We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Getaway Hostel!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaborone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mokolodi Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Traveling across southern Africa, Gaborone was only meant to be a stop on my path. Now I can't leave! This hostel is in a quiet spot thriving with nature; walking in, you'll be greeted by a peacock, dog, pig, doves, cats, and many lovely animals. It's very clean, and very well-run. You can't skip this place!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank MikeAndHisBackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

This place is very special.
Tranquil and relaxed with lovely kind staff.
Young and old mix it and there are budgets to suit all.
The owner Hendrik has real vision and his hospitality is the best.
We loved our stay and would recommend it to any traveller .
A great base with a happy face!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Judd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

An excellent place, very peacefull, a clean and save place with friendly service, well situated between Gabarone and Otse, close to the nature reserve and its restaurand if one whish to use the services we, thoroughly enjoyed our time.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Scharl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Wow! Excellent stay from beginning to end. Didn't wanna leave! So peaceful and calm. Absolutely loved our stay. Recommend highly for relaxation and peaceful environment. Loved the animals all around. Felt at home.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank jdeabreu1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here two nights and was very happy with the choice. The place is located some 15-20km off the city centre but is a beatiful little oasis close to the Mokolodi park. The service was very friendly, truly personal and always with a smile. All employees seemed kind and genuine. The lodge provides different types of accommodation from tenta to chalets. All clean and fresh it seemed. The facilities are well maintained and clean, towels and soap readily available. No restaurant but a small bar/fridge seemed to be on site.

It is possible to stay here also without own transport even if it might cost a little to get a taxi to the city or airport. The staff is helpful. Also taking the local bus is possible but not as comfortable. The Mokolodi reserve is about 20min walking from the lodge and worth a visit for a game drive and a meal. Overall, this place made one feel genuinely welcome - great job!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Lasse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
12.4 km away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 17 in Gaborone
405 reviews
11.8 km away
No photo provided
Gabarone Hotel & Casino
#23 of 74 in Gaborone
9 reviews
12.8 km away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 17 in Gaborone
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Sunbeam Hotel
Sunbeam Hotel
#10 of 74 in Gaborone
17 reviews
12.4 km away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
0.0 km away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#5 of 17 in Gaborone
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokolodi Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokolodi Backpackers

Address: Plot 86 | Mokolodi II, Gaborone 0000, Botswana
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Gaborone
Price Range: ₹ 716 - ₹ 2,149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our backpackers’ accommodation consists of 2 private Chalets which sleeps up to 2 persons, 3 mixed Dorms that sleeps up to 4 people, 1 Executive Unit with a double bed and aircon, 2 Twin Chalets that sleep up to 2 people, Our Tent that sleeps up to 3 people and a Campsite. Three separate kitchens and bathrooms and showers with plenty of hot water. Surrounding activities include: Game drives in Mokolodi Game Reserve(1 km), bird watching, mountain biking and much more. Take pleasure in the hospitality of the Botswana people, infinite blue skies and sunsets to soothe the soul. Come as a stranger and leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mokolodi Backpackers Hotel Gaborone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing