We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
49
6
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
6
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace taxi driver cold beer the ground floor great place to stay hippos richard dorm shower internet africa taxis
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely staff, clean and comfortable accommodation and good food for a reasonable price. What more could you want? :)

(Plus the roof terrace and the plunge pool are also pretty awesome, especially in the evening
)

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mangotree223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodog95, Manager at Sleepy Hippo Backpacker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you so much for the review, we hope t see you back here again some other time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed in three different rooms in the Sleepy Hippo. All of them were clean with comfortable beds and the dorm rooms are great value for money with a great breakfast included. Richard and Emmanuel were very hospitable and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here twice recently. I don’t get the great reviews as I thought this place was fine but not great. Quiet location but you need a taxi to get anywhere. Private rooms are a good price compared to Accra hotels but you don’t get much for your money either. No towel or top sheet, few things didn’t work in my room first time I stayed such as the a/c and no water one day, the rooftop is only three chairs and a table, Wi-Fi didn’t work and they only had a mobile internet in the reception area which was often out of credit both times I stayed. Airport pick didn’t arrive though they confirmed the booking the night before. Not a lot was explained on check in and with some of the staff you just get the impression that you’re a bit of a nuisance. Kitchen staff were great though and good to have cold beer and food downstairs.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank WilliamsOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Simple but cozy and clean room, clean bathroom, AC and fantastic staff. Really good place for backpackers, placed in calm area. Breakfast was included, quite okay. Nice African decorations in and around the hotel.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 246martaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

I was only here one night, stopping over via flying in and getting bus to Kumasi, however what great experience: great staff, lovely dorm (4bed female), clean, delicious breakfast (toast, omelette and tea). Easy to find, and will definitely when, needing a base in Accra stay again. Very good value for money.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews