We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value near the Falls”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in January 2012. It is the nearest lodge to the falls. Good service and very adequate rooms. Would recommend to all. Watch out for the monkeys - they steal food!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulloch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Your review of Ilala Lodge is much appreciated. On behalf of the management and staff here, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

834 - 838 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

We travelled to Africa as a family and this was our first stay in Zimbabwe. We were greeted at the door wth ice cold drinks while our bags were taken to our rooms (if possible suggest you get an upstairs room for a better view of the "Smoke that Thunders"). We had adjoining rooms, our children (teenagers) were next door to us. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the Lodge itself is a very nice size, not too big. The food a good. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and from the dinner menu we could choose meals such as Ostrich, Wartog and Kudu. The staff were very helpful and friendly without being in your face. The sunrises and sunsets overlooking the falls are magnificent and worth getting up early for. The pool area is very nice and refreshing after being out in the hot sun. You can walk everywhere during the day, to the Falls, into town but suggest that you do not wander around at night. The local people will approach you selling their wares on the way to the falls, this is how they make their living, but it can be very annoying having them follow you. One guy followed us all the way down, waited, then followed us back (selling hard the whole way) and waited outside for 2hrs. Maybe it pays to be firm with them without being rude. The falls are a short walk away and there are plenty of wild life along the way to see, Baboons, Warthog, Impala. Entry to the falls itself is expensive when you are entering as a family. It costs $30US per person, so for us it was $120US just to go past the gate. It is, of course, worth it, but be prepared and make sure you have enough cash. There is wifi access in the rooms for a small fee. We did the Lion Walk and the River Cruise while we were there and the bus picked us up from out the front and dropped us off.

Room Tip: aim for an upper floor room they have a better view and watch out for monkeys when you are eating, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you very much for the considerable and thoughtful comments.We appreciate it .We love receiving comments from our guests.We look forward to your return and meeting you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

What a fantastic holiday - 3rd time to the Magical Victoria Falls, but 1st time staying at the fantastic Ilala Lodge! Kelly, Blessed, Winnie and the rest of the team - all so friendly, efficient and committed to ensuring a pleasant stay! The hotel is the closest to the Falls, about a 5 minute walk. You can hear The Falls and see the mist from the balcony!
White Water Rafting by Shockwave was probably one of the most incredible experiences!
Don't forget to visit The Devil's Pool from the Zambian side - sitting in a rock pool literally a few metres from the edge of The Falls was beyond extraordinary!
Highly recommended, loved every minute of the trip! Thank you Ilala Lodge, thanks to Zim!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for highly recommending the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the service of our staff members.We are looking forward to seeing you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed for two nights just before Christmas 2011, flying in from Jo'burg to Victoria Falls. The pre-booked transfer was waiting for us after the lengthy passport/visa formalities. The ice-cold bottle of water was most welcome! An iced tea was part of the hotel check-in - again most welcome. The check-in staff couldn't have been more friendly and this was reflected in all of the staff we met, in the bar, restaurant and hotel generally.

Our room was clean and perfectly comfortable with views over the gardens towards the falls - it seems that all of the accommodation faces in this direction, as does the restaurant. In the evening you can hear the roar of the falls; during the day there is also the noise from the traffic on the main road - occasional heavy lorries going down to the bridge to cross into Zambia.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and can thoroughly recommend it. Evening dinner on the restaurant terrace was something special.

In terms of location, it's just a short walk to the entrance to the Victoria Falls park gates. Leaving the hotel to go to the falls, we met a local member of the official 'Tourist Police', identified by their uniform. He escorted us down to the gates, as did another on the way back. Although it was probably unnecessary, it did provide reassurance.

The only difficulty we experienced was in terms of money. US dollars (notes only, no coins) was the de facto currency with debit and credit cards not to be relied on completely. We were able to use a Visa debit card in the hotel and local ATMs, although a couple of times we held our breath as the transaction was being processed. It also makes tipping a problem as $1 is the smallest unit of currency - in the toilets at the airport for example.

Overall however we had a wonderful stay next to one of the wonders of the world.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrBob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the service of our staff members.We look forward to your return and seeing you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Very close to the Falls, so much so that you can hear the Falls and see the mist. Very comfortable rooms and clean. Staff was wonderful. Easy walking to the Falls, to the bank to exchange and to the souvenir shops. While eating breakfast one morning, two tables over the Lady was at the Buffet and the gentleman got up to get something. Within seconds, a monkey had jumped down from the roof, to the tree, to the table. He grabbed the rolls and ran off, with the staff yelling and running after him! We were laughing and amazed. The gentleman was in shock when he realized what happened.

Room Tip: Second floor is best for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dad414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Thank you kindly for your review on Ilala Lodge. We love to hear about the adventures of our guests whilst staying with us. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
2.5 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,990 reviews
0.5 km away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,515 reviews
3.5 km away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
458 reviews
2.3 km away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
678 reviews
5.3 km away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: ₹ 17,741 - ₹ 27,122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing