We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Enchanting Riad with Perfect Service"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #19 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Enchanting Riad with Perfect Service"”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Riad Kniza for 4 nights during a 2 week trip to Morocco. We were so impressed with the hospitality and quality of the staff, the rooms, the breakfast, and the attention to detail. Our every need was attended to in the most professional and warm-hearted manner. The location was excellent - we walked every where. We stayed in two different rooms, one on the ground floor and one upstairs near the pool. The one upstairs was more modern with the most amazing ceiling. The room downstairs had old world charm and was also lovely. The owner and his son were around the entire time to ensure our stay was perfect. They helped to coordinate dinner plans, sight seeing, and shopping. We really loved this place and would recommend it 100%. Thank you for being fabulous!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong. This Riad is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeamAltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    68
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
207
852
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

This riad was recommended by a friend and I am totally indebted to her. This is the real deal, an oasis of calm, impeccable service, beautiful and carefully chosen interiors and scrumptious food. The walk to and from is a bit of an eye opener but worth it and only a short walk to the main square. They organised trips to the mountains, hammans and recommended other restaurants near by. So good I had to review the riad but feel reluctant to let the secret out! Small but perfectly formed .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gottogo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights but could have stayed for longer had time permitted.On arrival we were offered breakfast as we arrived about 10 am,which was excellent, after which we were shown to our suite,We had booked one of the senior suites called 'Yakout' and it was certainly worth paying that bit extra for, very spacious and clean with its own fireplace and quality fixtures/fittings.
The first night we ate here, which we booked via email a couple of weeks prior to arrival.The food was excellent, being a 5 course moroccan feast starting with soup,pastilla,salads,tagine and dessert.All the staff were helpful and friendly and generally could'nt do enough for you.
The rooftop terrace was a nice place to take breakfast, sunbathe or just chill out with a beer after a hard days bargaining in the souks!
The riad is in a good location approx 10-15 mins walk to the main square and 2 separate routes can be taken. We encountered no problems walking to the main square at night,where we ate out on 2 nights, visiting various stalls of which we found stall 25 to be the best and costing about £12 for the two of us. There are also loads of stalls selling freshly sqeezed orange juice for about 30 pence a glass!
Based on our experience we would'nt hesitate in recommending staying at Riad Kniza

Room Tip: Go for a senior suite if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marksutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Riad Kniza in Marrakesh. The service was friendly and very,very helpful. The private rooms were large, comfortable and elegant. The public rooms and the pool area were comfy, intimate and tastefully decorated. When the weather was sunny,they served us our meals on the roof garden and that was wonderful. When the weather was gloomy, we were served in these very elegant, interesting rooms on the ground floor and that was excellent as well. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. The price included a massage and a 1/2 day tour and those were really nice "extras". This felt like the private home of a very wealthy family, NOT a Hotel at all; that was a unique and wonderful experience. Its kind of expensive, but if you want a wonderful and unique experience and to be treated like royalty, stay at the Riad Kniza.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've recently returned from a 4 night stay at Riad Kniza and felt compelled to write a glowing review after such a great time. I have to say this is one of very few places I've been where the experience of the guest is put ahead of everything else - INCLUDING (and this is the rarity) the owner/manager's own profit.
I booked the 4 night package which included a trip to the mountains, half day tour of the city, soft drinks, two 30 minute massages & a gourmet dinner for 2. Overall I think it proved excellent value. I was in the Samaar suite which was perfectly spacious, on the second floor. It had an entrance hall, toilet and small living room with fireplace downstairs and then a larger bathroom and traditional style bedroom upstairs. Rose petals were everywhere when we arrived. The only negative about the room was perhaps that it was a little dark - this is because the rooms look out onto the chaotic old city medina and so are pretty much constantly closed for your own benefit. Decoration of the public spaces was very traditional and quite beautiful. Everything immaculately clean, unlike the streets outside! (This is another very minor point - but worth mentioning so you are prepared: the Riad is literally in a back street within the medina, the chaotic and dirty market streets of the old town. Therefore is you dress up to go to dinner elsewhere you have to walk a short distance through the streets before you can pick up a taxi. Perfectly safe but my wife was slightly uncomfortable in her high heels!) There is a little courtyard pool but not sure how often it is likely to be used. The best part of the Riad is probably the rooftop, which is where we had breakfast each day. On clear days (and in the right season I assume) you have great views of the Atlas Mountains covered in snow and of-course Koutoubia Mosque and the rooftops in front. A truly beautiful view. Breakfast is fantastic and you kind of expect this when the manager says, ring five minutes before you want to eat - as we cook the bread to order! Eggs are also cooked to order and the orange juice is some of the best anywhere. (Marrakech is a major producer). Coffee wasn't to my personal taste but then it was perfectly ok. Fresh pancakes are also superb. The gourmet dinner also gave a taste of some traditional dishes, no choice other than whether the main course is fish, lamb or chicken - but then everything was excellent so this didn't matter. Loads of food, so make sure you don't eat beforehand! We also asked the Riad for recommendations for other restaurants and I have to say all communication by email was answered promptly and was always so helpful.
(We tried Trattoria - excellent setting by a pool, Italian food which was good. Maison/Gourmet MK - a trendy new Riad renovated by a UK couple - really tastefully done but much less traditional. Food superb but quite pricey.)
Massages were fine but nothing wow. 30 minutes seemed enough and quite thorough.
Our first trip was to the mountains and we had lunch at Kasbah Tamadot (Richard Branson's retreat) which was an excellent choice. A beautiful, yet unpretentious place with stunning views. (Just hope it isn't too cloudy!) Food was good and not too expensive too. The building is lovely. The only downside of the tour was the driver - who told us some nonsense about visiting 2 valley's instead of one and that only one valley was included in the price we had paid through the Riad. We ignored him because we hadn't requested anything extra and it was his own fault if he'd deviated from the route without asking us. You often find the locals trying to extort extra money and it was unfortunate. It meant the driver made less effort and left us to explore the food market at Asni alone. (Inevitably we were accosted by locals trying to sell us things!)
Anyway we explained what happened to the manager of Kniza and he couldn't have been more apologetic. The tour was outsourced and he said he wouldn't use them again. He genuinely was sorry and wanted to make amends. He made several offerings to make it up to us and ended up providing a free taxi to Amanjena which is outside the city (where some of Sex and the City 2 was filmed - my wife wanted to go. Expensive Thai lunch, not much to see in truth), waived the cost of any extras we had (sandwiches one day, spring rolls another evening) and ensured we had a more complete tour of the city - excellent guide, entry to the Majorelle Gardens (not sure why they are so famous as mostly cactus!) and various other places. Overall I think Riad Kniza is an excellent choice and their packages really worthwhile considering. It pretty much meant everything was organised for us and we did and saw everything we wanted to in the short time we were there.
I was actually unsure whether to stay in a Riad or one of the bigger hotels, no doubt in my mind that you should go for the Riad. It's something a little different and definitely worth the change when in Marrakech. The big chain hotels are everywhere, Riad's are not. Service is also exemplary - you can have breakfast whenever and wherever you want. We took a decent bottle of wine and drank it on the rooftop too. You feel almost at home and everyone is so friendly.
Anyway, don't hesitate to go - I'm certain you won't regret Riad Kniza as your choice!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ElHutch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 km away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
1,169 reviews
0.3 km away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 494 in Marrakech
1,926 reviews
0.7 km away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 494 in Marrakech
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 494 in Marrakech
1,091 reviews
0.7 km away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#7 of 494 in Marrakech
486 reviews
1.5 km away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#27 of 494 in Marrakech
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,404 - ₹ 29,963
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing