We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base in Addis, but not much more”
Review of Baro Hotel

Baro Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baro Hotel
Ranked #88 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a decent hotel if you've just arrived in Addis on a shoestring in a very lively location in the Piazza area of town. The staff are very friendly and there's a nice terrace area which is a good place to chat to other travellers. Staff are also very good at helping you get orientated and giving directions, and they even booked me a very reasonably-priced taxi to the airport in the middle of the night. If you're flying at night and don't want to pay for a room, staff are also very happy to safely store your bags and let you hang out on the terrace (maybe just buy a beer or 2 to show your appreciation). When there's power, there's a pretty decent Wifi connection (I even managed to use Skype in my room).

The rooms are clean but very small and in many cases windowless. There are hot showers, but don't expect much (a dribble of water that fluctuates between lukewarm and scorching hot). Also, the hotel is very noisy. The walls are clearly paper thin and you can hear exactly what is being said in neighbouring rooms. Also, the hotel backs onto a couple of bars and whilst I stayed there there was very loud music playing right next door until after midnight every night.

So in conclusion, don't expect a great night's sleep. However, I do recommend this as a first port of call in Addis and a great place to meet fellow travellers. If you want to head out to some fun bars and get decent local food, you're also in a prime location, and there's also a Dashen Bank with an ATM a stone's throw away.

Room Tip: Ask to see some rooms first, as those to the right of reception are tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 189TomU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here twice coming in and out of Addis. There are a few nice rooms to your left if you are facing reception, with windows looking into the courtyard. The rest are pretty dark and not nice. If you're already used to budget accomodations in Ethiopia, it's fine. There was water (not always the case in Ethiopia) and hot water at that. The internet was slow, but it par for the course in Ethioipia. The outdoor patio/hang out area is nice. It was better than what I saw for a comparable price at the Taitu. But I must say that the third time I passed through Addis, I stayed at the Wutmo across the street and thought that as a whole the room was nicer at the Wutmo. The neighborhood where these three budget hotels are is kind of seedy and you will be harassed by people wanting to be your "friend". But I was a woman traveling alone and it was fine. Conveniently located next to sites, ATMs, and the Ethiopian Airlines office.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelon110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I'll copy an email I sent them a couple of days ago:

"What is wrong with you [TripAdvisor would not accept this kind of profanity]?! Overcharging a poor first-time visitor to Ethiopia who has been stuck for three hours at the airport, and then, at 6 in the morning, you give her the worst room you have?! And THEN you argue with her to get double the price? It should have been for free, you useless [profanity], but I guess you can't understand that. I'm extremely disappointed in your treatment of my wife. I hope to receive an answer, an apology and an offer of compensation very soon. And yeah, after the apology and compensation I hope you go bankrupt."

Needless to say, she moved out the following morning (after a couple of hours of no sleep). Filthy dirty rooms, blood on the walls, stains on the sheets and mattress, a big dent in the mattress also, cockroaches and insects everywhere, a running toilet, no windows, extremely rude and unwelcoming staff, noisy. That pretty much sums it up. Avoid at all cost.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 336Lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Baro Pension is in 5 minutes walking distance from the Piazza.
Other than that, there is no reason to stay in this place.
Stingy toilets and bathrooms, very noisy during the night and very busy with hookers and locals.
Kitchen was lower than average.

The manager was a crook that was trying to skip issuing a receipt. Because they let us park our car and so camp in a way (we used to sleep in a roof top tent), he claimed that there was no account for camping and so he could not issue a formal receipt. It was then when he started "issuing" fake receipts on a A4 piece of paper instead of normal receipt. At the end, he realized that he could not fool us and he printed a normal receipt being very very upset!

Definitely not recommended unless you are on a a budget trip

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The rooms and facilities, while not particularly pretty, were clean and functional and isolated enough from the busy streets of Addis that it was possible to get a decent sleep. Food and drinks were available on site for reasonable prices and the staff were friendly and helpful. Located in the Piazza area, it was conveniently close to all the important things; restaurants, shops, public transport and a bank. However, where this place really stands out is the steady stream of travelers and visitors that pass through (or stick around); the reputation of the hotel ensures that there are always people to meet and chat with on the pattio.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
5.9 km away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 122 in Addis Ababa
139 reviews
0.0 km away
Weygoss Guest House
Weygoss Guest House
#54 of 122 in Addis Ababa
54 reviews
1.2 km away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#21 of 122 in Addis Ababa
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Harmony Hotel
Harmony Hotel
#27 of 122 in Addis Ababa
312 reviews
5.1 km away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 122 in Addis Ababa
234 reviews
1.9 km away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 122 in Addis Ababa
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baro Hotel

Address: The Piazza, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: ₹ 391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Baro Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing