We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #21 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The reviewers are right to rate this place so highly. We were a group of six gentlemen golfers, used to quality. We took over the whole riad for five nights and it worked very well for us. Jean Peres welcomed us, gave us a tour of the house and a few suggestions for where to eat and then largely left us in Abdel's care. What can we say about Abdel? He is one of nature's gentlemen - someone for whom nothing was too much trouble - and his unobtrusive attentiveness was one of the factors that made our stay such a success. The rooms are well-appointed - not five star, but comfortable. Excellent beds. The terrace is a great feature, though we probably would have appreciated it more had the nights been warmer. The only negative thing I would say is a point made by other reviewers. Because of the layout of a riad, you do lack privacy. The ground floor room leads out on the atrium and while you might fancy a lay-in it doesn't really work if others are having breakfast right outside the door. The same can apply with the rooftop room (Sirocco). As long as you understand this, Riad Dar One really is a great place to stay. Only a few minutes from Jemaa el Fna and the madness of the souks.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blakeydaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 269 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

gorgeous little riad in a quiet part of town. an easy, quick and interesting walk to jamaa el fna. very pleasant staff. we stayed in two different rooms. the oasis was fairly large, stylish and comfortable but as we had a few sleep ins i prefered the petit room which was quieter than the oasis room at breakfast. although if you don't plan on sleeping in that wouldn't be an issue.
breakfast (included) was just bread and pastry type things with fresh juice and coffee/tea but it was a great way to fuel up before exploring the medina.
i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_Morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very charming and tasteful Riad. The roof terrace was just delightful as is the rest of the riad . We dined on the terrace and had a wonderful dinner in a very beautiful setting. Jean Peres has a fine eye for detail and nothing was too much trouble for him . His staff were also superb and anxious to make our stay enjoyable .

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We loved Dar One. My first wife and I visited Jean Perez's Riad in April 2012 for 4 nights. The riad itself was lovely, the public spaces were very elegant and tastefully furnished and our room 'DUNE' had all the home comforts we needed.

However it is the service & hospitality which makes Dar One very special indeed. Jean and Abdel could not do enough for us. They arranged our taxi from the airport - which is a 'must' as you'd never find your own way there unless you already knew the Mellah (The Jewish quarter in the Medina). They also arranged transport up to Imlil in the High Atlas. We also had an excellent and very reasonably priced moroocan meal in the Riad one night [we can also highly recommend Casa Lalla for an excellent meal].

Location is fantastic, just round the corner from the Bahia Palace in the heart of Marrakech, close to all the attractions and is the ideal place to stay in this fascinating city.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Tilehurst Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Where should I start?

Jean Peres, the owner of the Riad is amazing. I emailed him at least 5 times before our arrival and he always replied within a few hours.

The Riad has excellent staff: attentive, welcoming and helpful. They even catered an early breakfast for us as our flight back to the UK left very early.
The Riad can organise transfer from and to the airport for 300 Dhs (return price). We were so happy that we took this option, as haggling for a taxi can be stressful and would not save you more than £5, not even mentioning that the organised transfer - compared to the "petit taxis" - would provide a much nicer car. If you still wish to organise your own ground transportation ask the driver to take you to "Palais Bahia" which is located 2 minutes away from the Riad. But good luck finding the Riad in the maze of small alleys.

Location is safe and convenient as most sights are walking distance (the Main Square and Koutobia Mosque 10 minutes away, Saadian Tombs 10-15 minutes, Palais Bahia 2 minutes, Palais Badi 5-10 minutes, souks 10-15 minutes). The staff at Dar One gave us excellent directions and a useful map.

The Riad has a contemporary style with traditional accents. It is a beautiful and relaxing space.We stayed in the Sirocco room and I can highly recommend it. For a little higher price you will get a private roof terrace with excellent views over the whole Medina. Looking at the layout of the Riad, the ground floor room could be quite exposed to other guests and quite noisy during breakfast and dinner, therefore I would not recommend it.

Breakfast is delicious but a little repetitive after a few days. It consists of mostly sweet dishes such as pastries, pancakes, yoghurt, honey and jam. This is the only thing that I would change in Riad Dar One. The freshly squeezed orange juice is delicious.

The price is very reasonable compared to Marrakech, therefore Riad Dar One is easily the best value luxury riad in the Medina. I initially considered one of the big brand hotel chains outside of the Medina’s wall but I was so happy that I opted for a riad as this is the real experience!

Thank you Jean and the whole Riad Dar One Team for making our stay perfect!

Room Tip: The Sirocco room does worth the slightly higher price as you will get a private terrace with breath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 km away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
594 reviews
1.5 km away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#26 of 500 in Marrakech
489 reviews
1.9 km away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Riad Emberiza Sahari
Riad Emberiza Sahari
#14 of 500 in Marrakech
351 reviews
1.6 km away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
1,331 reviews
1.3 km away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: ₹ 7,017 - ₹ 10,127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing