We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food & a great cause!”
Review of Amal

Amal
Ranked #13 of 1,056 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Amal Women's Training Center and Moroccan Restaurant is a non-profit association dedicated to empowering disadvantaged women via training in traditional and modern cuisine. The ultimate goal is personal transformation, skill set re-enforcement, and job placement for economic and social stability. At our second center in the Targa neighborhood, we offer cooking class in traditional Moroccan dishes such as tajines, couscous, and pastilla.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A wonderful experience being taught how to make chicken tagine with preserved lemons and olives.
Amal's is a very special place off the beaten track. We spent a morning being taught how to make tagine by some lovely trainees and the woman running the day was exceptionally knowledgable. Finished at around midday with mint tea followed by our delicious meals. A perfect occasion for someone interested in cooking or who just likes to tuck in and taste the local specialities! It also helps knowing your money is going to a fantastic cause that makes a real difference.
Would definitely come back again and try my hand at a different dish!
Thank you :)

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank benwilding12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalNonprofit, Guest Relations Manager at Amal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Ben,

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your cooking class and food. We appreciate you spending the morning with us!

We hope to see you at Amal soon!

Best,

Sierra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Coming near the end of our visit to Morocco, we had had the opportunity to visit a number of Women's Cooperatives focused on different, usually specific, objectives for women. Here, at Amal, we learned of their holistic approach to helping women, ages 18-35 as I recall, through development of so many aspects of their lives. In addition to job skills, these young women were helped to know themselves, how to survive and thrive in today's modern Morocco, including helping them find jobs and even follow-ups later. We were treated to wonderful bakery goodies, the means by which Amal sustains its programs (through catering and classes). This wonderful Association is blessed with accomplished women in its leadership and, we hope, can keep growing for the benefit of women all over Morocco.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank mikeandlindaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalNonprofit, Guest Relations Manager at Amal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello,

We appreciate you spending time with us at Amal and for your thoughtful review! We are glad you had such a good time here.

We hope to see you soon!

Best.

Sierra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I took the Tajine cooking class at Amal. It was a ton of fun even for my husband! Everyone there was so kind and helpful. The good that Amal is doing for women in their community is positively inspirational. Such a wonderful organization and a terrific class.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maps33585772481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalNonprofit, Guest Relations Manager at Amal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you in our cooking class and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us too!

Thank you again and we hope to see you at Amal soon!

Best,

Sierra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

This was one of our highlights of our trip to Morocco. The cooking class was super fun, well organized and relaxed. The women there have incredible personal stories and its supporting a great cause. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dreamer53410310891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalNonprofit, Guest Relations Manager at Amal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!

We were very happy to welcome you among us for a cooking class and it is a delight to know that you enjoyed the activity.

We can't wait to see you again at Amal

Best regards,

Warda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

This was definitely one of my highlights while being in Marrakesh. I loved learning on how to cook traditional Moroccan food while also learning about the culture. I learned so much about the importance of the ingredients and enjoyed traditional mint tea time while waiting for the food to be ready. Warda and all the staff were so friendly and resourceful. I was especially happy to have such a great time while also supporting Amal's mission.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lauragdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalNonprofit, Guest Relations Manager at Amal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you so much for the good review!

We highly appreciate the recommendations! We also enjoyed having you among our guests!

Hope to see you soon again ;)

Best regards,

Warda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing