We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
119
54
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
54
7
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2015

We have lived the Riad kasbah 117. The service given by Salah and Karima was just perfect. We enjoyed the dinner at the Riad and the spa on the roof after a full day of visits was fantastic. No negative points. We will come back with pleasure and without any hesitations

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014

If you are looking at an authentic location in the heart of the Medina in Marrakech, Riad Kasbah117 is the right place to stay. Hidden away in a very discreet street, far enough from the huge crowds of tourists on the main square but still easily accessible, conveniently located within the walls, this contemporary-designed traditional house is a perfect hide-away after a day walking the souks and numerous architectural beauties of the City. The house is perfect for a large family or a group of friends to take over the whole place, and this is possibly the best option as riads by nature offer little privacy to couples on their own. The roof terrace on a sunny day offers good views of the rooftops of Marrakech and also the Atlas Mountain in the distance. When the temperature is warm enough, the hot tub provides the relaxation one could expect at the end of the day.
Salah - the wonderful smiling young man on duty - will make every possible effort to satisfy your demands, from a cold glass of rosé wine served with plenty of local nuts and olives, to the organization of a day-trip to the seaside by private car.
A couple of things could be better delt with but one has to remember that European standards are sometimes different from local ones, unless you decide to stay in a five-star hotel belonging to one of these mega-chains one can find anywhere around the World. Booking a break or a short holiday in a riad means you might be prepared to experience something else.
And if you ever face a difficulty, do not hesitate to mention it to Eric the owner, either directly if he is around or by sending him your remarks : constructive feedback is always useful to up one's game !

Room Tip: The Tanger room on the first floor is airy and large with 3 windows. Other rooms are a bit darker but this could be a plus when the weather is very hot outside.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank QBPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014

We stayed in the Riad for 4 nights in November. We really liked the location 10-15 minutes walk from Djemaa el Fna and right at the heart of the old part of the city. I would always recommend to stay in a Riad instead of a hotel in the new part of the city. The rooms are spacious and modern decorated with moroccan details. Our room was room "Meknes" with air-conditioning, en-suite bath with shower and TV (more german tv channels than at home)

The bath is open to the sleeping area. That was a bit of a challenge when we both had a shower and the steam went all through the room as there is no window that can be openend.
Maybe it was just the outlet that wasn't strong enough.

The rooftop terrace is amazing with nice places to hang out in the evening and have a freshly made mint tea. In addition to that we loved to have a bath in the jacuzzi at night!

The staff was really helpful and friendly, especially Salah! There is always someone in the Riad to help if you have any problems.
The only problem is that it might be a bit hard to communicate without any French knowledge.
Make sure that you have a dictionary ;)
The wifi also had a very good quality and was really helpful to plan our days at Marrakesh.

I would recomment to use the transport service from the Riad because otherwise you might have problems to find the Riad as it is in a really small street without a sign. We used it and it was a stress-free and on time transport both from and to the airport.

The breakfast was really good and you can decide every evening at what time you want to have 'your' breakfast the next day. They prepare it for you whenever you like to have it!
It's a sweet breakfast with pancakes, cake, honey, jam but also baguette and cheese.
Really lovely atmosphere in the morning at the terrace.
The patio is nicely decorated only the table looked a bit bare without any flowers or decoration.

We had a dinner at the terrace on our arrival day and it was a really delicious, traditional meal.

All in all an amazing Riad (perfect with some improvements)!

Room Tip: In der oberen Etage ist man etwas privater und tagsüber gelangt mehr Licht ins Zimmer!
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014

From Salah's delicious cakes, to the relaxing roof-top jacuzzi vibes, gorgeous rooms and Karima's home-made tagine - our stay at Riad 117 was absolutely amazing! The Riad is beautiful and quiet... a real peaceful oasis amidst all the chaos and commotion of the Medina... it was an absolute joy to come back to each day. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMSN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A fantastic place, ~15-20 mins walk to Jama Al Fina and the main area.
The riad we stayed was spacious and all other guests were friendly. Salah, Karima and rest of the staff were very accomadating and went above and beyond of what was expected from them.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaserQureshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews