We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 429
US$ 363
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$ 235
US$ 223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
US$ 274
US$ 182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
US$ 234
US$ 200
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
US$ 215
US$ 181
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Falls Backpackers(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
US$ 50
US$ 20
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 550
US$ 460
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 521/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 694
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Matetsi Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)
US$ 1,465
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,353)
Filter reviews
1,353 results
Traveller rating
805
470
69
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
805
470
69
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm restaurantnew wingra ikanewalking distancevictoria falls hotelpost officelovely hotelthe ground floorclosest hoteltourist policemist risingsunset cruiseminute walk to the fallselephant walkbottled waterthatched roofwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,008 - 1,013 of 1,353 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We would agree that the hotel is well run and a good base for a visit to the falls.
Unfortunately, the hotel is located next to the local Club. We were there on a Friday and Saturday night so come 10pm the sounds of the falls are replaced by the house music played by the Club until 3 am with the usual human party noise to accompany it.

The managemnt were sympathetic and are trying to deal with it. We would recommend you check whether the the Club is operating before confirming your booking.

For that reason alone unfortunately we could not recommend the lodge as we expect there would be quieter locations elsewhere.

We visited the Victoria Falls hotel for a drink with friends and that might be a better option depending on the neighbours!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RossLitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2010

Thank you very much for your feedback it is much appreciated. With regards to the late night noise, I would like to assure you that we are in communication with the management of the establishment and are confident that this issue will be resolved soonest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We have just returned from four weeks travelling through South Africa, Botswana, Namibia and finally Zimbabwe where we made Ilala Lodge our base in Victoria Falls. We had researched the Lodge on the Internet before leaving Australia and had high expectations on arrival. We were not disapointed. Check-in was very friendly and efficient with smiles everywhere from staff, particularly Peter and Thondo. Our room was clean, with decent size bathroom including bath, comfy bed and it overlooked delightful gardens where monkeys played most mornings. Ilala Lodge seemed to be central to everything, including the famous Falls, whose roar we could hear from our room, enticing us to get out there exploring, just as soon as we could. Breakfast on the terrace beside the gardens was a great way to start the day. A simple but tasty buffet did the trick for us and the cooked to order omelettes were hard to pass up too. We were out and about nearly every day and only had lunch once at Ilala - the burgers a sight to behold. The choice at dinner was an inside table or outside on the terrace affair, which we chose as the evenings were very tranquil. The a la carte menu was varied with some local offerings - the warthog a standout. Pre-dinner drinks at the bar with barman 'Lucky' mixing the cocktails was a delight. And the South African Sauvignon Blanc we enjoyed with our evening meals was very mooreish. We must mention Chenai in Guest Relations, who we found to be very helpful and she always enquired if evereything was to our satisfaction. During our stay at Ilala we did a guided walk of Victoria Falls plus a helicopter ride over the Falls, walked with lions (just do it, it's amazing), had an elephant ride, a sunset cruise on the Zambezi River, walked down to the bridge over the Zambezi River that connects Zimbabwe with Zambia (there's a bungy jump there) and explored the community where all the locals live. We found the township of Victoria Falls to be very safe and we walked around everywhere. For us, Ilala Lodge was a wonderful place to stay, with super friendly staff, elegant decor together with all the paintings and memorabilia from the David Livingstone era plus a great location. Our stay could perhaps be summed up by- 'it was hard to say goodbye'.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aussiewoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge Hotel in such great detail. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and am glad the management and staff was on hand to ensure that your needs were met. Looking forward to having you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

This is the third time I have stayed at Ilala Lodge and as always the staff, the room and the facilities delivered more than promised. The rooms are clean, very well appointed and superbly comfortable. The Lodge is close to everything one needs and the view from my room of the surrounding country side including the spray from the Falls themselves is hypnotic.

The staff go out of their way to be helpful and their assistance with the transport of a Shona sculpture I purchased from a local gallery was above and beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and really hope you will call again for a 4th time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Excellent stay at Ilala Lodge. Conveniently located in Vic Falls with view of waterfall itself. Very friendly and helpful staff - nothing was a problem. The rooms were very spacious with all mod cons (even insect repellent cream and sprays were supplied). A turn down service was provided at night. Bathrooms had large baths and seperate showers. The restaurant catered for all tastes whether it be a quick snack or a 3-course meal. The adjoining bar was conveniently located near the outdoor pool where sun lounges(with fresh towels) were available. If you need any day trips/activities booked (of which there are plenty), the reception staff will organise these and charge them to your room.

A must stay if visiting Victoria Falls!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevecraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge Hotel and I am pleased you enjoyed your experience in Victoria Falls and your stay with us. I hope you will call again on your next visit to Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed in Ilala Lodge, Zimbabwe after a trip to Zambia for a friends wedding. We got there and were greated with big smiles, it was very warming and I was glad that my partner got to experience the Zimbabwe hospitality I have always gone on about (being a Zimbabwean myself).

The rooms were clean and updated, the style of the hotel was colonial, what pretty much all of Vic Falls (Zim and Zambia) are all about. Our room opened out onto the communal gardens and you could see the spray of the falls - beautiful.

We had the pool to ourselves and the Zim side is not very busy at the moment which is very sad. The staff were helpful and the meals were great. We did not have internet as it was down, but we just wondered over to a close hotel and were able to use theres.

I would definatly recommend it, check when the season is on a high though as the amount of activities are limited when there are not many tourists. I would suggest doing a upper Zambezi boat tour, crocodile farm, guided tour around the falls (on Zim and Zambia side if you can), wonder the local markets (remember everyone has a price so haggle), and most of all do a helicopter flight of the angels (over the falls).

Go visit Africa, especially on the Zimbabwe side... they are wonderful people.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciciarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2010

Thank you very much for your review on Ilala Lodge Hotel and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I certainly hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews