We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
243
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub our honeymoon game drives butler service personal butler sunrise breakfast private breakfast his team before dinner luxurious stay dining table driver guide kogatende airstrip bush babies the general manager river crossing an unforgettable experience
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a number of luxury camps during our 10-day safari in Tanzania but Bushtops was a step above the rest - the service and facilities were out of this world amazing! It was the most luxurious stay I've ever experienced.

Service: every single member of the staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. The staff went out of their way to make our honeymoon magical. Our butler brought us a chilled champagne bottle on ice for our in-room hot tub dip and the manager arranged a special sunrise breakfast in the middle of the Serengeti - complete with our own chef making eggs for just the 2 of us in the middle of the bush. We also enjoyed a romantic dinner at our tent where we had 2 attendants waiting on us as we enjoyed our dinner by candlelight.

Facilities: these tents are a new level of fabulous. Each tent had its own expansive porch complete with an oversized sofa, private hot tub, and dining table - not to mention the butler attendant who will bring you whatever you need (wine, food, laundry, towels, etc). The bathrobes were ultra-plush and the soaps were all Bvlgari.

Loved our stay!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

An amazing experience - we recently stayed in the family tents with the long bridge. Our daughter, husband & 8yr old daughter accompanied us there. The staff was amazing and always attentive to our needs including the picky eating 8yr old. An amazing place to stay

Room Tip: Family tent - Giraffe & Hippo
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jschmidtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We spent 3 nights at bushtops for our honeymoon and loved every single minute. The people were wonderful - from the Manager's welcome, the way Mustafa looked after us in our tent to our fantastic safari guides (Kappia, Aloyce and Leonard) who made us laugh the whole way through our stay. We really were spoilt rotten and the lovely honeymoon extras that we were treated to were amazing and we were made to feel so special. Highlights of the stay were definitely drinking champagne in our hot tub while a thunderstorm raged outside, drinking gin and tonic as we watched the sunset and spotting a leopard on our final day. Thank you to everyone at Bushtops for making our holiday so special - we will definitely have to come back and celebrate an anniversary at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clang_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Over the top (OTT) tented camp with a likewise OTT staff set in the midst of beautiful scenery. These are not the tents of your youth! They are wonderfully appointed permanent abodes fitted out with every luxury, including a hot tub.

While most people go to the Northern Serengeti for the migration, we opted to go at a more quiet time of year without the hordes of people and rules regarding the number of vehicles that must travel together for game drives. We couldn't have been more pleased with our guide, Simon, and tracker, John, who could pick out the lion cub heads in the long grass at 200 yards. X-ray vision I guess! Simon never promised we would see lots of game, but we were thrilled to find all of the big five except the rhino, along with lots of other species and even two cheetahs during our three days at the camp.

The staff went out of their way to make our stay a very special experience and one we won't forget. In fact, this experience was the highlight of our three week trip. Kudos to Pantaleo, the general manager, and his staff. If there were 10 stars they would qualify. Highly, highly recommended!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the bushtop camp for our honeymoon. The camp itself and the scenery is stunning.
Everything is very clean and the staff were extremely welcoming.
We had a soak in the hot tub at our tent one afternoon and the staff had left us some canapés and a bottle of fizz for the experience, which was really lovely!
We'd included a bit of a game drive on our trip from the air strip - wanted to make the most of our time in the Serengeti!
We loved having cocktails around the campfire each night before dinner, and it was nice to catch up with other guests and staff at this point.
We were spoilt (for our honeymoon) with a romantic dinner outside our tent one night, and a champagne breakfast in the bush on our last morning - they pick the perfect spot for bush breakfasts or evening cocktails - we saw the most incredible sunsets!
The food here was generally good. Cakes and sandwiches after a PM game drive was a nice touch.
The one downside for us was the amount of game about - there was often a lot of driving without much to spot. We went in February, which I appreciate isn't peak, but we saw so much More in the Masai Mara (we'd spent the previous 3 days at Il Moran camp - and our driver there seemed a lot more chatty and engaged too, which we enjoyed as we were keen to learn as much as possible)
Overall a very lovely experience. Thank you!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushtops, Owner at Serengeti Bushtops Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic feedback and kind words about our team and camp. We’re delighted to have played a positive role in the first chapter of your marriage! We’re obviously thrilled when people say nice things about us, but constructive criticism is valuable too, giving us the chance to do even better in future. We can’t do much about the amount of game, of course, bar point out that the Mara is ten times smaller than the Serengeti, so the game tends to be more concentrated in the former. As always, the animals go where they like and sometimes we encounter masses in one place, whilst other days are less overwhelming. What we can do, however, is note your remarks about wanting a more engaged driver. We get so many wonderful comments about the warmth and knowledge of our drivers and spotters, but clearly failed you in this case. We can only apologise in this instance. Actually, we have done more than say sorry: we have sent the Ranger in question back to headquarters for further training. If anyone reading this review has had – or comes to have – such an experience, it’s important to let us know, so we can put things right. So thank you for letting us know and for posting such an upbeat review of your Bushtops experience.

With best wishes …
Claudia Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews