We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$90
View deal
Priceline
$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/06/22
FindHotel
$80
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/06/22
Trip.com$102
ZenHotels.com$90
getaroom.com$104
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
64
75
21
9
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
64
75
21
9
14
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2019 via mobile

Recently stayed here for two nights. A/C very poor and room small. I would give this hotel 2-3 stars being generous. Stayed in Cape Verde before and don’t expect much but when advertising a 4 star hotel is expect better. No mini bar either. AVOID!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Cobra832016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

I gave high ratings only because of the service

The rooms were average for price charged

The showers had Low pressure and warm water took ages to arrive
The toilet door was heavy noisy and clunky
Housekeeping was spotty - we get 1 towel even though there’s 2 of us in the room and no refill of bath gel
Aircon was really hot even though we put at 18 degrees
Breakfast was the same for 3 days - mushrooms, baked beans, bacon etc

But the service was awesome
Friendly attentive and smiley all around
Rooftop pool was nice.
Good location next to the shopping mall and beach

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank beachbummer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2019

My wife and I are celebrating 21 years of marriage. We are at the VIP Praia Hotel. Just finished breakfast and we had a wonderful one. There is no way someone could be critical of it, unless it is a setup! Omelet is made upon request. All kind of fruits (from the local bananas to pear, apples, grapes, papaya, pineapple, peach, kiwi, more than a dozen kind of fruit!!!)
The gorgeous view is second to none, the place is CLEAN, neat and modern. Let me put this way: I got a room for a friend that does missionary work here, for one night. After a few hours at the hotel, his request: "if you let me stay another night here, I will stay doing my work for another 2 years!" The place for sure is awesome, the best gym in the city with an ocean view, great perks like 50% discount on the local cinema, name it, VIP Praia Hotel has to offer and that made my wife and I, as well our 3 teenager children, very happy to be here and celebrate this especial date for us!!! Looking forward to come back...

Room tip: Almost all rooms have an Ocean View. If is possible, ask for the top floors which can provide even a greater view.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TheNunesFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2019 via mobile

Absolutely terrible! If there was a way to give negative stars this place would earn them, where to start.....
- Breakfast starts at 0630, it is never ready and the selection is questionable. The food is old or from the night before and all of the liquids are warm. Use a refrigerator!
- Beds are more like box springs and not mattresses.
- Showers “open concept” is a huge fail! If someone opens the door to the room there you are showering in front of everyone.
- Customer service throughout the hotel is the worst I have ever experienced. Most just look at you and nod and tell you ok but nothing is ever taken care of and you have to follow up constantly until you get something close to what you ask for.
- Just because it’s close to “shopping” don’t take the bait! This means it’s much more loud at night. The small restaurants play music very loud until 10-11pm most nights so if you value quietness don’t come here.
Overall there is really no redeeming values to this hotel. Very much in the top 3 of most horrible hotels I have stayed in throughout my travels around the world.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2019

Right by the shopping center, if you feel like roaming around, taxis are to be found readily, but if you feel like visiting the other side of the island, you might rent a car.
I was there for work, and the Hotel VIP Praia was just what I needed.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank sorrellcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews