We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Review Highlights
I will travel with Taitu again!!!

I contacted Taitu Tour because I read very good opinions on the Internet. They were right, Ethiopia... read more

Reviewed 12 January 2024
Mc A
Fantastic Company

Taitu tours is an expert company in tourism. My company has been working with them for years to... read more

Reviewed 29 March 2023
sivac2023
via mobile
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
38
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
38
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews simien mountains route nature gondar company driver country ethiopia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2019

My 12 days trip was booked with Taitu. At the beggining we tried to asses the diferent companies that offered a service for Etiopia. After receiving a few offers, Taitu was the most competitive one, offering a 10 days tours with the main things we wanted to visit. The price was okay, specially for the short time we had to book everything, and Habtamu, the owner of Taitu Tours made it really smooth in terms of booking, paying and reception.

From my point of view we really had a nice trip, all the things that were arranged were done and at the same time new ones were also added while we were on our trip. This was mainly due to the driver we had: his name is Daniel. Please take my words as an advice: if you go to Ethiopia with Taitu, ask for Daniel as your driver. He is not just an amazing and caring driver but an awesome human being, full of charm, joy and one of the nicest person I have met in my life. Thanks to him, the tour was not only great but fabulous... he really helped us and guided us in the best way he could, puting us more in deep with the culture. He took care of us every single minute from the moment we started the tour up until we left!!! always making sure that we were good :)

From the "bad side" I don't have much to say, the trip was as we expected. is true though, that I would say the some accomodation were not really 3+ star hotels as Habtamu said, so here it goes a bit of a constructive critique: make sure the hotels are good ones, because for a very cheap price you can get very very good accomodations. We had sometimes the feeling that Habtamu didn't want to expend much on the accomodation and from my point of view I think that after a long day, being able to have dinner and breakfast in a good hotel with a good matress, electricity, hot water is always welcome.

To sum it up, Taitu is a good company, trustful, and if you decide to go with them, ask for Daniel as a driver if he is available :D

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Eduardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2019

Our Tour: Addis - Dahir Bar (Lake Tana, blue Nile-Waterfalls) - Gondar - Simien Mountains - Axum - Gheralta (Wukro) - Mekelle -Lalibella - Addis

Only two days ago we returned back to Vienna from a two-weeks trip through the historical North of Ethiopia. While searching for a suitable local tour operator, we became aware of Taitu Travel Agency. Being back now, we feel gratefully obliged to confirm all the great comments we have read about Taitu. Even more, the support of Mr. Habtamu (Managing Director of the agency) and our driver and guide (Teddi) exceeded all our expectations. From the very beginning i.e. planning of our tour, and from the first day until our departure, their care and service was not only professional, but also managed with full heart, which inspired us a lot. We can only express our thanks for all these kind experiences and to wish the agency continued good luck and success.

Ethiopia is a fascinating, beautiful and interesting country. Its millennia-old history, its magnificent landscape, the living religions and its friendly people have deeply impressed us and made this trip unforgettable for us. Also our initial fears because of the rainy season could quickly be vanished. The rain was limited and the NATURE is especially beautiful at this time !!! We really can recommend this trip to everyone - even during the rainy season!!! - and to choose TAITU, to whom we owe the fact that this trip became so special for us.

With big thanks and blessings: Elisabeth and Judith (Vienna/Austria)

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank jokaceva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2019

The amazing trip was to Historical North and South of Ethiopia according a planning done by Taitu Tour Travel of Addis Ababa.
Everything was fine from first day to last day. Drivers car, local guides, times, visits, some hotels better, others hotels? but the most important feature for me is Staff Taitu are helpful, kindly , polite, ....
I expected to be able a good trip but reality were better.
I'm thankful to everybody from Staff Taitu Tour ;especially to Skinder Driver..

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank pepmitja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2019

Taitu Tour and Travel organised two separate trips for us - one to Lalibela over Ethiopian Christmas celebrations and a separate trip touring Gondar, the Simien Mountains and Axum. Our friendly guide in Lalibela gave us the opportunity to follow both morning and evening celebrations at the famous rock churches where pilgrims were gathered. We learnt a lot about the various rock churches and even though the churches were very crowded at this time of year, it was a beautiful experience witnessing the religious ceremonies.

The highlight of our second tour up north was the Simien Mountains where we had both a guide from Taitu tours as well as a national park ranger with us. The information given about local wildlife and nature was incredibly detailed and fascinating. We were able to do a two-hour hike which was a great way to see the beautiful scenery. There were some changes to our accommodation just before our travel dates but we were happy with the new accommodation. I would definitely recommend spending as much time as possible in the Simien Mountains as now we had only planned for one day there. The churches and historical buildings in Gondar were also beautiful and worth seeing.

Axum was also very interesting historically and our guide was very knowledgeable on local history and archaeology. On our last night we happened to see various wedding parties celebrating in the streets which was a great way to end our trip.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank VenlaM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2019

A special family holiday in Ethiopia with our two adult sons ( 22 and 27).Began with visit to Bahir Dah. Lake Tana trip where we saw hippos, flocks of Pelicans and Very interesting Monasteries.
Then the Timket Festival ( celebration of the Epiphany in the Coptic Christian religion)
This was over three days two of which we experienced in Bahir Dah and the third in Gondor. It is a huge colourful procession with each Church in the city bringing its replica of the Arc of the Covenent to a central Park in the City where a large "swimming" pool acts as the baptismal font. After the Baptism of the faithful done in spectacular style in Bahir Dah with a Fire hose, the Arc is accompanied back to the church of origin, the next day in an equally colourful parade with lots of groups singing and dancing along the way. A festival not to be missed. Then the churches and palaces of Gondar and more Timket. Then a six day trek in the spectacular Simeon mountains, where we camped for five nights. We saw a wonderful parade of Gelaba Baboons ( about 400) moving from their daytime feeding grounds to their secure evening refuge just after sunset. Also the Simeon Red Fox and the elusive Walia Ibex. Finally a visit to Lalibela where we visited the amazing rock hewn churches and finally to Aksum, "home" of the Arc of the Covenent and history dating back to ther 7th century BC and the legend of the Queen of Sheba.
A fantastic trip highly recommended.
Our Guide Asafa Alemu was outstanding, spoke very good English and was a delight to travel with. Accommodation was very good, specially in Lalibela, food was generally very good and the travel program was very well organised and proceeded without any hitches. I found Taitu Tours and Travel and their CEO Habtamu to be very professional and very considerate. A most memorable family holiday. Would be suitable for a family with teenage children, ( or older) couples with an adventurous spirit ( saw several camping in the Simeon Mountains National park who were over sixty as well as many younger travellers). Most visitors were from France, Germany or Italy.
This is a country that Australians and New Zealanders need to put at the top of their wish list!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Dashingdave_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews