We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect ”
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #40 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We had a fantastic week in Riad Karmela with very good food, good living and spa treatments.
The staff and owners were so nice and helpful and there were never any problems just solutions. The riad is near of everything.
If/when I go back to Marrakech, there will only be one choice of living, that’s in Karmela.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tiina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017

This riad is in an excellent location within the medina and in walking distance of all the main sites. We had a very good dinner on arrival and the breakfasts and lunch menus were very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The patios, roof terrace and rooms are lovely with lots of trees, plants and antiques.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KentTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

The riad is very authentic furnished in good taste with small patios where you may relax or have a drink served. The terracce at the rooftop is beautiful with many big flowerpots and cosy small corners where you can lay for yourself or enjoy the spectacular views w. Both morning buffet and dinner are served at the terracce by the very friendly waiters.

Room Tip: Ask if the Kadija room is available - it is very beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jytte Heje M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We loved everything about the Riad Karmela : the beautiful room , patio, terrace and seating areas ( just like the photos) ; the really helpful and friendly and attentive staff ; authentic tasty food and they serve good wine! We emailed to organise a taxi from the airport ( recommended as cars can only get to a small square a couple of minutes walk away) , taxi was waiting with sign and someone wheeled luggage to hotel. Joël , the owner, met us on arrival and gave us good, practical information. Throughout our stay , we were really well looked after , they would organise taxis , early breakfasts and always on hand to help. The Riad is an oasis of calm in the middle of the bustling medina. We couldn't recommend this Riad highly enough . Thank you to Joël and all the staff ! Fiona and Neil

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcR8728HE, Propriétaire at Riad Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Hello Fiona and Neil We hope you are going well Thanks a lot for your nice feed back Best regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We chose the Karmela in large part because of its location within the Medina and also from the previous reviews. We especially liked the idea of the Abdou room with its private roof terrace and booked for 6 nights in October. The location is great for access to the Medina (especially the northern part). The souks and several important sites are within a few minutes walking distance, as is the main square. We spent a great deal of our time walking around and about the Medina and relied heavily on the map and information given to us on arrival at the Riad, which proved to be excellent and we never became seriously lost throughout our stay.

The room was fine and well furnished, and kept clean. WiFi reception was generally good across the Riad but was a bit hit and miss in our particular room so this may be worth confirming if of major importance to you. (Also, there is air conditioning but do not expect flat screen TVs and other toys found in 5* hotels. This is a Riad in the Marrakech medina, not La Mamounia). We used the private roof terrace on a couple of occasions and enjoyed the views over the city.

The Riad itself was very tranquil and provided a welcome relaxation from the activity outside. The central courtyard and adjoining rooms were an inviting place to rest and read. The roof terraces dotted around the building were also very peaceful.

Breakfast, dinner and drinks were served from the bar/buffet at the top of the Riad. Breakfast was a perfectly acceptable buffet with choices of cereals, fruits, meats, pastries and breads. Cooked eggs and other options were available on request. Dinner is also available and is a good way to sample traditional tagines. Wine and beer is served along with soft drinks and waters. For different menus there is an option of dining at the Princess Karmela Riad next door (which shares some facilities with the Karmela). This menu is more modern and the meal we had there was excellent.

Service was good on all occasions with friendly and helpful staff. If any minor issues arose they were very keen to sort them out to our satisfaction, but it is probably worth confirming any arrangements made in advance just prior to arrival to avoid any misunderstandings.

Especially useful was the advice we received on all aspects of our stay, when we arrived and during the holiday, which was extremely helpful (especially regarding taxi drivers).

Overall the Riad Karmela was very much as we expected it to be, provided an excellent base for our stay in Marrakech and we would return on any future visits.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcR8728HE, Propriétaire at Riad Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank You Mark for taking the time to describe in lenght your stay and the description of all services and experiences during your stay. I am pleased to see that overall you are very pleased. I can also read that we can solve minor issues as long as we are informed about them. It can always happen but there is nothing we can do if we are not informed. You are right to explain as well tat it is essential to PRE book the taxi transfert with the RIAD and NOT local agencies neigher airport taxis. Too many guests are still having problems and we can not really help as we have no control on the airport and local taxis divers if they are not ours. We will be very happy to see you again Best regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 km away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
507 reviews
0.9 km away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.1 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 500 in Marrakech
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
877 reviews
1.1 km away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,359 reviews
0.8 km away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: ₹ 4,624 - ₹ 13,473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Karmela 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HostelWorld and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing