We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Q-Bar & Guest House
Ranked #66 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed in a standard double room (nr 14) which was very big and with ensuite. Although the rooms are a bit run-down they are well-kept. The live music on Friday did not bother us at all, however the club/bar behind Q-bar did keep us awake on saturdaynight (untill 6 in the morning there was loud music). Some earplugs might come in handy. Only thing missing in the room was a musquito net.
The breakfast is one the best! Fresh fruit, eggs any style, bacon, cornflakes, muesli, milk (hot/cold), juice, tea, etc. All included in the price ($60)!! It isn't very close to the city centre but a tuktuk can take you there in 10-15 minutes. I would say it is value for money as there are not many hotels in this price category in Dar.

Room Tip: Have a look around, if there is live music take a room on one the top floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Janbien,
We are glad you had a good stay and enjoyed the breakfast, the breakfast chef's take great care of all the guests.
The night club behind is quite loud on the weekends but they say that they are working on their sound proofing.
We decided not to put mosquito nets in the rooms but rather do environmental fumigation on a regular basis, the room is also sprayed everyday. We have found that this works well but we also have mosquito nets in the store for those people who still want it.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    31
    22
    12
    9
See reviews for
4
18
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Q-bar has nice and big rooms, but no nets. The bar below the hotel has nice food and is a nice place to have a beer and watch football, but can be noisy at night. It is located far away from the busstation and airport and the City Centre, but there are some good restaurants in the area. Expect a lot of expats.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We do environmental fumigation on a regular basis which is working very well but we also have mosquito nets available if guests want. We will start to advertise this in the rooms as it seems the reception did not inform you of this.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Q Bar is a long established feature on the Dar places to stay scene. I have stayed here on and off since 2005. Its great value for the location- Oyster Bay, five minutes walk from Coco Beach, and handy for embassies, expat haunts and good restaurants- but it can be noisy at night. The rooms are spacious, clean and functional, the staff are great and the place has good security. Its right next door to an internet cafe (though there is wireless here) and a supermarket. Taxis are right outside the front door.

As Dar gets more choice in the budget hotel category Q bar may have to work a bit harder to keep the guests coming. The beds feel a bit worn out, the tv only works on two channels for example- but as a place in Masaki/ Oyster Bay for 40 dollars upwards its really good value. Just remember to pack your earplugs.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter but they are more expensive. Ask staff for advice when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinchillarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Chinchillarat,

Thank you for your review.
There were some problems with the tv channels but we have now upgraded. There are 4 movie channels, 2 news, 2 sports and 3 local channels.
We have put double glazing on the Standard rooms and the band never plays later than 1am, we have live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.
We are glad to see you keep coming back on a regular basis and hope you can see the improvements we make on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Q bar is a great hotel in Dar es Salaam, highly recommended!

We were collected promptly from the airport by the taxi arranged by Q bar - he offered a great "tour" of the city on our drive. The double room was lovely, although the airconditioner was weak, there was hot water, a TV and a great view to some tropical gardens.

We had a great meal at the restaurant, and the bar really got going on Friday night with a DJ, 2 bars and pool tables. It's a popular spot, and the music continues quite late into the night. The hotel is in a great location, close to Msasani slipway which is well worth a visit for a bit of shopping and dinner.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Megan,
We are glad you had a good stay but are sorry to hear that the AC was not working properly. We have a technician who works full time so it should never happen that it is not working. We hope you informed the reception so they could have it fixed or move you to another room.
Yes Slipway is definitely worth a visit for souvenir shopping and also the famous Tinga Tinga market which is right behind us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Staff couldn't have been more helpful and made us feel very safe. Our driver, sent by them, was an absolute star - waited an hour at airport, as our flight was delayed and still charged half the price we'd been quoted by airport taxis, so we kept him all evening - to take us out to eat - then he drove us back to airport next morning. Rooms basic but clean, with fun, colourful, painted woodwork thoughout the building. We stayed Saturday night so the bar was jumping until the early hours but we didn't really hear it from our room (although the bar opposite was still going strong when we checked out at 6am). Staff knocked on our door, as requested, to make sure we didn't oversleep. We certainly thought it was worth a slightly longer drive to stay there, rather than staying in town, as we had done on our previous trip.

Room Tip: At front of building, on higher floor, you can watch passers-by, without as much noise from bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
SamOldfield,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you had a nice stay and hope you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
4.7 km away
Mesuma Hotel
Mesuma Hotel
#59 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
5.9 km away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#45 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 km away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#28 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
The Bedroom Hotel
The Bedroom Hotel
#50 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.7 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.4 km away
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es S...
#14 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q-Bar & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q-Bar & Guest House

Property: Q-Bar & Guest House
Address: Haile Selassie Rd | Crossing Ali Bin Said Rd, Dar es Salaam 4595, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,034 - ₹ 5,042
Hotel Class:3 star — Q-Bar & Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hotel on the Msasani Peninsular. Only 10 km from the city centre, a ten minute walk to Coco Beach and right behind the famous Tinga Tinga market. There is now an inside and outside area for the bar and restaurant. You can choose to sit under the stars or if it is too hot you can cool off in the Air-conditioned lounge. We have a Live band on Thursday's and a DJ on Saturday's. The bar is busy and has a good vibe, the restaurant is well known for the BBQ, Sea Food Platters, Steak Flambe and Fajita's. There are also several restaurants and shops within walking distance. The atmosphere is laid back and a great place to meet other travelers and people living in Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Expedia so you can book your Q-Bar & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q-Bar & Guest House Hotel Dar Es Salaam
q-Bar And Guest House
q Bar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing