcountry
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Enjoyed eating Indian food at woodlands, nice setting, outdoor eating possible, "interesting" service (main waiter was well informed about India food, the waiter who brought the food hardly), we spent here a very pleasant night

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cojotent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhiren T, Owner at Woodlands Lilongwe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for your visiting our restaurant recently. We have noted your comments and will carry on with a training our staff to ensure that all have similar knowledge to deliver to our guests the best we can. sometimes, we have no choice but to let our trainee waiters get the confidence in serving our guests. We look forward to seeing you again at The Woodlands Lilongwe soon.
With best wishes
Dhiren Thakrar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Beautiful surprise in the city of Lilongwe. Amazing rooms (more like individual lodges). Comfortable, clean and well furnished. The grounds were amazing. We sat on our front porch and watched monkeys playing in the trees. At dusk we heard Lions and Elephants located on the far side of the park. The food and service were great.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank lsmith699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhiren T, Manager at Woodlands Lilongwe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Guest
We thank you for choosing The Woodlands Lilongwe during your recent visit to Lilongwe. We are glad to note that you enjoyed staying with us and that you were happy with our grounds, rooms and service. It is was indeed knows as The Sanctuary Lodge but was re-branded about three years after a takeover by new Management. We will continue with our plans for improving our quality even further over the next two years to ensure our guests get the best. Thank you for your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Lilongwe.
With best wishes and regards
Dhiren Thakrar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Loved this hotel, we didn't stay on the property but we went to their restaurant several times and I can say with assurance that this was the best Indian food we had all out month long stay. It's run by a lovely couple, and the sanctuary that the hotel/restaurant is located on means that there are wild animals to see if you just take the time. The food is fabulous, the location convenient. LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mukisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhiren T, Owner at Woodlands Lilongwe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Guest
Thanks for visiting The Restaurant at "The Woodlands Lilongwe". We are glad that you had good experience throughout your visits. We will carry on working hard in all areas of the hotel including The Restaurant and Bar to ensure our guests can have even a better experience. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Lilongwe and thank you for your positive feedback.
With best wishes
Dhiren Thakrar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We had not been to this hotel for two years only to find as inspiring, exciting and homely. The food is excellent and enjoyed our lunch on a Sunday when there is live music. The beauty of it is the actual woodland which blankets the structures. If you love nature this is what attracted us and will always attracted us. We also had a chance to see monkeys nearby.
Professional staff has been maintained and very warm.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yellowtopcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhiren T, Owner at Woodlands Lilongwe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for visiting The Woodlands recently. We are pleased that you had a great experience. We are always working in improving our facilities and quality of food to ensure our guest get the best. We thank you for your positive feed back and look forward to having you again in the future
Dhiren Thakrar
Woodlands Lilongwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

There is a very limited number of "good" resturants in Lilongwe and it was a treat to discover this little gem. The range of cuisines is impressive with something for all tastes and the prices for food and wines are compeditive. The host Sandish (apologies for mis-spelling if wrong ) was really superb. The indian meals were very good and we went there for dinner 4 times during a recent working visit to Malawi.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhiren T, Owner at Woodlands Lilongwe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for visiting The Woodlands. We are pleased that you had a pleasant experience. We will continue to improve both our quality of food and service and look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Dhiren Thakrar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews