We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Pure Africa
from US$ 66.67
More Info
from US$ 76.93
More Info
from US$ 527.00
More Info
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
412
65
12
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
412
65
12
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zambezi explorer top deck dinner cruise the river unlimited drinks hippos appetizers wildlife vessel shore africa buffalo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

It was really nice to experience the nature and the wildlife from the water. We passed hippos and crocodiles while cruzing the Zambezi River. We were almost alone on the boat and were served some smaller snacks and drinks. The staff was were attentive and stopped wherever we wanted to get closer to the animals. Absolutely much better than expected.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank kavas08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020

Everyone was very friendly and obviously trying hard to do all the right things. The drinks were readily available and the descriptions of the animals and stories were thorough and nice. However, the food was sub-par for the price. We stayed a long way from any wildlife so we had little or no opportunity to appreciate any of them.

They put nice romantic candles on the table, but there was a lot of chitter chatter by the cooks and staff at the back of the boat the entire time. It was loud and distracting. They were obviously having a good time, which I'm happy for them. But it was not appropriate for the atmosphere we were expecting.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank SailDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

We took the sunset cruise and selected the Signature (top deck) option for the trip.
The start of our trip was very eventful as a thunderstorm happened as we boarded the boat - it was great to get an umbrella to keep some of the rain off of us.
The boat cruise itself was very peaceful and relaxed. The staff very helpful and friendly. There was a hood drinks selection and some nice snacks to enjoy along the way.
It was great to see some many hippos in the water and one on a river bank. We were also very fortunate to see a crocodile.
After the thunderstorm there were some clouds which made for a beautiful sky and sunset.
We really enjoyed the cruise, the views and the sunset.

Date of experience: February 2020
2  Thank michaelcA4324MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

Our sunset cruise on the top deck of The Zambezi Explorer was amazing and is a must do when in Victoria Falls.
A delicious range of hot and cold canapés were served as well as a plentiful drink service.
The scenery was stunning we saw a wide range of wildlife including elephants bathing in the river, buffalo, giraffes and crocodile.
The sunset was beautiful.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank lindadownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020

We really enjoyed this cruise on the Zambezi river. There was free alcohol (which we weren't expecting) and a delicious 4 course meal with 2 options for starter and main. We met some very friendly couples sitting either side of us and it was great to chat with them about their travelling experiences and share local tips and recommendations. The cruise itself took us up an down the upper part of the Zambezi (before the falls) and we saw the 'smoke that thunders' from the deck, along with a crocodile, elephant, some hippos and some birdlife. The service was excellent the the crew were welcoming, amusing and attentive to our needs. The cruise itself was very relaxing and a great introduction to Vic Falls! Highly recommended!

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank 389samf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews