We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveller rating
799
57
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
57
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean peresbahia palacepetit princehis teamroof terracemirage rooman oasissmallest roomthe main squarejewish quarterthe hustle and bustlecooking classmint teabreakfast is servedairport pickupatlas mountainshidden away
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 868 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

gorgeous little riad in a quiet part of town. an easy, quick and interesting walk to jamaa el fna. very pleasant staff. we stayed in two different rooms. the oasis was fairly large, stylish and comfortable but as we had a few sleep ins i prefered the petit room which was quieter than the oasis room at breakfast. although if you don't plan on sleeping in that wouldn't be an issue.
breakfast (included) was just bread and pastry type things with fresh juice and coffee/tea but it was a great way to fuel up before exploring the medina.
i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_Morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very charming and tasteful Riad. The roof terrace was just delightful as is the rest of the riad . We dined on the terrace and had a wonderful dinner in a very beautiful setting. Jean Peres has a fine eye for detail and nothing was too much trouble for him . His staff were also superb and anxious to make our stay enjoyable .

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We loved Dar One. My first wife and I visited Jean Perez's Riad in April 2012 for 4 nights. The riad itself was lovely, the public spaces were very elegant and tastefully furnished and our room 'DUNE' had all the home comforts we needed.

However it is the service & hospitality which makes Dar One very special indeed. Jean and Abdel could not do enough for us. They arranged our taxi from the airport - which is a 'must' as you'd never find your own way there unless you already knew the Mellah (The Jewish quarter in the Medina). They also arranged transport up to Imlil in the High Atlas. We also had an excellent and very reasonably priced moroocan meal in the Riad one night [we can also highly recommend Casa Lalla for an excellent meal].

Location is fantastic, just round the corner from the Bahia Palace in the heart of Marrakech, close to all the attractions and is the ideal place to stay in this fascinating city.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank TilehurstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Where should I start?

Jean Peres, the owner of the Riad is amazing. I emailed him at least 5 times before our arrival and he always replied within a few hours.

The Riad has excellent staff: attentive, welcoming and helpful. They even catered an early breakfast for us as our flight back to the UK left very early.
The Riad can organise transfer from and to the airport for 300 Dhs (return price). We were so happy that we took this option, as haggling for a taxi can be stressful and would not save you more than £5, not even mentioning that the organised transfer - compared to the "petit taxis" - would provide a much nicer car. If you still wish to organise your own ground transportation ask the driver to take you to "Palais Bahia" which is located 2 minutes away from the Riad. But good luck finding the Riad in the maze of small alleys.

Location is safe and convenient as most sights are walking distance (the Main Square and Koutobia Mosque 10 minutes away, Saadian Tombs 10-15 minutes, Palais Bahia 2 minutes, Palais Badi 5-10 minutes, souks 10-15 minutes). The staff at Dar One gave us excellent directions and a useful map.

The Riad has a contemporary style with traditional accents. It is a beautiful and relaxing space.We stayed in the Sirocco room and I can highly recommend it. For a little higher price you will get a private roof terrace with excellent views over the whole Medina. Looking at the layout of the Riad, the ground floor room could be quite exposed to other guests and quite noisy during breakfast and dinner, therefore I would not recommend it.

Breakfast is delicious but a little repetitive after a few days. It consists of mostly sweet dishes such as pastries, pancakes, yoghurt, honey and jam. This is the only thing that I would change in Riad Dar One. The freshly squeezed orange juice is delicious.

The price is very reasonable compared to Marrakech, therefore Riad Dar One is easily the best value luxury riad in the Medina. I initially considered one of the big brand hotel chains outside of the Medina’s wall but I was so happy that I opted for a riad as this is the real experience!

Thank you Jean and the whole Riad Dar One Team for making our stay perfect!

Room Tip: The Sirocco room does worth the slightly higher price as you will get a private terrace with breath-taking views over Marrakech.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were so pleased that we chose this Riad as our first stop in Marrakesh. We had arranged to be collected from the airport then we were met at the car and taken through darkened alleyways into a beautiful sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. The decor and ambience of Riad dar One is fantastic, a traditional Moroccan feel with the modern standards of a 4 star hotel. Great breakfast to start the day and it was a great place to relax after walking around the mayhem that is Marrakesh. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff, we definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: If you have the room on the roof terrace, which is wonderful, be aware that you can not get Internet connection in your room however it is fine on the ground and first floor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbjb2012London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews