We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,478)
Filter reviews
1,478 results
Traveller rating
894
501
74
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
894
501
74
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palm restaurant new wing ra ikane walking distance victoria falls hotel post office lovely hotel the ground floor closest hotel tourist police minute walk to the falls mist rising sunset cruise elephant walk deluxe room our honeymoon thatched roof
Filter
Updating list...
1,017 - 1,022 of 1,478 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Good:
1. Great location with a short walk to the falls.
2. Great service and friendly staff.
3. In the center of town with ATM's and booking companies nearby.
4. Rooms are good, but not great
5. Good value, although I thought Vic Falls hotel and Vic Falls Safari lodge were nicer overall.

The Bad:
1. Found the menu in the Palm limited. We ate at the Victoria Falls Hotel also and thought the food was better.
2. Although they claim to take AE, MC, V, they really only take 1 (I think it is Visa). You have to use your other cards at the bank next door. Case advance on my AE card at 19%? No thank you.
3. The air conditioner had an automatic timer on it and it kept turning off after 5 hours.

Overall I think this is a very good hotel, but the other two hotels have some advantages.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank negramontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you kindly for your imperative feedback.
We at Ilala Lodge continuously strive to meet and exceed guests expectations. Your comments are highly appreciated and l can assure you that all efforts have been made to rectify the concerns raised.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in January 2012. It is the nearest lodge to the falls. Good service and very adequate rooms. Would recommend to all. Watch out for the monkeys - they steal food!

Date of stay: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulloch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Your review of Ilala Lodge is much appreciated. On behalf of the management and staff here, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We travelled to Africa as a family and this was our first stay in Zimbabwe. We were greeted at the door wth ice cold drinks while our bags were taken to our rooms (if possible suggest you get an upstairs room for a better view of the "Smoke that Thunders"). We had adjoining rooms, our children (teenagers) were next door to us. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the Lodge itself is a very nice size, not too big. The food a good. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and from the dinner menu we could choose meals such as Ostrich, Wartog and Kudu. The staff were very helpful and friendly without being in your face. The sunrises and sunsets overlooking the falls are magnificent and worth getting up early for. The pool area is very nice and refreshing after being out in the hot sun. You can walk everywhere during the day, to the Falls, into town but suggest that you do not wander around at night. The local people will approach you selling their wares on the way to the falls, this is how they make their living, but it can be very annoying having them follow you. One guy followed us all the way down, waited, then followed us back (selling hard the whole way) and waited outside for 2hrs. Maybe it pays to be firm with them without being rude. The falls are a short walk away and there are plenty of wild life along the way to see, Baboons, Warthog, Impala. Entry to the falls itself is expensive when you are entering as a family. It costs $30US per person, so for us it was $120US just to go past the gate. It is, of course, worth it, but be prepared and make sure you have enough cash. There is wifi access in the rooms for a small fee. We did the Lion Walk and the River Cruise while we were there and the bus picked us up from out the front and dropped us off.

Room tip: aim for an upper floor room they have a better view and watch out for monkeys when you are eating, they are thieves.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you very much for the considerable and thoughtful comments.We appreciate it .We love receiving comments from our guests.We look forward to your return and meeting you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

What a fantastic holiday - 3rd time to the Magical Victoria Falls, but 1st time staying at the fantastic Ilala Lodge! Kelly, Blessed, Winnie and the rest of the team - all so friendly, efficient and committed to ensuring a pleasant stay! The hotel is the closest to the Falls, about a 5 minute walk. You can hear The Falls and see the mist from the balcony!
White Water Rafting by Shockwave was probably one of the most incredible experiences!
Don't forget to visit The Devil's Pool from the Zambian side - sitting in a rock pool literally a few metres from the edge of The Falls was beyond extraordinary!
Highly recommended, loved every minute of the trip! Thank you Ilala Lodge, thanks to Zim!

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for highly recommending the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the service of our staff members.We are looking forward to seeing you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed for two nights just before Christmas 2011, flying in from Jo'burg to Victoria Falls. The pre-booked transfer was waiting for us after the lengthy passport/visa formalities. The ice-cold bottle of water was most welcome! An iced tea was part of the hotel check-in - again most welcome. The check-in staff couldn't have been more friendly and this was reflected in all of the staff we met, in the bar, restaurant and hotel generally.

Our room was clean and perfectly comfortable with views over the gardens towards the falls - it seems that all of the accommodation faces in this direction, as does the restaurant. In the evening you can hear the roar of the falls; during the day there is also the noise from the traffic on the main road - occasional heavy lorries going down to the bridge to cross into Zambia.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and can thoroughly recommend it. Evening dinner on the restaurant terrace was something special.

In terms of location, it's just a short walk to the entrance to the Victoria Falls park gates. Leaving the hotel to go to the falls, we met a local member of the official 'Tourist Police', identified by their uniform. He escorted us down to the gates, as did another on the way back. Although it was probably unnecessary, it did provide reassurance.

The only difficulty we experienced was in terms of money. US dollars (notes only, no coins) was the de facto currency with debit and credit cards not to be relied on completely. We were able to use a Visa debit card in the hotel and local ATMs, although a couple of times we held our breath as the transaction was being processed. It also makes tipping a problem as $1 is the smallest unit of currency - in the toilets at the airport for example.

Overall however we had a wonderful stay next to one of the wonders of the world.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrBob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the service of our staff members.We look forward to your return and seeing you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews