We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 100
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 109
US$ 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Carlton Hotel Tunis(Tunis)(Great Value!)
US$ 76
US$ 67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 157
US$ 113
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tiba(Tunis)(Great Value!)
US$ 70
US$ 66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Tunis(Tunis)
US$ 70
US$ 66
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 94
US$ 81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 197
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
68
89
87
37
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
89
87
37
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslebanese restaurantevery staff memberoutstanding hotelgreat roombusiness centereasy accessspecial thankscoffee machinevisit tunisbottle of waterrooms are cleanassurancetunisiapersonnelvarietiesmedina
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The Golden Tulip El Mechtel is an outstanding hotel and I could enjoy friendly and helping personnel. Smoking is allowed to cater for smokers which are abundant in Tunis, much to the discomfort of non-smokers. The hotel has good restaurants and the service is top. The Chief of Reception, Mr. Abderrazak Maadi made my stay the best in Tunis. Thanks for this.

Room Tip: Best place to be when you stay in Tunis. Is located close to the centre.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HaverLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Guest,
At first, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Thank you very much for your amazing review and recommendations.
We are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful time with us and that you found your accommodation and the service that you received from every member of the hotel team satisfying and delightful.
Our teams were proud to read your kind words, specially our Chief of Reception, Mr. Abderrazak Maadi.
Be assured your comfort and satisfaction is our priority
With warmest regards and best wishes.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

The stuff is very friendly and helpful, hotel is good secured but the furniture is very tired and old.

There are no variety of food on breakfast and lunch and the taste is not good.

Hotel is 20-25 mins walk from downtown.

The piscine is very tiny and small.

It seems 3 stars hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Khaled004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comment.
I'm glad you found our staff very friendly and helpful, as well as our Hotel is well secured.
However, we are sorry to hear that this does not meet all your expectations. as you mentioned (the condition of the furniture and the variety of the food).
Rest assured that we have taken your observations into account, they help us improve our services.
The satisfaction of our customers is our priority.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next stay in Tunisia.
Best regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

The hotel is located in next to a busy and noisy road, and the rooms facing it are quite noisy. Late at the night the traffic quiteness down. Security is impressive, the hotel is in a closed compound with security at the main gate and at the entrance in the hotel. The rooms are simple and could do with a thorough cleaning. While towels and bed linen are of good quality and the bathroom was clean, doors and windows would need additional cleaning, there are finger prints all over them. Also some undusting would do. The leather box containing kleenex was full of dust.There was a water cooker in the room and selection of cofee and tea and a complementary bottle of water. The breakfast room is dark and depressive, the selection of food is so so. No fresh lemon or orange juice is available, only simple white bread, limited jams and honey. There are pastries, sweetes, fruits, eggs, yogurth, fresh dates, selection of local cheeses and meat, but in fact perhaps the biggest challenge is the presentation of food. Also, if you are late some things might be finished. The resturant Afandi, where we had dinner, on the other hand was a nice surprise, nice atmoshpere and excellent meze.
Staff in nice and makes effort to assist with any request or need from house keepers to concierge, security staff, drivers and staff at the reception. Staff in the breakfast room was perhaps less forthcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Troublemaker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and it is a chance to learn that we can work harder in order to satisfy our guests.
We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.
Be sure that we have taken these comments seriously and have brought them immediately to the attention of the concerned managers in order to improve our services and facilities.

However I would like to thank you for highlighting the positive sides specially
The impressive security of our hotel, the friendly staff and the good mezze at our Lebanese restaurant Afandi.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs, as well as providing you with a level of services that can meet your expectations.

Best regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

This hotel needs serious upgrading, in infrastructure, but also in training of its staff. Restaurant is poor and depressing, rooms outdated, outside garden ok, but also run down...Tunis has better to offer. Not worth a 4 star rating !

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dirk3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Mr. Dirk
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with Golden Tulip El Mechtel.
We are truly disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very valuable to us, to evaluate and improve the services we provide
We want to assure you that the satisfaction of our guests is our priority and we have absolute certainty that at the next opportunity, we will offer you a completely satisfying experience.
Best Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The hotel is nice, the staff very help fully but the building and rooms are a bit tired. There are other hotels around which may be with looking at, the Belvedere just around the corner is worth looking at.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Ruburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Mr. Ruburt
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback.
We are delighted to read all the positive comments you mentioned regarding the good location as well as our staff attitude, we will certainly share your points with the respective team members.

Awaiting the pleasure of welcoming you once again at Golden Tulip El Mechtel on your next visit to Tunisia.

Warm regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews