We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Carlton Hotel Tunis(Tunis)(Great Value!)
US$ 72
US$ 67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Business Hotel(Tunis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 95
US$ 91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 168
US$ 161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar El Medina(Tunis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 85
US$ 81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 122
US$ 112
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Tunis(Tunis)
US$ 71
US$ 65
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
104
188
110
34
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
188
110
34
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom serviceexcellent locationbreakfast buffethotel managementcentral locationbusinesstunisiaavenuetvmedinacafescapitalwalidbanks
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018

I rarely write a poor review but I can not reccomend this hotel. My roo was filthy, there were stains in the carpeting, the room was in a desperate need of a new paint job and the window sheers looked like they hadnt been washed in years. The bathroom needed a remodel and the ammenities were very poor. I dod not eat in the dining room, room service was passable. The lobby was dark with ut of date furniture and also in need of a remodel. The bright spot of my stay was the extremely friendly and helpfu staff both at the fornt desk and the room service waiters - and an incredible view over downtown Tunis and up the avenue. Because it is next door to a sensitive govt' agency the street is blocked off with make s access achallenging with luggage. Agian the helpful staff were most attentive to help with the luggage.

Room Tip: sorry - not likely , I traveled with friends and their rooms were in similar condition.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhouha A, Guest Relations Manager at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Geast,
We thank you for your last booking at our hotel. We are happy that the hotel's location was convenient for you . Our hotel will be totally renovated so soon and everything is going to be changed and modernized (televisions, equipments...) .
We thank you so much for your comment and we will be waiting to welcome you back with us on better conditions.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Large '5 star' hotel in the city centre.
Location is excellent and views from the upper floors are interesting.
Unfortunately, the hotel is let down by a few aspects: ancient TVs which show blurred pictures of local TV stations, despite listing BBC and CNN, old furniture and fittings and rather poor meeting hall, with tatty fittings and no permanent projector.
My room had the whiff of moth balls and 2 split tiles on the bathroom floor from which water bubbled up. Nothing to worry about but should have been spotted and fixed! Wifi is free but without password so not secure at all.
Lifts worked well and the wait was never long.
Breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice, lunch and dinner were adequate.
Service was very friendly on the whole but the restaurant manager looked fierce and never missed an opportunity to berate his staff in front of guests.
Hotel security operated randomly with guests sometimes walking straight in and sometimes being required to pass through the metal detector.
All in all, this hotel does not warrant the '5 star' rating in any area as far as I'm concerned but might be considered '3 star' in order to avoid disappointment!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhouha A, Guest Relations Manager at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear client,
Thanks a lot for taking time to share your experience in Africa Tunis. We are happy to know that the location's hotel was convenient for you and that you like the views from the upper floors.
We are sorry for what did happen with you during your staying with us. We informed the chief of security and the restaurant manager about your remarks and they will take in consideration it.
Our hotel will be totally renovated and all of the equipments will be changed and modernized (televisions, rooms furniture...). We thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcome you back with us.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Large rooms, clean, although furniture could use updating. It is not a luxurious hotel but it is right in the center of the city and unlike most hotel rooms, theirs are very big with large closet, where two people will be more than comfortable. Breakfast buffed had nice variety, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhouha A, Guest Relations Manager at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Guest,
We thank you for being with us at your last visit to Tunisia. We are happy that the hotel's location was convenient to you and that apreciated the efforts of our staff to make our guests satisfied.
We thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcome you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

In the heart of Tunis and with many restaurants and cafeterias near the hotel. Clean and it hasvery good breakfast buffet with very good variety of foods. The old down Medina is 20 minutes from the hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank geoser68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhouha A, Guest Relations Manager at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Guest,
We thank you for being with us at your last visit to Tunisia. We are happy that the hotel's location was convenient to you and that you feel confortable during your last stay with us.
We thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcome you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel right in the middle of town with great service and good view of the city. One thing could be better and that is the business center as it seams it does not have a printer and the internet is relatively slow.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hig11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhouha A, Guest Relations Manager at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Guest,
We thank you for being with us at your last visit to Tunisia. We are happy that the hotel's location was convenient to you and that apreciated the efforts of our staff to make our guests more satisfied. We are sorry about the essue you had with wifi but we have a printer.


We thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcome you back with us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews