We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Proper 5 Star Hotel in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Proper 5 Star Hotel in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I stayed at the Movenpick for 3 nights and loved every one of them. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world (European, Australian and Asian 5 star hotels), and have to say that the Movenpick Accra is up to standard. I have to comment on the excellent service - the best I've had anywhere in Africa - staff genuinely take their jobs seriously and conduct themselves professionally. The decor is modern classic and beautifully finished. I had a superior room which had a full size en-suit plus king bed. Bed and pillows heavenly, view over the massive pool and gardens was lovely. The most remarkable feature of this hotel is that it is located right in the middle of the city but it feels like you are at a resort away from it all. I took a swim in that incredible pool - it was clean, not overly chlorinated and had both shallow water wading pool which would be excellent for toddlers and then down to the deep end. The food was fantastic for all meals - breakfast buffet was comprehensive, lunch buffet also comprehensive and I must mention they have the best fresh sushi / california roll / asian section. Dinner was also well worth it - an a la carte menu with a wide range of food to suit all tastes (steak, asian, West African, Italian, etc). I also went to the spa and had the best massage I've had in a while - a proper Thai hot oil massage with proper Thai massage therapists. Fantastic. I would also recommend the gym - full of brand new Life Fitness equipment (elliptical trainers, treadmills, weights (fixed and free)).

On a final note, I also used the hotel shuttle. If you are concerned about road safety and whether this service would be up to standard, rest assured that the hotel used a brand new Mercedes Minivan which had 3 point seat belts (i.e.: not just lap belts) and the driver drove very well. I would not hesitate to recommend using the airport shuttle service.

I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDCTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    339
    105
    35
    14
See reviews for
53
49
46
661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three days on a business visit and I was very satisfied. I found that the rooms, albeit new and clean, smelt damp but this could be sue to the climate. The breakfast was good, the staff was friendly and helpful and the gym had five treadmills amongs it's other equipment.
The tv channels were mainly English which helps.
I jogged each morning at 6h00 although Accra is largely a poor city and one has to be prepared for some interesting sights. Goats on the road in a city is unusual indeed.
I visited Citizen Kofi for a drink and a light lunch and would highly recommend this place which is in the Osu area. I also visited Ryans Irish Pub but found it to be rather plain and cramped.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bankeronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel doesn't seem to fit terribly well into Accra, which is a chaotic, charismatic and run -down city, everything the Movenpick is not. From the enormous pool and well equipped gym to the executive lounge with freee snacks and drinks (if you're in that class of room), the place exudes class and luxury.

Room Tip: If you can, go for the Executive Club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornwallS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

everything was fantastic. This hotel oozes class, a lot of the decor i wanted to take home with me. The cocktail bar can get quite lively which is a nice change from the usual stagnant evening scene in accra hotels. I would struggle to complain about anything but if I had to it would be the floors can be quite slippery in the rooms especially when walking with wet feet. Apart from that it scores 10/10

Room Tip: choose the 5th or 6th floors overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank lovefinecuisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

very welcoming and hard working staff, one of the best cuisines out there...im sure when you visit sankofa restaurant you'll leave with a smile on your face

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
7.2 km away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 95 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.5 km away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
6.5 km away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#4 of 95 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
The African Regent Hotel
6.7 km away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
5.0 km away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#12 of 95 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra

Property: Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Address: PMB CT 343, Cantonments Ridge, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Accra
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,087 - ₹ 29,639
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra is set in an urban oasis within the city centre/business district. This contemporary 5 * hotel is only 7km from the airport and provides your home away from home whilst in Accra with free Wifi and complimentary airport shuttle. The Accra Financial Centre, World Trade Centre, International Conference Centre and Government Ministries are all close by. The modern rooms and suites feature stunning garden or city views with complimentary coffee/tea facilities, 46” screen TVs, laptop sized safe and in room ironing facilities. Throughout the hotel guests can enjoy our African art collection showcasing over 2500 pieces of original art. For a little extra, guests can choose the Executive Club Floor with private check-in/out, boardroom and an exclusive lounge with balcony. Enjoy complimentary evening canapes with selected wines and champagne in an exclusive “home away from home” atmosphere whilst looking over the lavish gardens. A variety of dining options are available from light snacks, International buffets and A la Carte. Conference facilities on the ground floor feature a 736sqm ballroom with 5 adjacent meeting rooms, business centre and large pre-function area, ideal for organising your business or social events. You can work out at the state of the art gymnasium, or have a bracing dip in Accra’s largest outdoor swimming pool. The Emporium attached to the hotel, has a variety of shops and businesses including, a bank and cash machine, chemist, mobile phone/computer shop and a hair and beauty salon. “We speak your language.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing