We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near Perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amanjena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amanjena
Ranked #190 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
348 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Near Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

The hotel is beautiful, the grounds stunning, and the service overall causually excellent, exactly what you expect from the Aman brand. The room was minimal Morrocan chic and was comfortable though I think Aman beds worldwide are a bit on the hard side. It was a nice retreat from tours in the Atlas Mountains and Souks. The food was excellent and room service was prompt and friendly. We celebrated a wedding anniversary at the Amanjena in the olive grove tent and it was top notch wonderful and made our celebration special. The service and kindness of everyone was above and beyond and even seemed sincere.

We had one small glitch at checkout with the bill and it was a confusing process but was resolved. They did not have the billing information in front of the therefore resulting in a back and forth game that took far to long, resulting in the overall very good rating versus excellent. I would, however, not prevent this from visiting again as overall we very much enjoyed our stay. Also we cobined this trip with a visit to Essouira returning to Marrakech to a in the wall city hotel which I think made our trip to Marrakech complete.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    22
    11
    0
    5
See reviews for
35
89
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

I've just returned from a 3 day party trip to Marrakech to celebrate my 50th birthday,
travelling with my wife and 22 other guests. We were based at the Ryad Zouina, but held the main party at the Amanjena. Myself, wife and daughter have stayed 3 times before at the Amanjena and know that it's a wonderful hotel whch is why we chose it for my party. Of course ensuring my guests had a memorable time was very important to me.
To say that the staff at the Amanjena excelled is a massive understatement. Of course we had expectations, but they were exceeded by about 200%! It was the most amazing night.
Drinks first by the large pool and then dinner in the berba tent. Ok, that sounds a fairly so-so experience - you had to be there! - but the lighting, candles, bonfires, music, service, table decorations, wine, food, entertainment was simply incredible. If you're thinking of where to host a special occasion - take a look at the Amanjena - you won't be dissapointed. Thank you to Livio and Joy and their team. You're stars!
Shaun & Julie Power

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaunP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Stayed at Amanjena for the second time. We love staying out at the Palmeraie for various reasons, the obvious one being that it is much quieter than staying in Marrakech itself. The rooms are spacious and very private. Each room is built as a separate pavilion with its own gazebo. I won't go too much into the room description as its internet portal does do the rooms justice. The pool area is very relaxed and staff are very helpful and responsive. We went horseback riding the other day in the desert. As it was a cloudy day with the odd raindrop our boots and chaps got very dusty and dirty. Upon our return those were taken from us and returned as clean as if they were new. Equally great and convenient is the car service the hotel offers; unless one goes on a longer tour the use of the chauffeured cars is free of charge. There is very little room for improvement in my opinion. One area might be the restaurants at the hotel, but that might also be down to our own laziness. Eating out when staying at the Palmeraie is a little of a hassle, hence, we prefer eating at the hotel. The Thai restaurant isn't that great and the food on the French/Moroccan restaurant can get a little boring as there is not that much choice on the menu; but then my complaint might also be due to the fact, that I do not really like Moroccan food.
One last thing, which is more in response to a previous post: We have taken the hotel's offer up to organise some tours; the horseback ride through the desert was a true highlight and truly magical; if you are an able rider, by all means do it; but - and this is a but written in capitals - we would never have anyone organising any trip for us with a guide going either into the Atlas mountains, a Berber village or the Medina. The possibility that one ends up at a carpet shop, or the guides aunt, cousin or other family member who is in possession goods that you do not want but they wish to sell to you, is just very very high. We had similar experiences not in Morocco and not at this hotel, and learnt the lesson.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FerkelSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

What a stay. These are the most fantastic three days of my entire life. Of course the luxury was out of this world, but the most important was the warmth and extremely good service we felt from everybody at Amanjena from the moment we landed at the airport until we waved goodbye three days later. If we ever get the chance again we will go to Amanjena.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Amanjena is a terrific choice in Marrakech. Some points that stand out:

- The hotel is an oasis from the ‘hustle’ of the Medina, and only a short car ride away. The property is beautiful and tasteful – with a large pool area, enjoyable outdoors/indoors drinks space and a gorgeous restaurant. The villas are beautiful, in particular the private patio area.
- The food is delicious. We saved the Aman restaurant for our last night, and it was better than all the other ‘recommended’ restaurants that we tried outside the hotel.
- The excursions are great. We took part in several well-planned excursions – our favorite was the helicopter ride to the Sahara, well planned and stunningly beautiful.

I like to note that we experienced both slightly questionable service and truly outstanding, above the ‘call of duty’ service at Amanjena. Due to the latter, I must say that overall, we were really pleased with our experience at Amanjena. Let me describe as follows:

The only caveat to our trip is that we constantly felt like we were being ‘had’ in Marrakech. We clearly didn’t negotiate cheaply enough for the items that we purchased in their souk (despite negotiating). If the shop says that they are going to deliver the items to your home, they actually may be just delivering them to your airport.

Even Amanjena’s excursion manager was not entirely straightforward, which left quite a bad taste with us. We opted for their most expensive option of chartering our own helicopter to the Sahara (I think it was Eur7,000 or so). While we were at the desert, the manager said that he wanted to ‘comp’ us by lending us the jeep to view a group of camels, something that we didn’t ask for but said, ‘ok, what the heck, sounds like a bonus.’ In reality, what he really did was ‘comp’ the other group by lending them our helicopter (significantly reducing their trip time, heightening their excursion experience and a bonus worth a quite a bit of money) … something that we wouldn’t mind if he asked us outright, except that we ended up having to endure a bumpy desert jeep ride, saw a couple of camels hanging out (we've been at safari's so this couldn't have blown us away) and waited for a long time for our helicopter to make this extra trip and come back to pick us up. We just wish he could have been ‘straight’ with us and not ‘spin’ the offer.

However, in a separate incident, the hotel management was very impressive. I mentioned above that our shipment arrived only at our airport and I simply refused to pay for this substantial, unexpected and undisclosed fee to deliver the items to our home. After much back & forth with the shop, I asked Amenjena to step in (well, they did arrange the guide who brought us to this shop) and they were able to help correspond with the shop on our behalf and gave us assurances that we would be compensated for the extra charges incurred in delivering the furniture to our home. They followed up closely until the reimbursement was completed. I must appreciate them for their attentive support well after we left the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinaWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.9 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#45 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
6.5 km away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#30 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
8.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#79 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
5.4 km away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
9.1 km away
Selman Marrakech
Selman Marrakech
#65 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanjena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjena

Property: Amanjena
Address: Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#128 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price range (per night): ₹ 52,945 - ₹ 2,13,024
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjena 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanjena (peaceful paradise) is located just outside the ancient city of Marrakech. Set within an oasis of palms and olive trees, Moorish heritage is reflected throughout the pisé-walled resort, including the guest pavilions that radiate out from an ancient bassin, echoing the style of a sultan's palace. Amanjena offers a variety of guided excursions on foot, bicycle or private car into the medina, the souk and squares, palaces, gardens and craft shops of ancient Marrakech. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amanjena Hotel Marrakech
Amanjena Resort Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing