We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,450)
Filter reviews
1,450 results
Traveller rating
1,081
311
33
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,081
311
33
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracemint teaorange treesan oasisatlas mountainsthe hustle and bustlemain courtyardtaxi driverbusy medinaplunge poolvisit marrakechhammam and massagebreakfast and dinnernarrow streetstaginejunior suiteyour bearings
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,450 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

This riad is in an excellent location within the medina and in walking distance of all the main sites. We had a very good dinner on arrival and the breakfasts and lunch menus were very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The patios, roof terrace and rooms are lovely with lots of trees, plants and antiques.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KentTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

The riad is very authentic furnished in good taste with small patios where you may relax or have a drink served. The terracce at the rooftop is beautiful with many big flowerpots and cosy small corners where you can lay for yourself or enjoy the spectacular views w. Both morning buffet and dinner are served at the terracce by the very friendly waiters.

Room Tip: Ask if the Kadija room is available - it is very beautiful
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jytte Heje M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We loved everything about the Riad Karmela : the beautiful room , patio, terrace and seating areas ( just like the photos) ; the really helpful and friendly and attentive staff ; authentic tasty food and they serve good wine! We emailed to organise a taxi from the airport ( recommended as cars can only get to a small square a couple of minutes walk away) , taxi was waiting with sign and someone wheeled luggage to hotel. Joël , the owner, met us on arrival and gave us good, practical information. Throughout our stay , we were really well looked after , they would organise taxis , early breakfasts and always on hand to help. The Riad is an oasis of calm in the middle of the bustling medina. We couldn't recommend this Riad highly enough . Thank you to Joël and all the staff ! Fiona and Neil

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wanderer739744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcR8728HE, Propriétaire at Riad Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Hello Fiona and Neil We hope you are going well Thanks a lot for your nice feed back Best regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We chose the Karmela in large part because of its location within the Medina and also from the previous reviews. We especially liked the idea of the Abdou room with its private roof terrace and booked for 6 nights in October. The location is great for access to the Medina (especially the northern part). The souks and several important sites are within a few minutes walking distance, as is the main square. We spent a great deal of our time walking around and about the Medina and relied heavily on the map and information given to us on arrival at the Riad, which proved to be excellent and we never became seriously lost throughout our stay.

The room was fine and well furnished, and kept clean. WiFi reception was generally good across the Riad but was a bit hit and miss in our particular room so this may be worth confirming if of major importance to you. (Also, there is air conditioning but do not expect flat screen TVs and other toys found in 5* hotels. This is a Riad in the Marrakech medina, not La Mamounia). We used the private roof terrace on a couple of occasions and enjoyed the views over the city.

The Riad itself was very tranquil and provided a welcome relaxation from the activity outside. The central courtyard and adjoining rooms were an inviting place to rest and read. The roof terraces dotted around the building were also very peaceful.

Breakfast, dinner and drinks were served from the bar/buffet at the top of the Riad. Breakfast was a perfectly acceptable buffet with choices of cereals, fruits, meats, pastries and breads. Cooked eggs and other options were available on request. Dinner is also available and is a good way to sample traditional tagines. Wine and beer is served along with soft drinks and waters. For different menus there is an option of dining at the Princess Karmela Riad next door (which shares some facilities with the Karmela). This menu is more modern and the meal we had there was excellent.

Service was good on all occasions with friendly and helpful staff. If any minor issues arose they were very keen to sort them out to our satisfaction, but it is probably worth confirming any arrangements made in advance just prior to arrival to avoid any misunderstandings.

Especially useful was the advice we received on all aspects of our stay, when we arrived and during the holiday, which was extremely helpful (especially regarding taxi drivers).

Overall the Riad Karmela was very much as we expected it to be, provided an excellent base for our stay in Marrakech and we would return on any future visits.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcR8728HE, Propriétaire at Riad Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank You Mark for taking the time to describe in lenght your stay and the description of all services and experiences during your stay. I am pleased to see that overall you are very pleased. I can also read that we can solve minor issues as long as we are informed about them. It can always happen but there is nothing we can do if we are not informed. You are right to explain as well tat it is essential to PRE book the taxi transfert with the RIAD and NOT local agencies neigher airport taxis. Too many guests are still having problems and we can not really help as we have no control on the airport and local taxis divers if they are not ours. We will be very happy to see you again Best regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The Riad Karmela, nested in a quiet alleyway just a few minutes from the souks, has an ideal location to discover the Medina. On their Website, they offer an airport pick-up, and we can recommend it, because from the small place where the taxi has to stop, someone will meet you to walk you to the Riad (on your own, at first not easy to find).

We were welcomed by friendly Said who, after serving us mint tea and Moroccan pastries in the court of the hotel, presented us a map of the city and gave us a few useful tips, along with info about the hotel, meals and excursions.
The Riad is composed of 3 courts, decorated with good taste, where it feels good to relax. The two local pets are turtles; you may want to watch your step.

Our room was really big, and nicely decorated. In one of the two closets was a safe. New water bottles were given every day.
They should consider asking the guests, if they really want to have their towels changed every day. I have seen that in countries with less water shortage problems; the ecological principle should work there too. To this end, a little piece equipment would be missing in the bathrooms (at least in the one we had): racks to hang the towels to dry.

The first evening, we decided to eat at the terrace restaurant – 3 course menu for 25€. For a bottle of Rosé, add 20€. We had first various small entrees, then a chicken tajine, and then a plate with various desserts. Overall it was OK, be only found the Tajine a bit bland. The service was super friendly and the atmosphere was really nice.
Breakfasts were served on the top terrace too. Big drawback for the early birds: The buffet is served from 8 AM on. The choice of bread, sausage, cheese is mainly the same every day. If you only stay a few days, you will not have time to get fed up with it. The women setting up the buffet were very friendly.
During the day you may ask the reception for drinks (yes they have beer) that you can enjoy in one of the many sofas on one of the many platforms on the rooftops. At the reception, you may also change money at the normal change rate, or book taxis or day-trips.

Now... The big drawback of the Riad Karmela: nights are way too short. Until way past midnight (one time it was until 2AM!) , the court was really busy with service people going from a corner changing room to a WC on the other side of the court. We accept that it is really hard to manipulate those huge wooden doors quietly, the echo in the court doesn't help. The construction of the Riad itself cannot be changed much and the service people do need a place... This should be better organized, a more separated place from the guests, with full commodities to avoid so much traffic in the halls, and isolate the guests from their talks and giggles too. We don't find it right, one has to endure this kind of excessive noise, one will get crazy waiting for the court to be quiet again, specially when you know in a few hours you'll be wakened up by the first call-to-prayer of the day.

Sorry we don't only book a room for the nice settings but mostly to sleep... this explains the rating.

Room Tip: Between Suites Hassan & Rachid ... loud Service corner!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carinne_Safaribears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcR8728HE, Propriétaire at Riad Karmela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Hello Thanks you for your long and detailed feed back. I can see that you have enjoyed a lot of aspects of your. ..You have scored a 2 /5 which is disapointing and unfair for me considering the overall comment. We have never been informed about the noise issue not even at check out. We strongly believe and do not stop communicating with our guests during their stay that guest should / must report issues or problems if they want it to be resolved. You mention that a riad configuration is not appropriate for full silence and you are right. ALL riads in the Medina were used to be local people's house and the configuration of a open courtyard with the bedrooms around is obviously sensitive for noise. We try to explain this to the guests but still at night it is clear that it can be noisy. We have only one staff member at night altouh I am surprised about the comment about talks and giggles ?? We have three courtyards in Karmela + 2 in Karmela Princesse + Petiit karmela just opposite so WHY did nt you report the issue ??we could have upgraded you to another part of our properties It is unfair to punish with a score after departure when you have not tried to sort the problem Your score will impact our position by 3 to 5 points backwards and it will take us 6 months to recover this loss. !! We are very open and very good at solving problems and the hundreds of 5/5 is an evidence of that attitude and I invite every guess to communicate prior to departure rather that punishing after. best regards Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews