We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
320
20
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
20
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush lunch lounge and dining area hot water sky safari solar power watch the sunrise amazing experience game drives unforgettable stay the managers tented rooms small hill the entire staff gin and tonic endless plains dining tent personal butler
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We absolutely loved our 3-night stay here and I do recommend staying at least 3 nights. We went with a group of 5 friends in 3 tents.

A typical day starts 6:30 or a bit later for breakfast and then you're off for a game drive. If it's a full-day game drive, you'll have a picnic lunch in the bush. You arrive back at camp around 5pm. Then you are free to lounge in your tent or enjoy happy hour and snacks in the lodge as you watch the sunset. Between 7-8pm head down to the dining tent for candelight dinner under the stars. After dinner, hang out by the campfire or be escorted back to your tent to take a hot shower and rest up for the next day.

The camp is eco-conscious using solar panels to heat water and for electricity and encouraging use of refillable individual metal water bottles provided by Elewana. The food is amazing - you get a menu at each meal with plenty of choices. At breakfast, we loved the fresh fruit plate, omelettes, Pioneer toast (french toast), and mueslix with yogurt. Our group was part vegetarian and part omnivore and everyone was happy with the choices at dinner. The soups were delicious.

For happy hours or whenever, there is a selection of wines which were decent and several local beers to choose from - Kilimanjaro, Serengeti, Tusker, and Safari - as well as hard stuff. Gin and tonic is the classic sundowner drink. You can also pay extra for premium wines and liquor. They are not stingy with the food and drink. Your wish is their command.

Don't miss a chance to have coffee or tea in the lodge and watch the sunrise. Or happy hour in the lodge to watch the sunset. You'll see rock hyrax on the rocks below and maybe klipspringer.

The guides are experienced and excellent. Ours was named Jackson. We absolutely loved him and some of us were teary when we had to say goodbye. On the first day with him we saw 4 of the big 5.

You may be surprised by the wildlife you see or hear in and around camp. We woke at 4am one morning to the sound of grass munching. We peered through the tent screen to see an elephant 30 feet away eating grass. A troop of baboons sleep in the trees in the rocky hillside above. Zebra and impala are commonly seen and you are likely to hear lions and buffalo if not see them. A group of 6 lions wandered through the camp one night as the baboons barked on the hillside above.

The tents are well-decorated in a safari-style and cozy. The bathroom area with rain head shower, flushable toilet, and double-sinks is separated by a canvas wall.

The staff are amazing. You are typically assigned a butler/host who waits on you for meals, drinks, etc. and sticks with you for your stay. Ours was Hamed who was awesome. He taught us some swahili and gave us all tribe names.

Ryan was managing the camp while we were there. He manages the Migration camp (Elewana's other tent camp) but was filling in. He was extremely personable and full of interesting info about the camp and the wildlife.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gridley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Dear Gridley,

Thank you so much for your thorough review on Serengeti Pioneer Camp! This will, I am sure, be very helpful to prospective travelers wondering what a typical day on safari entails!

We are so glad to hear you had an amazing time during your stay. We try to provide a variety of dining options and we're thrilled that we lived up to your expectations. Your raving review will be shared with the chef and the rest of our team that made your stay so special.

We pride ourselves on having a minimal environmental impact, in this wonderful area of the Serengeti which deserves to be kept as pristine as it has always been.

Fantastic to hear that Ryan and our team looked after you very well and we hope we get the opportunity to meet you one day soon.

Best Wishes,
Alison, Tom and Serengeti Pioneer Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

This camp is located in a quiet area of Central Serengeti.
We were received by similar excellent service and food as its sister camp Treetops in Tarangire
The real highlight was to watch the magnificent sunrise during breakfast in the main deck, with dozens of hyrax surrounded.
Really magical place!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank VictorPanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a Trip Advisor review.

Great to hear you are a seasoned Elewana Collection guest! As you know, we work extremely hard to provide our guests with an unforgettable safari experience across all our properties and to hear that your found consistency across them and that you enjoyed our food and service is fantastic.

So very glad that you enjoyed our wonderfully secluded location overlooking the Meru Kopjes and the dramatic views of the Serengeti Plains. Sunrise in the Serengeti is like no other and we hope you will be back to see more in the near future!

Best Wishes,

Tom, Alison and the Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

The location of the camp was a wonderful surprise to me. It sits above the savanna, nestled up to a rock formation worthy of any pride of lions (which we heard every night we were there). The views are breathtaking and allowed me to take in the magnificence of the Serengeti.

Our safari guide, Elias, was very knowledgeable, kind, informative, attentive and helpful. The kind of person you invite to come visit you when they are in your country as we did!

Alison and Tom, the managers, are warm, attentive and relaxed. They and the chef did a great job accommodating my vegan needs (even though they were not informed ahead of time by my travel agent).

Our group of 4 found the camp rustically elegant with all the comforts one needs. The Lounge area is an especially lovely place to relax, check in on FB and look through your photos for the day.

I would recommend Pioneer Camp very highly. PS: most decent wifi we found on our entire trip!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Serengeti Pioneer Camp!

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our private location and that you are your group enjoyed your stay with us. The Camp is perched on rocky outcrops close to the Moru Kopjes and affording dramatic views of the Serengeti Plains. Similarly, the lounge was the Alan Root's - renowned researcher and filmmaker- base and offers one of the Serengeti's most outstanding vantage points.

Elias is indeed a fantastic guide, and we're glad he got to share his knowledge and passion for safari with you. I am sure he is thrilled with your invitation!

Our staff work hard to provide the highest standard of service to every guest and we are pleased to hear that we succeeded on this occasion and that your dietary needs were well taken care of. I will pass on your kind compliments to our chef and the team.

Hopefully, you put that good wi-fi to use and also put your own beautiful pictures of the Serengeti up for show!

Best wishes,
Tom, Alison and the Serengeti Pioneer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Fifteen luxurious tented rooms (with hot shower, sink, flushing toilet, fabulous furnishings), wonderful food, and a tented lounge with the best coffee and sunrise view from above the Serengeti plain. Staff and service are fabulous. The local lion pride will make you appreciate the Masai guides who escort you to your tent after dark. Easily the best picnic lunch prepared for a day-long safari of the four lodges we visited on our 8 day safari trip.

Room Tip: Would choose a tent above the lounge and dining tents
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank currituckgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review on our camp.

I shared your review and our team is very happy to hear you enjoyed our tents, food and the stunning view over the Serengeti, which you will hopefully remember for years to come. Our Chef, is especially delighted to hear his picnic lunch was the best out of the 4 lodges you visited on your safari.

We hope you enjoyed your safari adventure and that you will visit us again!

Best Regards,
Alison, Tom and Serengeti Pioneer Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Even though evenings were challenging having god knows what walking around, lions hyeanas etc, the surroundings , the staff, the food, the guides all made the experience well worth re-visiting. Only hindrance were those bloody Tse tse flys that can be a royale pain In the ...... then again you're in the bush.
Wonderful experience!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Alexis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Serengeti Pioneer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Dear Alexis,

Thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear you had a nice stay with us at Serengeti Pioneer Camp. Our team, staff, and guides work extremely hard to deliver a world-class guest experience that will hopefully stay with you for years to come. Being in the Serengeti bush, is no excuse for our kitchen team whose passion for food is clear from the outset and which we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed!

The animals around the Camp are definitely a change from our guests regular nights back home, but what we consider here to be a massive thrill which only adds to the adventure of being on Safari!

Wishing you a wonderful New Year and we hope you will visit us again if you're ever in Tanzania again.

Kind regards,
Alison, Tom and Serengeti Pioneer Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews