We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
1
10
4
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
10
4
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We've stayed in this hotel many times and the staff are generally very helpful. The gym is a real bonus with excellent facilities for Ethiopia and very helpful assistants. Meals and service are generally very good, but transport to and from the airport is unreliable. Paying by debit or credit card was often difficult due to system failure. Internet was usually slow and sometimes impossible (but there are good internet cafes close by).
You can get a great view of the city from the roof!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our family of five stayed at the Axum not once, but twice, during our extended travels through Ethiopia. We were absolutely delighted by both the hotel and the way in which the staff extended themselves to be helpful. This is truly an international hotel and a real mix of ferengis and locals.
There is a wood paneled, clubby bar in the lobby where guests foregather to have a beer and watch soccer matches, the BBC or Ethiopian music videos. A small kiosk stocks shampoo, toothpaste and sundries, including candy displayed just a child's eye level. While simple, our rooms were always clean ( we saw no sign of bugs as per a previous review). We had hot water and about 10 television channels with good reception. Our rooms always included the breakfast buffet and a free shuttle to the airport ( leaving at 4:30 in the morning the first time) So handy and simple in a city where logistics can be challenging and negotiations endless. The restaurant is only fair, but right down the street there are other choices, including the excellent Sichuan Restaurant on the 6th floor of the WAF building on Haile Gebbreselassie Street ( that is the address printed on the card, phone # 251 0911 603926) Hang a right whilst leaving the Axum and it is a five minute walk, just keep looking up as it's on the 6th floor, although their sign is red neon.

No it's not the Sheraton- but you could stay here for a week for the price of a Sheraton night. Easily our favorite hotel in Addis and we have tried a few. An added plus is that it's really close to the airport, but a short taxi ride from the center of town.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are on a biggish street, but the dog barking seems ubiquitous in Addis. If you are a sensitive sleeper, just travel with earplugs.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EHFWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Have stayed in this hotel 4 times in past year. Good location, decent price, buffet breakfast, exceptionally helpful staff, locals bar, free internet - what more do you need.Rooms at the front - road side - can be a bit noisy if you need a lie-in but it does'nt worry me - and plenty of coffee shops in the neighbourhood

Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank Pilgrimprogress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed at Axum Hotel in June.

Negatives:

1) The place is infested! There are insects everywhere)! Don't even think about turning the lights out or you have just sent an open invitation. To minimize the bugs you have to leave all the lights on constantly and spray repellant everywhere. Even then you won't get a comfortable night’s sleep, because you will have to keep an eye out for what might be crawling on you. I have stayed at many places in Ethiopia and have seen the occasional bug or insect, but this is the first place I have been where the infestation makes the place unlivable.

2) The rooms themselves were very plain, somewhat dirty, and unimpressive; paint peeling, dirt in corners and bathtub, ugly view from windows, not all light switches working.

3) Reservation was not honored when I first arrived at the Hotel (a very serious matter as I was coming from overseas). They did offer us a different room, but it was tiny compared to the suite I had reserved (and included all the issues I mentioned previously).

4) After staying in the room you will not feel comfortable eating at the in-hotel restaurant (as the kitchen might be infested too).

5) Unreliable internet (though to be fair this is an issue everywhere).

Positives:

1) There is a nice Souvenir Shop in the hotel

2) Good Bar in the reception area (For drinks only! I would not order food for the infestation reasons mentioned above).

3) There is a Men’s Barber in the Hotel

4) Fitness room in the Hotel with enough equipment to get the job done.

5) Refridgerator in the room.

The most disappointing thing about the Hotel was how atrocious the rooms are; the outside of the Hotel and the walkways inside are beautiful. I hope that the Hotel management read this review and begin to regularly use an insecticide in the hotel, institute a higher standard of cleaning for their rooms, honor their overseas reservations, and review their prices to insure they are providing value for the prices posted.

Personally, I will never stay here again and cannot at this time recommend that anyone else stay here either.

Room Tip: Find a room at a different hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kokeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Recently I spent 8 days in AXUM hotel Addis Ababa. Twin bedded room for $71 per night is fair price. Customer service is OK, people very polite, rooms very clean, the food and the service in restaurant were excelent.
I only complain about access to internet. Wireless from the room is very poor (very often disconnected) and computers behind reception desk have "fake" MS windows!!
Hotel is not far from the airport and near the hotel are many shops, restaurants, farmacies.
I recomend this hotel for future visitors to Addis Ababa.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews