We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Accra
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We 3 spent nights for our wedding anniversary and the service was great. The food was very good and reception warm. I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the "No Smoking" wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danjuma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 28 May 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are delighted you had a memorable stay.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    193
    154
    43
    41
See reviews for
29
25
36
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed at The Golden Tulip hotel in Accra for a few days in November and even though the place was ok the first time I stayed there in 2008, some parts has actually improved.

The room was nicer and cleaner than I remember and the wireless internet worked perfectly. Breakfast was what can be expected. Fruit, a variety of cold cuts and juices and of course the mandatory omelette chef.

However, I was disappointed by the restaurant at all other hours. I had the snapper for dinner one evening and a ham and cheese sandwich as an evening snack another, and none of them was good. Plus I had to wait for an eternity for the fish, even though the restaurant was half empty. When it finally arrived, it was dry and not at all worth the waiting.

Another disappointment was the staff. I really think that nice and caring staff does a lot for the well-being of the guest. To me it’s more important than high standard. The staff at the Golden Tulip was not rude, but neither especially nice. The only, really nice person I met was a man who seemed to be responsible for customer care (convenient uh?). I think his name was Isac. He was very nice to me and made me feel very well taken care of.

I will stay at the Golden Tulip again, but I really wish the management would send the staff to a customer care course before I do. And preferably do something about the menu as well.

Room Tip: The bungalows at the far end of the pool area was not nice. Very spacious though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Kiasi_Gani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 28 May 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the positive comments and we assure you that the areas of concern have been adequately dealt with.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Had visited Golden Tulip during my business trip to Ghana

The staff is friendly, food is good. Had issues wherein I was getting some other room calls, it took the management 3 days to rectify it. apart from this it is an ideal place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the basement wing rooms (1st floor) which have a great garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hetal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 28 May 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your positive comments.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 weeks whilst waiting for a job to start . Rooms are spacious and clean , as are the bathrooms , with a walk in shower as opposed to an over bath version .
Staff clean the rooms every day and towels are changed daily .

The breakfast is good , as are the lunch and dinner buffets , with a menu also available offeing burgers , pizza etc . Music is on every night in the rstaurant area , but it is very much laid back '' lounge '' music so no worries on decibel levels !!!

Pool area is lovely , pool staff very good and there are plentyl loungers for sunbathing . A selection of bands play at the pool area in the evening , usually between 18:30 and 22:00 , again a very laid back collection of local music and Bob Marley's greatest hits !!!

All in all , a very pleasant stay . Only real bugbear was the cost of the internet access , pretty expensive although you do receive 15 hrs free on arrival .

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side from the pool are quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williebafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 28 May 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your positive comments, which encourages us to do more to delight our guests.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed at the Golden Tulip for three nights during a business visit to Accra. The carpet in my room was soiled. The walls had stains that could have easily been cleaned up. Even allowing for the damp climate, the mildew in the bathroom was excessive. Breakfasts in the restaurant were acceptable, but food from the al a carte menu was of variable quality. With a couple of exceptions, the staff in the restaurant seemed uncaring. It took the kitchen 45 minutes to produce a poor quality grilled cheese sandwich. On the positive side, the taxi service that operates from the hotel is efficient and easy to deal with. The airport shuttle works fine. I will stay at another hotel on my next visit to Accra.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, 28 May 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We regret we were unable to meet your expectations. The concerns you raised have since been addressed.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Accra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
5.8 km away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
600 reviews
5.0 km away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
2.9 km away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
5.5 km away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
1.1 km away
Tang Palace Hotel
Tang Palace Hotel
#4 of 92 in Accra
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Property: Golden Tulip Accra
Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,054 - ₹ 93,884
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing