We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little place to crash - breakfast is horrible, and rooms are a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Ranked #187 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I spent a few days there, 1st night found hair on my sheets and had to ask for a clean set, managed to get one from the night staff (grumpy old man - the lady in the day was lovely though). They didnt change the linen during my stay of 3 nights, however for 200DH its ok. The bathroom was spotless and new, the general riad seemed to be renovated.

Word of advice - they will charge you for everything, water for breakfast, AC (they keep the remotes in a locked draw and you have to pay extra to tun on AC).

but, its in a safe easy to find spot, minutes from the main square and pretty decent for the price.

Room Tip: if you are in a room next to the main staircase you will hear everything..get ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Insaaf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017

I arrived in Marrakech weary and in poor spirits after an arduous full day of travel. And while the Hotel Essaouira, located not far from the Djemaa el-Fna, the central square of Marrakech, is by no means a luxury riad, its creature comforts helped me ease painlessly into my ten-day Moroccan odyssey. These included an appropriately-sized room with AC, a clean en-suite bathroom with a powerful shower, and a comfortable twin-sized bed. Above all, its location is spectacular, not more than a five-minute walk from the Djemaa el-Fna and a ten-minute walk into some of the most boisterous souqs north of the square. From the Hotel Essaouira, one can also walk south to the Saadian Tombs, well worth the trip, or the Bahia Palace, another architectural wonder. It is situated perfectly in the center of the medina.

I enjoyed the breakfast, served on the hotel terrace, as well. With an assortment of breads, juice, and coffee or tea, I left the hotel each day immensely satisfied. For the economical traveler, then, Hotel Essaouira is one of the best bets in Marrakech. Do not expect lavish amenities, do not expect five-star service. Do, however, expect kind, uncomplicated help from Hassan, the proprietor, and a restful stay at the heart of the most colorful medina in Morocco.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RomaZachary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Pros: This place is a great value for the area. It is just off the main square, Jamaa el Fna, and easy to get to without getting lost (a big consideration in the medina). My room was quiet, clean, the bed was comfortable, the staff was helpful, the breakfast was good. I would recommend it.

Cons: I could not get the taxi driver to drop me off close to the place, though finding one close by when leaving was not a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SusanSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I spent my last days in Marrakech in this renovated clean Riad.
The 1s night I got a room on the ground floor facing a small street but that was too noisy all night, so I didn't sleep. The next morning I could change rooms to the first floor on the other side of the building and that was fine.
Breakfast is basic and served on the roof terrace which is pleasant.
Price/quality of this Riad is good and its location excellent! I will stay there again.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank ritad73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Beautiful cheap clean riad hotel in a perfect location close to Jemaa el-Fna and Marrakhes medina and others sights. Pleasant and helpfull staff. They can arrange a transport from and to the airport, tours around Marrakhes etc Comfortably beds, lot of restaurants and shops around.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 km away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#103 of 499 in Marrakech
137 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#218 of 499 in Marrakech
259 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#334 of 499 in Marrakech
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#316 of 499 in Marrakech
117 reviews
0 km away
Riad Hamdane & SPA
Riad Hamdane & SPA
#126 of 499 in Marrakech
340 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#423 of 499 in Marrakech
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hotel Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hotel Essaouira

Address: Riad Zitoune Kedim 3, Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: ₹ 2,516 - ₹ 6,974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Hotel Essaouira 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Medina neighborhood in Marrakesh, 100 m from Palais de La Bahia, Riad Hôtel Essaouira features free WiFi throughout the property. Every room has a private bathroom equipped with a shower. You will find a 24-hour front desk at the property. The riad also provides car rental. Museum Dar Si Said is 201 m from Riad Hôtel Essaouira, and Cooking School is 300 m from the property. Menara Airport is 4 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Riad Hotel Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essaouira Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Essaouira Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing