We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$85
View deal
Booking.com$93
Priceline$95
Hotels.com$85
Travelocity$85
Orbitz.com$85
getaroom.com$107
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
64
75
21
9
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
64
75
21
9
14
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2019

Staff are very friendly & helpful. Food ok, only had buffet breakfast not dinner. Rooms are very comfortable and quiet. Showers excellent! Plenty of choice in drinks at the bars. Nice quiet area inside if you want to go on the computer or just sit in the cool & relax.

Room tip: Seaview away from busy road
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kden2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 December 2018

Next to a shopping mall with a range of restaurants, supermarket and gym.
A modern comfortable, well-appointed hotel with an interesting design. Comfortable bed, good soundproofing, efficient air-conditioning, fridge, bathroom with amenities and tea making facilities (supply of amenities and tea a bit variable). Excellent and attentive staff. A good and varied breakfast to be had including fresh omelettes on demand. Rooftop with three levels including bar and two small swimming pool areas, with a view out to sea. Access to the gym (included) is via the shopping mall. Be aware there is a room tax locally.

Room tip: 1/3 of the rooms face towards the sea (ask for the 301, 401, 501, surcharge likely), the rest are onto the main road, but fine
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PajaritoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 November 2018

Nice hotel with helpful and english speaking staff. Breakfast is good and with delicious little dishes a nice start of the day. Rooms are clean and the beds sleep well. Bathroom is simple but good. My room was located on de west-side of the building and I had a semi-seaview with was okay for me. Since we where on a business trip, we also used the meeting rooms and there was nothing to complain about.On the roof of the hotel are pools, a jacuzzi and a bar located. Next to the hotel is a small shoppingmall.

Room tip: Seaview on the southside
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marty2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel VIP Praia is positioned as a business hotel, near the ocean. Unfortunately it does not earned it's four stars fairly. Around the hotel are walking lot's of stray dogs, kids beggars and of course havelly used taxi cars.

1.Room - reality
When we arrived in the room the towels were with black and yellow stains. The curtains were filthy. The toilet and shower "give us the opportunity to take the DNA of former guests ", because their hair and smell was present. Airco was on and off like a broken headlight, the lamp near the bed was busted and presented dust and a wierd yellow map like stain.

2.Swimming pool and Jacuzzi
The swimming pool is very well positioned with a beautiful view, but all around black dust and broken floor, present a real danger. The Jacuzzi had only one air buble working the other ones were in vacation.

3.Staff and management - behaviour
The staff smiles, but ignore to solve any probleem you demand solutions for. The "replacement managment " send us an email that really pissed me off, at the very first day that we arrived. In it is denying to transfer us with a shuttle from the airport to the hotel. We payed for the shuttle in our booking arrangement. Staff behaviour was unbelievably rude and in our first day the receptionist try to tell us about "profitable affairs" with taxi drivers that he and only he can arrange. We ask to speak with the management, but the manager was not available. We asked a second key for the room, it was not provided because the system just brooke down. They did manage to give it to us after 48h. Staff members from the reception speak poorly English. None of them speak French, nor Dutch, nor German only Portugesse. It is almost impossible to communicate with them.

4.Services
We want to make a coffe in the morning, but we were only provided with 2 tea bags. When we want to take water from the sink the teapot was
to big to fit under the water tap. The free mini bar was empty but we do recived a free bottle of water. The free bottle of water was placed at room temperature, 37 degree, it was not placed in the frige, to be cold enoufgh for drinking. Food and beverage at the swiming pool are low quality, but the waitress was nice and her English was at basic communication level.

5.General overview
I feel sorry for choosing this hotel to spend my vacation. The marketing team who promote the hotel did a greath job, persuing me to book. VIP Praia over promises but under delivers. If you are willing to spend your vacation in Praia Santiago DO NOT CHOOSE this place !!!! Our second honeymoon was ruined, do not ruin yours!!!! I feel really sorry for the amaizing potential this location has, but it is not well managed. Implementing strict cleaning rituals, hiring as receptionists English speaking staff, and listen carefully to your clients demands could make this location the most wanted vacation location. The location and the island itself is amaizing, combining perfectly the traditional life style with modern and fancy buildings.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 378magdalenac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

I used this hotel as my base hotel, while I traveled to other parts of the island and other islands. I choose this hotel, due to it being relatively close to the airport.

Rooftop pool probably the highlight and breakfast is a pretty good selection too.

I stayed in 3 different rooms 204 - best for WiFi and modern, 307 - worst room, no WiFi, old tv and less modern bathroom, 502 - best view, very modern dec, however no WiFi. None of the rooms have balconies.

Reception friendly and helpful. Gym is next door in the shopping centre.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Donrob41
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews