We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
1
12
23
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
12
23
9
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here twice coming in and out of Addis. There are a few nice rooms to your left if you are facing reception, with windows looking into the courtyard. The rest are pretty dark and not nice. If you're already used to budget accomodations in Ethiopia, it's fine. There was water (not always the case in Ethiopia) and hot water at that. The internet was slow, but it par for the course in Ethioipia. The outdoor patio/hang out area is nice. It was better than what I saw for a comparable price at the Taitu. But I must say that the third time I passed through Addis, I stayed at the Wutmo across the street and thought that as a whole the room was nicer at the Wutmo. The neighborhood where these three budget hotels are is kind of seedy and you will be harassed by people wanting to be your "friend". But I was a woman traveling alone and it was fine. Conveniently located next to sites, ATMs, and the Ethiopian Airlines office.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelon110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I'll copy an email I sent them a couple of days ago:

"What is wrong with you [TripAdvisor would not accept this kind of profanity]?! Overcharging a poor first-time visitor to Ethiopia who has been stuck for three hours at the airport, and then, at 6 in the morning, you give her the worst room you have?! And THEN you argue with her to get double the price? It should have been for free, you useless [profanity], but I guess you can't understand that. I'm extremely disappointed in your treatment of my wife. I hope to receive an answer, an apology and an offer of compensation very soon. And yeah, after the apology and compensation I hope you go bankrupt."

Needless to say, she moved out the following morning (after a couple of hours of no sleep). Filthy dirty rooms, blood on the walls, stains on the sheets and mattress, a big dent in the mattress also, cockroaches and insects everywhere, a running toilet, no windows, extremely rude and unwelcoming staff, noisy. That pretty much sums it up. Avoid at all cost.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Anywhere.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 336Lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Baro Pension is in 5 minutes walking distance from the Piazza.
Other than that, there is no reason to stay in this place.
Stingy toilets and bathrooms, very noisy during the night and very busy with hookers and locals.
Kitchen was lower than average.

The manager was a crook that was trying to skip issuing a receipt. Because they let us park our car and so camp in a way (we used to sleep in a roof top tent), he claimed that there was no account for camping and so he could not issue a formal receipt. It was then when he started "issuing" fake receipts on a A4 piece of paper instead of normal receipt. At the end, he realized that he could not fool us and he printed a normal receipt being very very upset!

Definitely not recommended unless you are on a a budget trip

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The rooms and facilities, while not particularly pretty, were clean and functional and isolated enough from the busy streets of Addis that it was possible to get a decent sleep. Food and drinks were available on site for reasonable prices and the staff were friendly and helpful. Located in the Piazza area, it was conveniently close to all the important things; restaurants, shops, public transport and a bank. However, where this place really stands out is the steady stream of travelers and visitors that pass through (or stick around); the reputation of the hotel ensures that there are always people to meet and chat with on the pattio.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hotel is real nice. Good value. Has a central location. Good security.Would like to know low price hospitals in the area. I have heard of a Zari Hospital in Addis Ababa, is it close to Piazza? Low price?.
Thanks in advance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrpiazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews