We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff- good location”
Review of Axum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Axum Hotel
Ranked #150 of 296 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2013

this was a clean and very comfortable place to stay- about 10 minutes from the airport and central to most amenities. The staff went out of their way to make me comfortable- I arrived from the airport at 8 am and they rushed to get a room ready for me. Once there, I had trouble with the internet connection and again then went above and beyond to try and accommodate me, going as far as letting me use a personal computer to check for some important emails. I would highly recommend this hotel based on the extremely attentive staff.

Room Tip: top floor is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

We've stayed in this hotel many times and the staff are generally very helpful. The gym is a real bonus with excellent facilities for Ethiopia and very helpful assistants. Meals and service are generally very good, but transport to and from the airport is unreliable. Paying by debit or credit card was often difficult due to system failure. Internet was usually slow and sometimes impossible (but there are good internet cafes close by).
You can get a great view of the city from the roof!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our family of five stayed at the Axum not once, but twice, during our extended travels through Ethiopia. We were absolutely delighted by both the hotel and the way in which the staff extended themselves to be helpful. This is truly an international hotel and a real mix of ferengis and locals.
There is a wood paneled, clubby bar in the lobby where guests foregather to have a beer and watch soccer matches, the BBC or Ethiopian music videos. A small kiosk stocks shampoo, toothpaste and sundries, including candy displayed just a child's eye level. While simple, our rooms were always clean ( we saw no sign of bugs as per a previous review). We had hot water and about 10 television channels with good reception. Our rooms always included the breakfast buffet and a free shuttle to the airport ( leaving at 4:30 in the morning the first time) So handy and simple in a city where logistics can be challenging and negotiations endless. The restaurant is only fair, but right down the street there are other choices, including the excellent Sichuan Restaurant on the 6th floor of the WAF building on Haile Gebbreselassie Street ( that is the address printed on the card, phone # 251 0911 603926) Hang a right whilst leaving the Axum and it is a five minute walk, just keep looking up as it's on the 6th floor, although their sign is red neon.

No it's not the Sheraton- but you could stay here for a week for the price of a Sheraton night. Easily our favorite hotel in Addis and we have tried a few. An added plus is that it's really close to the airport, but a short taxi ride from the center of town.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are on a biggish street, but the dog barking seems ubiquitous in Addis. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EHFWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Have stayed in this hotel 4 times in past year. Good location, decent price, buffet breakfast, exceptionally helpful staff, locals bar, free internet - what more do you need.Rooms at the front - road side - can be a bit noisy if you need a lie-in but it does'nt worry me - and plenty of coffee shops in the neighbourhood

Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank Pilgrimprogress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed at Axum Hotel in June.


Negatives:

1) The place is infested! There are insects everywhere)! Don't even think about turning the lights out or you have just sent an open invitation. To minimize the bugs you have to leave all the lights on constantly and spray repellant everywhere. Even then you won't get a comfortable night’s sleep, because you will have to keep an eye out for what might be crawling on you. I have stayed at many places in Ethiopia and have seen the occasional bug or insect, but this is the first place I have been where the infestation makes the place unlivable.

2) The rooms themselves were very plain, somewhat dirty, and unimpressive; paint peeling, dirt in corners and bathtub, ugly view from windows, not all light switches working.

3) Reservation was not honored when I first arrived at the Hotel (a very serious matter as I was coming from overseas). They did offer us a different room, but it was tiny compared to the suite I had reserved (and included all the issues I mentioned previously).

4) After staying in the room you will not feel comfortable eating at the in-hotel restaurant (as the kitchen might be infested too).

5) Unreliable internet (though to be fair this is an issue everywhere).


Positives:

1) There is a nice Souvenir Shop in the hotel

2) Good Bar in the reception area (For drinks only! I would not order food for the infestation reasons mentioned above).

3) There is a Men’s Barber in the Hotel

4) Fitness room in the Hotel with enough equipment to get the job done.

5) Refridgerator in the room.


The most disappointing thing about the Hotel was how atrocious the rooms are; the outside of the Hotel and the walkways inside are beautiful. I hope that the Hotel management read this review and begin to regularly use an insecticide in the hotel, institute a higher standard of cleaning for their rooms, honor their overseas reservations, and review their prices to insure they are providing value for the prices posted.


Personally, I will never stay here again and cannot at this time recommend that anyone else stay here either.

Room Tip: Find a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kokeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
5.8 km away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#15 of 127 in Addis Ababa
143 reviews
4 km away
Edna Addis Hotel
Edna Addis Hotel
#44 of 127 in Addis Ababa
47 reviews
2.4 km away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 127 in Addis Ababa
821 reviews
4.8 km away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#1 of 127 in Addis Ababa
453 reviews
6.3 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 127 in Addis Ababa
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axum Hotel

Address: Haile Gebreselassie Road, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range: ₹ 4,407 - ₹ 4,537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Axum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing