We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Couldn't have given my wife a better present” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Alma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Alma
Ranked #104 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Couldn't have given my wife a better present”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

Can't speak highly enough of the riad or pierre and his staff. friendly and unobtrusive made us feel very welcome and our stay very comfortable. it was always re assuring to know that the oasis was waiting for us after the hurly burly of the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinners_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    33
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
109
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We loved our stay at Riad Alma... our suite was beautiful, the staff were exceptionally attentive and breakfast, lunch and dinner were fabulous. The location - within the Medina and a short distance from the square - was perfect for our three day Marrakech break. I would recommend Riad Alma to anyone looking for a luxury and restful santuary.

The Riad is furnished with an array of beautiful objects and antiques from all over the world and has a really stylish and elegant feel. What a special and unique experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieandross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

Hello Trip Advisor family.

After so much turmoil about choosing a place to stay we decided on Riad Alma.
I had found this Riad through hipmarrakesh.com and spoke to Amanda over the phone and she took my deposit over the phone. I had so much apprehension since so many reviews are biased or skewed or based on 1 contribution. Our flight was delyaed by 2 hours and I contacted Amanda at Hip Marrakesh and she contacted the Riad and let them know that we were arriving late.
We were picked up at the airport by a driver that works with the Riad. My boyfriend and I speak no French or Arabic and the driver spoke English.
To my very very surprise, this Riad was perfect. The pictures are just as the Riad is.
Pierre the owner was there and gave us so many great suggestions on where to eat dinner or lunch. The room was immaculate, the bathroom large. We had a terrace outside out room. We needed something ironed the staff did it, laundry needed? Not a problem.
Breakfast was superb, fresh squezzed orange juice, crepes, eggs, toast, whatever you wanted.
Dinner was also excellant at the Riad.
The free wifi was a plus!
Dinner on rose petals in the courtyard was a plus!

My suggestion..go ahead and book it, you will not be dissappointed.
Any questions? feel free to ask.
I LOVE MARRAKESH

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adiatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2010 and had a fabulous time. Pierre, the owner, and his staff, were great; they were very friendly and helpful, and they gave us loads of excellent advice. They also organize transportation to and from the airport, helping take the strain out of finding the Riad. Based in the Kasbah, the Riad is in an excellent location, very central but quiet, and within easy walking distance of the sights. It was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated, with great rooms and plenty of outside areas where you can chill out. We also had dinner once in the Riad and it was one of the best Moroccan food we tasted on our trip. I can’t recommend it high enough in terms of location, value for money, atmosphere, service, setting, food, safety etc. Looking forward to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akolokit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

As the Riad we normally stay in was full, we booked Riad Alma based on good reviews in Tripadvisor. Based in the Kasbah area, it is more of a walk to the Jemma al Fna and Souks than one might have hoped, but it was very elegant and quiet with lovely rooms. It should have been everything we wanted and in many ways, it was - a very beautiful place, a delicious pre-booked dinner on the first night and a good breakfast offered each day with pancakes and eggs cooked to order. It was only spoilt by the attitude of the owner, Micheline, who made us feel that everything was a little bit of an effort and that she was really having a troublesome time running a Riad. We were slightly late arriving from the airport due to slow immigration and when I asked if she would like us to dine straightaway she said yes, because the girl was waiting to go home - which made us feel rather uncomfortable and it was the same when we asked if we could have afternoon tea and a sandwich - the slight negative surprise although they do offer snacks etc in their hotel blurb. We had to wait at least half an hour to check out when we left, despite the fact that we had to get somewhere because she had gone out without preparing our bill and there was no-one who could cope with checkout. At the price they charge, it was surprising that there was not someone capable in charge all the time - although Mohad who served us at dinner and breakfast was very sweet and helpful. It was also surprising that we were actually charged for the usual free handout map of Marrakech - which given the fact that we had no hot water for the first night because of a breakdown and given everything above it made my usually very tolerant husband say he would not be back!

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nomadchef53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 km away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#69 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.3 km away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#65 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.6 km away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#96 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#93 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.2 km away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#114 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.5 km away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Property: Riad Alma
Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#118 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,028 - ₹ 12,273
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alma is our beautiful house of 1200m2 , with two courtyards with a pool and another with a fountain , the patio is equipped with misters for cool summer. We have 8 rooms for 20 people. Each room has a private bathroom , our rooms are bright and spacious 50m2 up . Seven of them have private terraces allowing for privacy and quiet time . The hammam spa and massage room are at your disposal to relax. Our chef one of the most famous of the city prepares dishes with market produce. Our team is highly qualified and works hard to make your stay a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing