We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,426)
Filter reviews
1,426 results
Traveller rating
856
488
73
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
856
488
73
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palm restaurant new wing ra ikane walking distance victoria falls hotel post office lovely hotel the ground floor tourist police closest hotel mist rising minute walk to the falls sunset cruise elephant walk our honeymoon wonderful stay helicopter ride
Filter
Updating list...
937 - 942 of 1,426 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I was most impressed with the layout and the facilities at Ilala. How exciting to see a family of warthogs grazing on the grass outside the room on the first morning of my African adventure. Loved the reception area with its selection of guns - hunting rifles, I assume - decorating the wall behind reception and the many old photographs of the area and its settlers on other walls. Staff were attentive at all times and service in the restaurant at breakfast and dinner was first class. The Lodge was a welcome refuge after battling touts on the streets badgering you to buy no longer usable Zimbabwe money or trying to persuade you to visit their shop or their uncle's shop or whatever. Thank goodness for the presence of Tourist Police who will escort visitors around and ensure they are not harassed by sellers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for the comments on ilala.
We greatly appreciate your reviews and trust that you enjoyed your stay with us in Victoria Falls.
We look forward to your return in the future.

Kind regards
Ilala Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Ilala lodge is the perfect place to stay near the Vic Falls. Everything is within walking distance: the falls, Vic Falls hotel, a liquor store, the bridge to Zambia, etc…
Room looked a bit tired but everything was very clean. We only missed chairs on our terrace but we found some chairs in the garden.
The outside breakfast/dining area is fantastic with a view of the spray cloud in the distance.
The quality of the food was OK.
You can book all kind of activities: we did a helicopter ride (a must do) and the Ra Ikane sundowner cruise which was excellent.
They accept Visa/Master card but don’t rely on it as the machine wasn’t working on check out so we had to pay cash.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belgiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for your response. We greatly appreciate your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time with us.
We hope you return again in future.

Kind regards,
Ilala Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just came back from our holiday and we stayed at the Ilala lodge, excellent food and service. Closed to the falls and the town center, the ilala lodge makes you feel safe and is a quiet place to rest after a long day of venturing at the sorrindings.

Room Tip: Is a small place so any room will be good!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LIVAMICHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for your response. We greatly appreciate your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time with us.
We hope you return again in future.

Kind regards,
Ilala Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This nice hotel is very close to the falls, actually walking distance. It was very nice, small number of rooms that made it quaint. The restaurant in the hotel was wonderful and the outdoor terrace where you can eat and see the mist from the falls was gorgeous. We really enjoyed our stay there. We also saw monkey's around that made us feel like part of the jungle!
Also within walking distance the Famous Victoria Falls hotel..several of our fellow tourist went there for high tea in the afternoon. We did not include that in our activities..between taking a helicopter ride over the falls (awesome) and Walking with the Lions...(really!) and walking over the 1905 bridge between Zimbabwe and Zambia, we were very busy!!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms you may have an adventure or see monkeys or wildlife out your door. Be sure to keep doors locked as the monkeys will come in looking for food and make a mess of your room and stuff!! The upper level rooms, I imagine have a view of the falls..it is nice you can hear the falls from our room at nice...very comforting!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MSCDynamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you for the comments on ilala.
We greatly appreciate your reviews and trust that you enjoyed your stay with us in Victoria Falls.
We look forward to your return in the future.

Kind regards
Ilala Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed here 3 nights in June. The bar/lounge/dining area/pool outside area are really lovely. Good view over to the mist and rainbow from the falls. Nicely landscaped. Very happy to have a room on the main level and not have to negotiate the stairs to the ground level rooms. Room was comfy, clean, well lit, enough room for 2 suitcases, nice balcony to the outside. Bathroom was large and clean except for the shower grout. Why can't hotels keep shower grout clean? Don't they know bleach gets rid of the black mold? AC worked but never could get room really cool, which you need with the warm duvets. Free PC in the lobby and purchased wi-fi elsewhere; $5 yielded 80 units. I did email for 3 days and did not use all of my units but others did a lot of websurfing and went through 80 units in less than a day. Nice breakfast buffet. We are not coffee/tea drinkers and wanted hot chocolate. They wanted to charge us for it but a conversation with the front desk arranged for no charge since we weren't drinking coffe/tea. Dinner service was very slow and the food was fair. One morning I ordered a soda but they could not get it because sodas are in the bar only and the bar was locked and no one had the key! They promised to deliver one to the room as soon as the bartender arrived with the key at 10:00, but it didn't happen.

Hotel is well positioned in town. It is a short walk to the falls and a bit longer to the gorge area. Easy walk to Vic Falls Hotel, and the casino Kingdom is across the street. The craft market is behind the hotel, and shops are just up the road. The banks are next door, though don't depend on them to have working ATMs. The three ATMs were either (1) not working at all or (2) working but can't give a receipt or (3) so old it won't work with the newer cards. Just be sure you have enough cash on hand and not depend on using the ATM!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback on Ilala Lodge.
We sincerely apologize for any discomfort you encountered during your stay; our management team are taking immediate corrective actions to rectify your concerns raised.
We are glad you had a nice stay and enjoyed your visit to The Victoria Falls and we hope you return to Ilala Lodge in the near future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Ilala Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews