We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
166
191
75
36
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
191
75
36
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room lansmore hotel absolut bar rooftop bar hotel is modern business hotel third floor room service the central business district breakfast buffet business trip reception staff rooms are large airport shuttle standard room an upgrade wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Conveniently located in the new CBD, newish hotel. Rooms are average size, bathroom has no seperate shower. Free wifi, minibar only had two bottles of water. Aircon wasnt cold and stopped working on Auto mode, giving error messages. Asked for a quiet room, was given a room on the first floor above the square, so noisy.

Breakfast spread a little thin. Some things in room require fixing.

Date of stay: September 2017
1  Thank VonVintlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masa Square H, Manager at Masa Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

VonVintlo
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are pleased you found us "OK", and have taken note of your comments to ensure we are better than OK on your next visit.

Kind regards
Hayden C Bowl
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place. It is modern, central and the rooms look good. Heck, the WiFi isn't even bad. But ultimately it falls down on service. Staff are poorly trained and non-intuitive when needing to resolve issues. If you are used to good food, good service and smiling faces, this place is not for you. That is my experience after two multi-day stays. Rather book in at the (Grand Palm) Casino (Walmont)...and brave the peak-hour traffic. You won't be sorry.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Hylbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masa Square H, Manager at Masa Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hylbilly
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are truly sorry that your stay was not what you would want to expect. As you state, you really want to like this place, and we hope we can welcome you back in the future to showcase what we know we can do.

Renewed apologies
Hayden C Bowl
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Stayed for a week while my husband was in Gaborone for business.
Clean and friendly. Had everything you might need as a traveler.
It is NOT a fancy place. Think 3 star here in the states.
Good restaurants. great breakfast. Friendly staff.
HARD beds. Like seriously hard.
If you want quiet, request a room the DOES NOT look down into the square. The noise never stops. But, on the other side of the building all is quiet.
Haven't stayed in any other hotel in Gaborone so I don't know how to compare. But if your company sends you here, or you get a good deal you won't be disappointed.

Room tip: Rooms with city views are quieter. Stay clear of the square!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masa Square H, Manager at Masa Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Julia S
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we do hope to see you back in the future and will make sure you do not get a hard bed.

Kind regards
Hayden C Bowl
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I am not happy that you have your hotel and then have a'night club' on 3 nights of the week. I specifically asked for a room that was quiet as I was there for 11 nights. I was moved from room to room that was not appropriate. I would not recommend your property based on the noise of the music. It's location was great, food wonderful, service pretty good (not everything was to standard-room service sometimes slow and food sometimes cold), restaurants and shops around were good, parking great. The music noise is a problem. On the nights there wasn't music I slept well and loved the stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1971Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masa Square H, Manager at Masa Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

1971Sarah
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are pleased that you did enjoy (on the quiet nights) and will be certain to address the noise issue to ensure that our future guests are not disturbed; sincere apologies for us all.

Kind regards
Hayden C Bowl
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Masa Square Hotel is located in the main commercial district in the up and coming capital city Gaborone. The decor is industrial modern and foreign travelers will find it familiar and comfortable. There are large rooms and club rooms that will be very comfortable. I was assigned a smaller room which was just fine. There is free Wi-fi with reasonable speed and business travelers will not be disappointed.The check in process is fast. The rooms are clean and well appointed. There is a really nice breakfast included with the room at Don Carlos restaurant that is part of the hotel. The breakfast includes mostly continental fare and again, foreign travelers will find it very familiar. The service was excellent first 2 days of my stay but went downhill after that. It looked like the serving personnel didn't all get the same training and there was confusion with certain basic things, such as request for milk in separate containers. Most requests such as latte, extra coffee started to get longer and longer as days went by. There is always very good fresh fruits, brie and other cheeses, cereal, variety of fresh breads, omelettes made to order and lot of hot breakfast items too. During the second week I switched rooms as we had to check out for the weekend. This room could use some maintenance and updates such as new caulking around the tub. The people are very polite and helpful. I think the lapses in services can only be chalked up to gaps in training.
The best thing about the hotel is the location. Right at the premises you have a restaurant and a cafe. The cafe is excellent and also has a bar. I found the service really good here. There are also two other restaurants right by the property but not attached to the hotel. They server food that will be familiar to most foreign travelers. Attached to the hotel, there is also a small mall with different shops and pharmacy and ATMs too.
A new visitor to Gaborone will do very well to stay at the Masa Square as it provides all amenities they could find back home.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rachel_aswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masa Square H, Manager at Masa Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

rachel_aswin
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed and will certainly address the "lapses" to ensure they are not repeated, and train and retrain our teams.

Kind regards
Hayden C Bowl
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews