We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
88
60
42
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
60
42
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to stayonward travelgreat atmospherebig portionscommunal kitchenhot daysstayed here for one nightframetomtentsnetsmalawiafricahenryexpatssafariplugs
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I lived in Malawi for over a year, and spent at least a collective month at Mabuya. If you are looking for the most popular, social backpacker hostel in town, look no further. The property, staff, and accommodation is excellent, and you’ll never leave without a few laughs with new friends. In addition to the dorms, they have private accommodation options including some really cool A-frames. I recommend the safari tents they keep out back, really cozy! Above all else, I have to give mabuya props for their towels, which are always the highlight of a stay there. Thanks for the memories guys, can’t wait to make it back!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

In total I spent about 5 weeks on and off at Mabuya Camp, and I can honestly say it was one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Friendly personnel, clean rooms, amazing vibe, lovely food... What else do you need? The service at Mabuya is very personal, with both managers always ready to help you out with whatever question you might have and the guys behind the bar remembering your name and what you like to drink. Dorms are spacious with lockers and the showers are warm (which is rare in Malawi!). I was incredibly sad to leave and would recommend anyone to go take a look and stay for at least a couple of days.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Astrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalawiMixer, Owner at Mabuya Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi there, I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and kept coming back. It's great to have repeat customers. The managers and staff work hard to have that personal touch and it's great to have it recognised. I hope you've enjoyed the rest of your travels?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here three times during our stay in Malawi and camped although there are other options available. We also ate here which was fine. I would say this was quite basic in all areas but perfectly satisfactory unless you are used to luxury accommodation. The pool is quite cool unless it's a v hot day. The location is great; an easy walk into town. The staff are helpful and will help you out if you ask. The bar can be quite lively at night. Be careful of the water system on the lawn if you're camping!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fabclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

This is definitely the best backpackers in Lilongwe for those who want to be surrounded by other travellers and be in a relaxed atmosphere. I lived in Malawi for 6 months and came here several times and enjoyed it greatly. However it is definitely on the more expensive side for those who are budget travelling. E.g. 9000 Kwacha a night for dorm vs 3000-4000 for a cheaper option

Stayed: July 2017
Thank markusmccraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

This is hands down THE best backpacker place to stay in Lilongwe, nowhere else even comes close. I've stayed in multiple places in Lilongwe but Mabuya is the only place I come to now. The people are what makes this place, the managers Kelly and Max are absolutely top notch humans despite being from the UK as well as Henry and the rest of the team. They are a wealth of knowledge about the area as well as across Malawi, and always willing to go above and beyond to make you feel at home.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank RonanOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalawiMixer, Owner at Mabuya Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Glad that you love it, we love it too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews